Oxford LibGuides: Caribbean: legal resources: Legal History

Legal History of the Caribbean

Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History
Remote access requires Oxford SSO. Includes entry Caribbean Law
Alternative name: OIELH

The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History is the online version of the Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History (edited by S.N. Katz et al) published by OUP in 2009.
LLMC
Remote access requires Oxford SSO. Digitises primary and secondary sources out of copyright.
Alternative names: LLMC Digital ; LLMC-digital ; Law Library Microfilm Consortium’s Online Service

A collection of English language legal titles and government documents divided into ten major jurisdictional or subject areas: US Federal Government; US States and Territories; Canada; United Kingdom; Germany federal; Germany state, kingdoms and free cities; Other Countries (Afghanistan to Zimbabwe); International Law and Organizations; Indigenous Law covering materials from various regions of the United States, Canada and Indonesia; and Special Focus Collections which includes British Empire Studies, Canon Law, Islamic Law, Military Law, Native American Collection, Roman law, etc.

Courts of Appeal and Colonialism in the British Caribbean: A Case for the Caribbean Court of Justice
Open access.Article by Ezekiel Rediker (2013) 35 Michigan Journal of International Law 213
The impact of the English common law on Caribbean society
Open Access. Article by The Hon Mme Justice Désirée P Bernard Judge, Caribbean Court of Justice; (2014) 97 Amicus Curiae

Manual de historia del derecho español en las Indias y del derecho propiamente indiano by José María Ots y Capdequí ; prólogo de Ricardo Levene.
Call Number: Spain 510 O88

Publication Date: 1945

Tracing British West Indian slavery laws : a comparative analysis of legal transplants by Justine K. Collins.
Call Number: Cw Gen 510 C712a

ISBN: 9781032123042

Publication Date: 2022
Surviving Slavery in the British Caribbean by Randy M. Browne
Call Number: BHFL Upper Gladstone Link HT1140.B4 BRO 2017

ISBN: 9780812224634

Publication Date: 2017

Or request a copy from Closed Stack to read in the Law LIbrary
The Freedom of Speech: Talk and Slavery in the Anglo-Caribbean World by Miles Ogborn
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this via title link

ISBN: 9780226655925

Publication Date: 2019

Books with shelfmarks which start with geographic/jurisdictional names of this region are shelved on Level 1 one floor below the entrance to the library.

Historical foundations of Jamaican law by Raphael Codlin.
Call Number: Cw Jamaica 510 C671a

ISBN: 9768125810

Publication Date: 2003
Producing Legality by Marjorie S. Zatz
Call Number: Cuba 510 Z38a

ISBN: 0415908566

Publication Date: 1994

"a window into the official construction of socialist legality in Cuba"

Related Bodleian Guides

Legal history: England & common law tradition
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Jun 24, 2025 5798 views this year
Legal history: western Europe & Scandinavia
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Jun 6, 2025 771 views this year
Cultural heritage law
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Jun 24, 2025 318 views this year
Environmental Law
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Jun 24, 2025 498 views this year
International law: origins & history
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Jun 24, 2025 334 views this year
Human Rights
by Kate Matthews Last Updated Jun 24, 2025 509 views this year
Commonwealth Studies
by Sarah Rhodes Last Updated May 22, 2025 324 views this year