Legal history: western Europe & Scandinavia: Roman Law

The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History is the online version of the Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History (edited by S.N. Katz et al) published by OUP in 2009.

The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History is the online version of the Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History (edited by S.N. Katz et al) published by OUP in 2009.

Oxford Reference Online brings together over 450 reference works published by Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource. It includes English and bilingual dictionaries, English grammar and usage guides, quotations and subject-specific reference works.

It is updated regularly with new titles, new editions, new entries, full-colour maps and illustrations, timelines, weblinks, and bibliographies.

The New Pauly provides comprehensive coverage of the ancient world from the prehistory of the Aegean (2nd millennium BCE) to late antiquity (600-800 CE). A special section of the encyclopedia is devoted to the reception of the ancient world until the present day and the history of classical scholarship. The scholarship of the New Pauly reflects both traditional and new areas and approaches presented by internationally recognised leading experts. The articles in the New Pauly cover all aspects of the ancient world: persons, places, institutions, events, artefacts, technical terms, ideas and concepts etc. The subject goes beyond the traditional paradigm by giving special attention to the interaction between Greek and Roman culture and the neighbouring Semitic, Celtic, Germanic etc. cultures. Many articles are illustrated with maps, site plans, genealogical tables, and black and white photographs.

This website also includes the following supplement volumes:

* 1: Chronologies of the Ancient World - Names, Dates and Dynasties

* 2: Dictionary of Greek and Latin Authors and Texts

* 3: Historical Atlas of the Ancient World

* 4: The Reception of Myth and Mythology

* 5: The Reception of Classical Literature

* 6: History of classical Scholarship - A Biographical Dictionary

* 7: Figures of Antiquity and their Reception in Art, Literature and Music

Important note on Fonts: Many of the texts included in Brill Online include special characters, such as accented letters and non Roman writing systems, which can sometimes appear incorrectly in your browser. This can be resolved by ensuring that you have a font installed on your computer that includes all of the special characters. If characters are not appearing correctly please see the information under "Fonts" on the left hand side of the Brill Homepage.