Use the tabs above to understand how the Law Bod's collection is arranged. There is an Enquiry Desk on Level 2, just as you enter the main Reading Room: please do come and have a word if you are having any difficulty in using the library.
Looking for a Reading List title?
When you search SOLO for books on your Oxford Law Faculty Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. Books in this collection must be asked for at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2. Please remember to bring your Oxford University Card or your Bodleian Reader's Card when you come to the Desk.
Note. The books in the Reserve Collection are available to all categories of readers, not just those on the particular course.
The Law Library's collection is fully catalogued on SOLO, Oxford University's online resource discovery tool.
For those wishing to learn more about using searches, we recommend the following:
Looking for a Reading List title? Law Reserve Collection.
This is a collection of high demand books, the most heavily used books on Law Faculty reading lists when not available online. Items display the status ‘Res Books’ on SOLO and have 'Reserve Collection’ shelfmarks.
Please ask for Reserve Collection books at the Law Enquiry Desk on Level 2, the entrance level. Remember to bring your University or Bodleian Reader's card with you, as these titles are issued to you for use in the Library. You can keep reading them for the rest of day if you like - but we do ask that you return them to the Enquiry Desk as soon as possible after you have finished consulting them.
Note: The Reserve Collection books are not restricted to those readers on the particular courses.
French law books in the Reserve Collection have shelf marks beginning KV.
Open Shelf French Law Collection
The majority of the French law book collection is on open shelves on Level 3, the floor above the entrance level to the Law Bod. The French law books here have shelf marks starting France 510. This collection is not subdivided into legal topics, but arranged alphabetically by the first author/editor. Most of the collection of course is in French- but there are some English language works which may help first steps.
On Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library, is where you will find comparative studies, and works surveying the response to legal problems in two or more jurisdictions.
An area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning General. The books in this section are then arranged by author/editor - there is no further subject classification with General.
The Law Library's collection is being converted to the Moys classification scheme, consquently new titles may have shelf marks beginning KB
Please ask at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2 if you are having difficulty finding your way round our collection.
Looking for a Reading List title?
When you search SOLO for books on your Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. The Reserve Collection is also on Level 2 but are shelved in a discrete run. Please ask at the Enquiry Desk for directions when you are next in the Law Library.
Note. The books in the Reserve Collection are available to all categories of readers (not just those on the particular course),
European Union law books in the Reserve Collection have shelf marks beginning KW
The majority of the European Union law book collection is shelved on Level 3, the floor above the entrance level to the Law Bod.
European Union law books have shelf marks beginning Euro Comm. This collection is not subdivided into legal topics, but arranged (normally) alphabetically by the first author/editor.
For more guidance on European Union law please use our guide below
On Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library, an area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning Jurisp (short for jurisprudence) where we shelve books on legal philosophy and theory. Within this section the books are arranged by the last name of author or editor.
As the Law Library moves to the Moys Classification Scheme, you may find legal philosophy books with shelf marks beginning KA .
KA titles are probably described on SOLO as being in the Law Reserve Collection. Please ask for these books at the Law Enquiry Desk - and remember to bring your University or Bodleian Reader's card with you, as these heavily used titles are issued to you for use in the Library. You can keep reading them for the rest of day if you like - but we do ask that you return them to the Enquiry Desk as soon as possible after you have finished consulting them.
KA books not held in the Law Reserve collection are on Level 2 - but a few shelves away from those with shelf marks beginning Jurisp.
The Enquiry Desk on Level 2 is also the place to come if you are having any difficulties finding the books you need: we will be happy to help!
The Bodleian Law LIbrary shelves its current collection of books on both public international law and private international law (sometimes called conflict of laws) on Level 3, one floor above the entrance level to the library. It is accessible by both stairs and the lift.
The public international law collection books have shelf marks beginning Internat, the private international books have Private Int.
Arrangement of international law books on Level 3
Internat 500 General and theory
Internat 510 History
Internat 520 Title to territory
Internat 530 The state (as a legal entity)
Internat 535 Dependent states and special regimes
Internat 540 State succession
Internat 545 Recognition
Internat 550 Servitudes
Internat 555 State responsibility
Internat 560 Jurisdiction of states
Internat 565 Nationality
Internat 570 Human rights
Internat 575 European Court of Human Rights: literature
Internat 580 International crimes
Internat 590 Economic law
Internat 600 Atomic energy
Internat 610 Social legislation and organisation
Internat 620 Transport and communications (except sea, air and space)
Internat 630 Law of the sea and waterways
Internat 640 Air law
Internat 650 Space law
Internat 660 International relations
Internat 670 Treaties (theory etc.)
Internat 680 History and general
Internat 681 General and regional political organisations
Internat 685 League of Nations: general
Internat 687 United Nations: general
International disputes and arbitration
Internat 700 Peace and disarmament
Internat 710 General and theory
Internat 720 International courts and tribunals: general
Internat 725 Permanent Court of International Justice and the International Court of Justice: literature
Internat 730 Permanent Court of Arbitration: literature
Internat 740 Individual arbitration tribunals: literature
Internat 750 War and armed conflict
Internat 760 Termination of war (including specific peace treaties)
After the end of Internat, there is the private international law collection. These books have shelf marks beginning Private Int. They are not further divided by subject, but arranged alphabetically by last name of author or editor.
Dictionaries of French law - both bilingual and French only - are shelved in the Law Bod in section on Level 3 with shelfmark starting France 450.
If you need a straightforward French-English language dictionary go down to Level 2 and ask a member of staff to show you where the shelfmark Ref Lang Fre can be found. Or use SOLO to find various online dictionaries.
Other pages in this page can help further on: