Oxford LibGuides: Italy : legal resources: Journals

Finding legal articles

DoGi Database: Legal Literature Abstract of articles published in Italian law periodicals
Free resource. Updated bimonthly by Istituto di Teoria e Tecniche
dell'Informazione Giuridica

The following tools can be tried: in some instances they might help find articles in English language publications where Italian law has been considered in comparative studies etc.

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
Alternative name: IFLP

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (produced by The American Association of Law Libraries) provides access to legal literature worldwide, covering all forms of foreign (non-Anglo-American) law from 1985 onwards. This includes comparative law and legal systems, such as Islamic law; socialist law; public and private international law; and transnational commercial law. The data is not limited by country of publication, but rather type of publication. Therefore whilst publications concerning British and American law are not included, British and American publications concerning foreign law are included.

The types of documents covered include journal articles, congress reports, essay collections, yearbooks, and book reviews. The database encompasses all languages. Materials in Greek, Cyrillic, and East Asian vernacular are Romanized according to Library of Congress standards. Arabic and Hebrew titles are translated into English or French.
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981
This retrospective database indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Annual surveys of the laws of a jurisdiction, annual surveys of the federal courts, yearbooks, annual institutes, and annual reviews of the work in a given field or on a given topic will also be covered.

Google Scholar search (enhancements)
Enhancements: OU members should
1) click on the 3 parallel lines (top left corner before google logo), then click Settings
Among the options:
1) Search Results - last options in central panel, if you are using RMS adjust Bibliography manager options
2) Library Links in the left hand column, type Oxford in the search box and then click in box alongside "University of Oxford Find it @ Oxford" and finally click Save this setting. This will help you get online access to material in some (but not all) legal databases for which the Law Bod has a subscription when on the OU network/working via VPN.

Italian law journals

Democrazia e Diritti Sociali: Rivista telematica di filosofia del diritto
una rivista internazionale telematica di filosofia del diritto, gold open access e double-blind peer reviewed
Diritto Penale e Uomo (DPU)
Open access
Directory of open access journals (DOAJ)
Free resource No log in account needed if just wanting to read items. Search by journal title or direct to article level
Cardozo Law Bulletin
Open Access The Cardozo Law Bulletin is a peer-reviewed, English and Italian language journal concerned to provide an international forum for academic research exploring the threesholds of legal theory, judicial practice and public policy, where the use of a 'comparative law and literature' approach becomes crucial to the understanding of Law as a complex order.

Printed resources

Law journals published in Italy whose principal focus is on Italian law have shelf marks beginning Italy 300.

The Law Bod also has other law journals published in Italy which concentrate on other areas of law.

IVRA : rivista internazionale di diritto romano e antico Roman 300 I40

Rivista di diritto internazionale Internat 300 R240

Rivista internazionale di filosofia del diritto Jurisp 300 R50