Use the tabs above to understand how the Law Bod's collection is arranged. There is an Enquiry Desk on Level 2, just as you enter the main Reading Room: please do come and have a word if you are having any difficulty in using the library..
The Law Library's collection is fully catalogued on SOLO, Oxford University's online resource discovery tool.
Subject search terms to try in SOLO:
Humanitarian law
Combatants and non combatants (International law)
Humanitarian assistance
Humanitarianism
Human rights monitors;
Humanitarian intervention
War (International law)
War -- Protection of civilians;
War crimes (International law)
Military law
Aggression (international law)
For those wishing to learn more about using searches, we recommend the following:
Looking for a Reading List title?
When you search SOLO for books on your Oxford Law Faculty Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. Books in this collection must be asked for at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2. Please remember to bring your Oxford University Card or your Bodleian Reader's Card when you come to the Desk.
Note. The books in the Reserve Collection are available to all categories of readers, not just those on the particular course.
In the Law Reserve collection, public international law books have shelf marks beginning KC - as in the example below.
Documents on the Laws of War by A shelf mark starting Internat indicates that the item is shelved in our Public International Law collection. The current collection of books is on Level 3, one floor up from the entrance level.
Internat 500 is where "overview" books on international law are shelved. They might well have useful chapter(s).
The following shelf marks are where you will find monographs which have a more specific focus, likely to help with IHL studies:
War and armed conflict, humanitarian law Internat 750
Termination of war (including specific peace treaties) Internat 760
Human rights, refugees etc Internat 570
War crimes & war crimes trials Internat 580
Holders of an Oxford SSO may find books that are also available online
Role of National Courts in Applying International Humanitarian Law by 
Reading Humanitarian Intervention : human rights and the use of force in international law by The following are available to all with access to the internet:
If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the print or ebook you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).
If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the book you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library request service.