This guide is intended for students and researchers studying criminology at the University of Oxford, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.
Use this guide to find out about books and online resources for criminology, including ebooks, ejournals and bibliographic databases.
For help with English and Welsh, UK legislation and judgments, please visit related Bodleian Guide Criminal Law and Justice.
Oxford has a wide range of ebooks for criminology and printed books, the main teaching collection being held by the Bodleian Social Science Library (the SSL) and the research collection by the Bodleian Law Library (the Law Bod or BLL). For more detailed info about our book collections visit the Books page of this guide.
A lot of journals, as well as being available in print, are available electronically and can be searched via SOLO or eJournals A-Z. Below are a couple of the top journals but you can find a longer list on the journals page of this guide, along with online indexing and abstracting tools to help you discover articles published in them.
Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more. You can find some of the key bibliographic databases for criminology below, but take a look at the databases page of this guide for more titles. For databases of statistics, please see the statistics page for guidance. If you would like to see what legal databases are available to Oxford students and faculty, the descriptive A-Z linked list available on a Law Library webpage is the quickest way to discover them.
