Oxford LibGuides: Labour & employment law: Cases

UK labour & employment case law

UK law reports and transcripts online
UK law reports in print

Holders of a current Oxford SSO can access all the online resources below.

After the first subscription database there are links to online resources which are free to all.

Lexis+ UK
For online access from a device outside the University network or via eduroam, please follow https://plus.lexis.com/uk/xhome?federationidp=RXVSX459307
Alternative names:Lexis ; LexisLibrary ; Lexis Library ; Lexis International

Lexis+ includes extensive primary and secondary legal materials from the UK, EU, USA and many other jurisdictions. It is the only online source for the full text of the All England Law Reports and Halsbury’s Laws. International content can be accessed by following the “International” link on the home page. UK legal news and newspapers are also included.
Westlaw Edge UK
Alternative name: West Law UK ; Westlaw UK

Westlaw is a large database of UK, US and international legal materials including cases, legislation and journal articles.
Coverage:
•UK statutes, statutory instruments and law reports
•England and Wales law reports
•US federal and state legislation and law reports
•Australian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Canadian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Hong Kong SAR law reports and laws
•European Union legislation and law reports
•UK and US law journals and texts
•Common Law Library and over 200 books published by Sweet & Maxwell (Thomson Reuters)
Because of licencing restrictions this database is not available to "Walk-in" users of the library.

The following are available to all with access to the internet:

BAILII
Alternative names: British and Irish Legal Information Institute ; British & Irish Legal Information Institute

Free access to British and Irish judgments. General coverage starts mid 1990s, though earlier key judgments are also included. Bailii also includes a subject arrangement of judgments. The judgments are transcripts and do not include arguments of counsel or headnotes. For a wider selection of Law Reports please see Justis, Lexis or Westlaw.

Employment Law Cases Update
Open Access. Employment Cases Update is the UK's leading index of free to view employment law cases. (The Law Bod does not have a subscription to this website, so some areas may not be accessible)
Employment Appeal Tribunal's Decisions Database
Official website Scope: All judgments transcribed from full hearings since 1999 plus selected judgments from other hearings. Details of how to purchase other judgments. The judgments are provided as Word documents - if you are happy to read online you are directed to BAILII (see link below.)
CAC: Central Arbitration Committee
Official website.The CAC is a permanent independent body with statutory powers whose role is to resolve disputes, in England, Scotland and Wales, under legislation relating to:
- recognition and derecognition of trade unions
- disclosure of information for collective bargaining
- information and consultation of employees
- European Works Councils
- European Companies and Cooperative Societies, and Cross-Border Mergers
Site includes library of decisions and publications.
Certification Officer
Official regulator of trade unions and employers' associations, has library of decisions.

Bound volumes of law reports from the courts of GB and Northern Ireland are available on open shelf on Level 2, the floor on which you enter the Law Library.

You may be encountering some specialist reports for the first time. Below are some of the key ones, alongside the abbreviation you might find in citations, and their shelfmark.

British Equal Opportunities Cases   Cw UK 120 B43
BWCC   Butterworths' Workmen's Compensation Cases, 1907-49   Cw UK 120 B70
EmpLR   Employment Law Reports   Cw UK 120 E40
EqLR   Equality Law Reports   Cw UK 120 E78
FSR   Fleet Street Reports   Cw UK 120 F50
ICR   Industrial Cases Reports   Cw UK 120 I41
ICR   Industrial Court Reports (1972-74)    Cw UK 120 I40
IRLR   Industrial Relations Law Reports   Cw UK 120 I60
KIR   Knight's Industrial Reports   Cw UK 120 K45
LGR   [Butterworths] Local Government Reports   Cw UK 120 K50
OPLR   Occupational Pensions Law Reports   Cw UK 120 O15
PLR   [IDS] Pensions Law Reports   Cw UK 120 P35
Race Discrimination Law Report   Cw UK 120 R5

Foreign Jurisdictions

For help in finding the court decisions of non UK jurisdictions please see if we have a separate guide which can give assistance

Law Bod guides to national jurisdictions

International Human Rights

Human Rights
by Kate Matthews Last Updated Dec 20, 2024 1434 views this year