Oxford LibGuides: International law of the sea (ILOS): Arctic

Arctic Regions

Online resources available to all
Commentary in the Bodleian

Arctic Council
Official website. "The Arctic Council is the leading intergovernmental forum promoting cooperation, coordination and interaction among the Arctic States, Arctic indigenous communities and other Arctic inhabitants on common Arctic issues, in particular on issues of sustainable development and environmental protection in the Arctic."
Ottawa Declaration 1996
Declaration on the establishment of the Arctic Council available as free download
Protection of the Arctic Marine Environment (PAME)
Official website PAME is one of six Arctic Council working groups.... the focal point of the Arctic Council’s activities related to the protection and sustainable use of the Arctic marine environment ...
Ilulissat Declaration
Free resource. PDF ARCTIC OCEAN CONFERENCE
ILULISSAT, GREENLAND, 27 – 29 MAY 2008
Arctic Portal Library
The objective of the Arctic Portal Library is to maintain a comprehensive collection of Arctic relevant scientific and educational material. The main focus is on material produced or published within the scope of International Polar Year 2007-2008, the Arctic Council and the University of Arctic. Moreover, material produced in various Arctic research programs and projects and within the scope of Arctic research institutions and organizations will be readily available in the Archive.
Fridtjof Nansen Institute (FNI) : Polar and Russian politics
Section of FNI's official website
more...less...
"Norwegian policies and Norwegian-Russian relations in the High North are a major focus of current FNI research, with emphasis on environment, energy, fisheries, marine transport, health, security and jurisdictional issues.

FNI research on Russia also includes studies of federal Russian policies, especially on environment, climate, energy and fisheries, as well as developments in other parts of Russia and other post-Soviet states.

In addition to this, FNI continues to follow Arctic-related processes and cooperation both at circumpolar and regional levels. More recently, the Arctic interests of Asian nations have been an important study area."
Arctic Review on Law and Politics
Arctic Review on Law and Politics is a peer-reviewed, Open Access, multidisciplinary journal in the fields of jurisprudence and social sciences. Jurisprudence and social sciences are understood in a wide sense, as encompassing academic disciplines such as economics, sociology, human geography, history, indigenous people’s issues, social anthropology and ethnography.
Current Developments in Arctic Law
OA. From Lauda the electronic publication archive of the University of Lapland.

Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law (MPEIL)
Alternative names: Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL) ; Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law (MPEiPro)

The Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law combines the fully updated online edition of the Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL) (originally published in print between 1991 and 2001) with the Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law (MPEiPro) which has been published (online only) since September 2019. The peer-reviewed articles in both works are updated and added to monthly.

The Law of the Sea and the Polar Regions by Erik J. Molenaar (Editor); Alex G. Oude Elferink (Editor); Donald R. Rothwell (Editor)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this book online via title link
ISBN: 9789004255203
Publication Date: 2013
Print copy is in the Bodleian Social Science Library at G587 LAW 2013
Challenges of the Changing Arctic continental shelf, navigation, and fisheries by Myron H. Nordquist (Editor); John Norton Moore (Editor); Ronán Long (Editor)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this book online via title link
ISBN: 9789004314245
Publication Date: 2016

Books with shelf marks beginning Internat are on Level 3 of the Bodleian Law Library.

Subject searches to use in SOLO

Arctic regions - International status
Law of the sea -- Arctic Ocean
Oceans law
Global warming -- Law and legislation -- Arctic regions
Climatic changes -- Arctic regions
Arctic environment

Nordic Countries

Arctic Studies:

You may need to consider the domestic law and legislation of the jurisdictions of Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russian Federation, Sweden, and USA to understand the full extent of legal measures controlling the arctic region.

Nordic Council of Ministers
Official website of the Nordic Council of Ministers "the official body for inter-governmental co-operation in the Nordic Region. It seeks Nordic solutions wherever and whenever the countries can achieve more together than by working on their own"
Nordic Agreements and legislation
Collection made available on official website of Nordic Council of Ministers.
Nordic Council : Publications
Section of official website offers library of publications to download. You can set "Environment and Climate" as a subject filter to browse relevant publications.
Nordic Environment Finance Corporation (NEFCO)
Official website. NEFCO is a joint Nordic financial institution whose primarily purpose is to generate positive environmental effects of interest to the Nordic region by funding projects in Central and Eastern Europe countries.
Bodleian Law Library guides to jurisdictions
The Law Bod's guides to both online and print resources for national constitutions, legislation, and case law as well as commentary on the legal systems and their law in books and journals