Oxford LibGuides: Legal history: western Europe &amp; Scandinavia: Germany

Finding texts and commentary

Some subject searches to try in SOLO:

Law Germany History
Law Germany Sources
Law, Saxon
Law, Germanic

Feudal Law - Germany
Land tenure -- Law and legislation -- Germany -- Early works to 1800
Feudalism - Germany

Civil law - Germany - History

Some digital libraries of older texts

LLMC-digital
Alternative names: LLMC ; Law Library Microfilm Consortium’s Online Service ; LLMC Digital

LLMC-digital is a collection of English language legal titles and government documents divided into ten major jurisdictional or subject areas:
US Federal Government; US States and Territories; Canada; United Kingdom; Germany federal; Germany state, kingdoms and free cities; Other Countries (Afghanistan to Zimbabwe); International Law and Organizations; Indigenous Law covering materials from various regions of the United States, Canada and Indonesia; and Special Focus Collections which includes British Empire Studies, Canon Law, Islamic Law, Military Law, Native American Collection, Roman law, etc.

Digital Libraries Connected (DLC) : MPILHLT
Digital Libraries Connected (DLC) is a freely accessible platform for the publication of digitized documents and collections from the Max-Planck-Institut für Rechtsgeschichte und Rechtstheorie (Max Planck Institute for Legal History and Legal Theory) among other Max Planck institutes
Deutsches Rechtswörter- buch, DRW
The German Law Dictionary (Deutsches Rechtswörter- buch, DRW) is a comprehensive dictionary of historical legal terminology in German. It lists the legally relevant vocabulary not only of Modern High German but of all western German language varieties and the different stages of their history from the beginning of written records to the 19 th century. The project was initiated in 1897 by the Royal Prussian Academy of Sciences and is now conducted by the Heidelberg Academy. The freely accessible online version offers a diversity of further research options and is supplemented by electronic full-text editions and facsimiles of historical sources .
Rechtsquellen der frühen Neuzeit
Free resource.Collection of Heidelberg Academy of Sciences and Humanities
Literaturquellen zum deutschen, österreichischen und schweizerischen Privat- und Zivilprozeßrecht des 19. Jahrhunderts
Free resource. "Translated from the website: 'Since its founding in 1964 the Max-Planck-Institut für europäische Rechtsgeschichte has been active in investigating the history of European private law. It therefore has particularly rich holdings in literature on German, Austrian, and Swiss private law and the law of civil procedure from the 19th century. Funding from the German Research Foundation has made it possible, since the autumn of 1997, to digitise these rich and unusual holdings and thus make them available to a wider circle of researchers. 4,316 volumes 1,351,223 pages have been completed under the project."

Books in BodLibs

Epochen der Rechtsgeschichte in Deutschland. by Coing, Helmut, 1912-2000.
Call Number: German 510 C679d
Publication Date: 1967
Brief overview
Handwörterbuch zur deutschen Rechtsgeschichte : HRG.
Call Number: Bodleian Upper Reading Room Open Shelves: URR.Ref.368
ISBN: 3503079122
Publication Date: (2nd ed 2008-)
Note: First edition is in the Taylorian at REF.G.25
Deutsche Rechtsgeschichte by Kroeschell, Karl.
Call Number: German 510 K93.5b2
ISBN: 353122008X
Publication Date: (1: 9. Aufl. 1989) (2:7. Aufl. 1989)
The Saxon Mirror : a Sachsenspiegel of the fourteenth century by Maria Dobozy
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this book online via title link
ISBN: 0812234871
Publication Date: 1999
Print copy is in the Radcliffe Camera BHFL Upper Gladstone Link KK205.6 SAC 1999
Studia iuris Teutonici; Deutschenspiegel. by Eckhardt, Karl August, 1901-1979
Call Number: Request from Closed Stacks via title link
Publication Date: 1971
Series: Bibliotheca rerum historicarum. Studia ; 3
History of Private Law in Europe by Franz Wieacker; Tony Weir (Translator); Reinhard Zimmermann (Foreword by)
Call Number: German 510 W642aE
ISBN: 0198258615
Publication Date: 1996
English translation of Wieacker's Privatrechtsgeschichte der Neuzeit
Handbuch der Quellen und Literatur der neueren europäischen Privatrechtsgeschichte by Coing, Helmut, 1912-2000 ; Max-Planck-Institut für Europäische Rechtsgeschichte
Call Number: General 510 C679d
ISBN: 3406036317
Publication Date: 1973-<1988>
Bd I Mittelalter 1100-1500
Bd II Neuere Zeit 1500-1800

Lehnrecht & local law (Stadtrecht, Landrecht, Reichsrecht)

Vocabulary

Lehnrecht (feudal law)
Herr (lord)
Mann, Vasall
Treue
Hulde, Huldigung
Kommendation (act of fealty)
Grundherrschaft (manorialism)
Schöffen (law-finders)

Sources

Sachsenspiegel (mirror of the Saxons) Eike von Repgow
Deutschenspiegel
Schwabenspiegel (mirror of the Swabians)
Steiermärkisches Landrechtsbuch, Styrian Law Book
Wiener Stadtrechtsbuch, Vienna City Law Book
Weistüm
Systematische Schoffenrecht

"The reception of Roman law in Germany: an interpretation" by W.Kunkel is in Pre-reformation Germany ed Strauss (1972) which can be ordered from Closed Stacks

Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History
Alternative name: OIELH

The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History is the online version of the Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History (edited by S.N. Katz et al) published by OUP in 2009.
Monumenta Germaniae Historica
Alternative name: eMGH ; MGH

Click the "Enter databases" button when you get there.
The Monumenta Germania Historica (Release 8-2008) consists of over 500 works divided into five series (Scriptores, Leges, Diplomata, Epistolae, Antiquitates) and thirty-three sub-series. The entire corpus covers the widest possible range of medieval documentation.
A corpus of historical works, charters, legal texts, letters, political texts, and literature from the European Middle Ages.
Please note that we only have a three user licence for the online version so please exit when you have finished!

Zeitschrift der Savigny-Stiftung für Rechtsgeschichte. Germanistische Abtheilung Requires Oxford SSO for remote access
Sachsenspiegel online
Free resource. "Wissenschaftlicher Bearbeiter des Projektes war Herr Björn Dittrich. Besonderer Dank gilt Frau Prof. Dr. Ruth Schmidt-Wiegand und Herrn Prof. Dr. Heiner Lück für Ihre fachliche Beratung sowie den Sponsoren, die das Projekt ermöglicht haben.
Das Projekt "Digitalisierung historischen Kulturgutes - Sachsenspiegel_online" ist ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt der Herzog August Bibliothek Wolfenbüttel und der Fachhochschule Braunschweig/Wolfenbüttel ..."
Schwabenspiegel
Free resource. Part of website of Das Historische Lexikon Bayerns (HLB) "... ein wissenschaftliches Sachlexikon zur Geschichte Bayerns. Es ist als reine Onlineressource konzipiert und wird kontinuierlich um weitere Inhalte ergänzt. Alle Beiträge werden von ausgewiesenen Fachleuten eigens für das Lexikon verfasst."
dMGH Band Leges [Rechtstexte]
Free resource. A section of the Monumenta Germaniae Historica, a collection of sources from the Germanic countries surviving long Middle Ages. Created by Deutsches Institut für Erforschung des Mittelalters in cooperation with Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek.
Das Magdeburg-Breslauer Systematische Schoffenrecht Aus Der Mitte Des 14.Jahrhunderts
Free resource Pdf from webpage of Univ.-Prof. Dr. Gerhard Köbler Work of 1863 by Paul Laband
Max Planck Gesellschaft: Digital Reading Room
Free resource. " ... offers a repertorium of Byzantine handwritten legal sources and the title pages and dedications of more than 70,000 “Legal dissertations of the 16th – 18th centuries from the universities of the Holy Roman Empire”. You can find the first fruits of the current “Legal journals from 1703 to 1830” digitization project and the “Legal journals from 1800 to 1919” collection of 75 journals containing 1.320 volumes and 635.752 fully digitized pages as well as a collection of 4316 fully-digitized volumes of “Source literature on German, Austrian and Swiss private and civil procedural law of the 19th century” ..."
Max Planck Institute for European Legal History Research Paper Series
Part of SSRN
DRW Deutsches Rechtswörterbuch : Wörterbuch der älteren deutschen Rechtssprache.
Free resource.

German historic dictionaries

Handwörterbuch zur Deutsche Rechtsgeschichte complete 1st ed Taylorian REF.G.25.
Handwörterbuch zur Deutsche Rechtsgeschichte 2nd ed Bodleian URR.Ref.368

The yet to be completed
Deutsches Rechtswörterbuch : Wörterbuch der älteren deutschen Rechtssprache is in the Law Bod at German 450 D486

and is freely available online see link below

DRW Deutsches Rechtswörterbuch : Wörterbuch der älteren deutschen Rechtssprache.
Free resource.