Oxford LibGuides: Caribbean: legal resources: Journals

Caribbean law journals & articles on Caribbean law

A journal is a regular publication (monthly, yearly, etc.) in which you will find academic and research articles. The articles present current research and quick (but thoughtful) responses to legal developments, such as Case Comments..
Journals which are peer-reviewed submit potential articles to evaluation by other experts before publication, so you can be confident of the quality of those finally included in the volume.
The majority of journals held by the Bodleian Libraries in both physical and electronic formats can be searched via SOLO, however you may find the Law Library's own database easier to use.

Search our law reports and journals (Law Bod)
Database maintained by the Bodleian Law Library. Put in the title of the law report or law journal which contains the report or article you wish to read, then click search. The results will show which (if any) database will provide full text access and also the shelf mark to the print holdings of the publication in the Bodleian Law Library. Not everything is available online!

Use the other tabs in this box to find recommended journals and guidance on the special online tools to help you find articles in law journalsUse the other tabs in this box to find recommended journals and guidance on the special online tools to help you find articles in law journals

Some key journals available to holders of an Oxford SSO

Caribbean legal developments may very well be the subject of articles in law journals published anywhere in the world.

It is quite common an ejournal to be supplied by more than one database. Usually this is because no single provider has the whole run of the journal from the first volume to the most recent. Consequently, if you are looking for a particular article (you know either or both volume number and year) it is crucial that you select the database which includes that volume/year - this will not necessarily be the first on the list of alternatives.

HeinOnline
Includes Revista Juridica Universidad de Puerto Rico
Alternative names: Hein Online ; HOL

HeinOnline includes five major collections:
The Law Journal Library includes over 500 U.S., U.K., Australian and International Law Journals. For most journals the date coverage starts very early (in many cases at the first issue). However the most recent editions (within the last calendar year) are sometime unavailable due to licensing restrictions. HeinOnline makes these journals available on a rolling yearly basis.
The Treaties and Agreements Library includes all U.S. treaties and agreements including those in force, expired or yet to be published.
The U.S. Supreme Court Library includes all U.S. Supreme Court opinions as published in the U.S. Reports
The Federal Register 1936-1995, and indexes to the register.
Legal Classics Library. Full text of over 100 legal texts including Blackstone's Commentaries (1803), Cardozo's Growth of the Law (1924), and Story's first edition of Commentaries on the Constitution of the United States (1833). Provincial Statutes of Canada includes Provincial Statutes for ten of the Canadian provinces. Contains public and private acts passed by Canadian provincial governments. Current, revised, and historical content is now available for Alberta, British Columbia, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Ontario. Historical and revised content only is available for Manitoba, Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, and Saskatchewan.
All content consists of scanned images of the original printed editions. This allows you to view the content as it originally appeared in print complete with page numbers and pictures.
To save or print articles from HeinOnline choose PRINT OPTIONS followed by DOWNLOAD AS PDF. You will then be able to print out and/or save articles using Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Available on the free web

dLOC: Digital Library of the Caribbean
Free resource. " The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections."

Latindex : Sistema Regional de Información en Línea para Revistas Científicas de América Latina, el Caribe, España y Portugal
Online tool to help find Open Access journals from these jurisdictions via subject search and country of publication and/or language filters
Bibliographic database for journals and other scholarly material published in Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal, provided by a network of institutions.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
Archive of social science papers including legal papers.
Viewing papers on the SSRN website does not require registration. You can register an account on SSRN using an .ox.ac.uk email address to subscribe to eJournals for email alerts in the following networks:
- Economics Research Network
- Financial Economics Network
- Legal Scholarship Network
- Management Research Network
Bepress Legal Repository
Alternative name: Berkeley Electronic Press

The Bepress Legal Repository is a network of law-related research materials. Law schools, research units, institutes, centers, think tanks, conferences, and other subject-appropriate groups post materials to specific publications (e.g., the USC Working Paper Series).

LawArXiv: Legal scholarship in the open
Open in 2017 LawArXiv is an open access legal repository; preprints deposited during its life remain available to all to download
World Bank's Open Knowledge Repository (ORK)
OA repository This link takes you to browse by topic. A search box is also available near top right of screen

Where the issues of the journal are shelved will depend on their year.

Journal issues from and including 2000 are on Level 1, where the shelf mark starts with the name of a Caribbean jurisdiction or General. or Cw Gen.

Journal issues up to and including 1999 are on the Ground Floor of the Law Library where the shelf mark starts with the name of a Caribbean jurisdiction or General. or Cw Gen.

For example, all the Law Bod's holdings of the
Caribbean Law Review v.1:no.1(1991:June)-v.8:no.1(1998:Jun.) shelf mark Cw Gen 300 C10

and
Guyana Law Review v.1:no.1(1977)-v.3:no.1(1980) shelf mark Cw Guyana 300 G60

can be found on the ground floor.

Please ask a member of staff for directions when you visit the Law Bod.

Legal databases and ejournal platforms offer ways for you to set up customised alerts and/or an RSS feed. Look out for "Current Awareness," "Stay up to Date," "Create Alert" or the bell icon: instructions are usually clear. If you do encounter difficulties please contact us.
Note that Westlaw Edge UK also includes the formerly separate LawTel service
An ETOC or TOC option provides the entire table of contents of each new journal issue.
If you come to the Law Library, check out the Just In Corner on Level 2 (the entrance level) which has a display of the most recent issues of those law journals still received in print. (This display is updated weekiy.)

In addition (especially if you have inter disciplinary interests)

Some researchers may remember ZETOC. In its place we recommend the open access service JournalsTOCs - "the largest, free collection of scholarly journal Tables of Contents (TOCs): 32,312 journals including 15,741 selected Open Access journals and 11,834 Hybrid journals, from 3333 publishers."
Please note this requires you to register as an individual - it is not an Oxford SSO related eresource.

JournalTOCs
is the largest, free collection of scholarly journal Tables of Contents (TOCs): 32,312 journals including 15,741 selected Open Access journals and 11,834 Hybrid journals, from 3333 publishers.

Caribbean legal developments may well be the subject of articles in law journals published anywhere in the world.
There are special tools - not just SOLO's article search and google scholar! - to help you locate articles published in scholarly journals. Do make use of them!

Legal Journals Index (LJI)
Requires Oxford SSO & personal registration. Westlaw Edge UK indexes more UK law journal issues than it holds in full text. (1986 onwards) If Westlaw only has the abstract make a note of the citation details. If needed, use Cardiff Index to find the full title of the journal, then search SOLO by the full title of the journal. In other words, search SOLO for LLoyd's Maritime & Commercial Law Quarterly (not LMCLQ)

Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981
This retrospective database indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Annual surveys of the laws of a jurisdiction, annual surveys of the federal courts, yearbooks, annual institutes, and annual reviews of the work in a given field or on a given topic will also be covered.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
Alternative name: IFLP

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (produced by The American Association of Law Libraries) provides access to legal literature worldwide, covering all forms of foreign (non-Anglo-American) law from 1985 onwards. This includes comparative law and legal systems, such as Islamic law; socialist law; public and private international law; and transnational commercial law. The data is not limited by country of publication, but rather type of publication. Therefore whilst publications concerning British and American law are not included, British and American publications concerning foreign law are included.

The types of documents covered include journal articles, congress reports, essay collections, yearbooks, and book reviews. The database encompasses all languages. Materials in Greek, Cyrillic, and East Asian vernacular are Romanized according to Library of Congress standards. Arabic and Hebrew titles are translated into English or French.
Social Sciences Citation Index
Alternative names: Web of Science ; SSCI.

SSCI is the machine readable version of the printed Social Sciences Citation Index. It provides bibliographic references to significant items from over 1,400 journals in the behavioural and social sciences. Selected items from over 3,100 physical and natural sciences journals are also included to provide multidisciplinary coverage. This amounts to approximately 130,000 articles per year.
The data, which is updated weekly, consists of articles for the current year, with other year's data going back to 1970. The data for each index defaults to the current year plus the three previous years (this can be reset), with searches covering one index at a time. Many of the more recent articles contain abstracts, as well as author, title and journal information with lists of citations.
HeinOnline
Alternative names: Hein Online ; HOL

HeinOnline includes five major collections:
The Law Journal Library includes over 500 U.S., U.K., Australian and International Law Journals. For most journals the date coverage starts very early (in many cases at the first issue). However the most recent editions (within the last calendar year) are sometime unavailable due to licensing restrictions. HeinOnline makes these journals available on a rolling yearly basis.
The Treaties and Agreements Library includes all U.S. treaties and agreements including those in force, expired or yet to be published.
The U.S. Supreme Court Library includes all U.S. Supreme Court opinions as published in the U.S. Reports
The Federal Register 1936-1995, and indexes to the register.
Legal Classics Library. Full text of over 100 legal texts including Blackstone's Commentaries (1803), Cardozo's Growth of the Law (1924), and Story's first edition of Commentaries on the Constitution of the United States (1833). Provincial Statutes of Canada includes Provincial Statutes for ten of the Canadian provinces. Contains public and private acts passed by Canadian provincial governments. Current, revised, and historical content is now available for Alberta, British Columbia, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Ontario. Historical and revised content only is available for Manitoba, Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, and Saskatchewan.
All content consists of scanned images of the original printed editions. This allows you to view the content as it originally appeared in print complete with page numbers and pictures.
To save or print articles from HeinOnline choose PRINT OPTIONS followed by DOWNLOAD AS PDF. You will then be able to print out and/or save articles using Adobe Acrobat Reader.

HeinOnline's Scholarcheck
Libguide provided by Hein to help you make use of this feature.

Scopus
Scopus is a bibliographic database for science, medicine and some social sciences. It covers over 25,000 journals and over 300,000 books from over 7,000 publishers worldwide, providing access to over 90 million records going back as far as the 18th century.

Indexing tools on the free web

LawCite search
more...less...
LawCite is being built as part of a three year project that is funded by the Australian Research Council in co-operation with a number of Australian courts and other commercial and non-commercial organisations. It is being developed at AustLII in collaboration with other members of the Free Access to Law Movement - in particular BAILII , HKLII , PacLII , SAFLII , NZLII and CYLAW. Particularly strong for common law countries, but the civil law dimension is growing
Google Scholar search (enhancements)
Enhancements: OU members should
1) click on the 3 parallel lines (top left corner before google logo), then click Settings
Among the options:
1) Search Results - last options in central panel, if you are using RMS adjust Bibliography manager options
2) Library Links in the left hand column, type Oxford in the search box and then click in box alongside "University of Oxford Find it @ Oxford" and finally click Save this setting. This will help you get online access to material in some (but not all) legal databases for which the Law Bod has a subscription when on the OU network/working via VPN.

There are too many for any list to be comprehensive. If you are studying a particular legal topic, or a foreign jurisdiction, it may well be worth considering which law firms have gained a distinguished reputation in the same topic/jurisdiction, they may well have partners/practitioners posting news and comment.

International Law Office Newsletters (ILO Newsletters)
Open access. ILO publishes a series of legal Newsletters which provide expert legal commentary in the form of concise, regular news updates. The Newsletters are written in collaboration with over 500 of the world's leading experts and cover more than 100 jurisdictions.
more...less...
Change jurisdiction before either filtering by work area or searching by keyword. Or approach by work area. Latest issues can be read online.Or register (free service) to receive newsletters by email.
Global Legal Monitor: Search and Browse screen
Open Access The Global Legal Monitor is an online publication from the Law Library of Congress covering legal news and developments worldwide. It is updated frequently and draws on information from official national legal publications and reliable press sources. You can find previous news by searching the Global Legal Monitor
UN & Caribbean News

Journal/Article related terms you may encounter in your research

Abstracting (service):
Used to refer to a bibliographic database, the service provides abstracts of publications.

(Academic) Journal:
A regular publication of academic and research articles.

Bibliographic database:
A searchable platform that contains descriptive records of articles, books, conference proceedings, audio-visual material, maps, newspapers, and more.

Conference proceedings:
The published record of a conference.

Citation:
A quotation from or reference to a book, paper, or author, especially in a scholarly work.

Full-text:
This means you can read the item in full from beginning to end, not just the abstract or summary.

Indexing (service):
Used to refer to a bibliographic database, the service provides descriptors to help organise and navigate publications.

Periodical:
A regular publication that includes articles, stories and other text. Magazines and newspapers are examples of these.

Platform:
This refers to the site on which you can find and access the journal.

Preprints:
Pre-publication version of articles. cf Version of Record.

Serial:
A broad term that refers to items published in a series but the items are separate and standalone. Examples include indexes, yearbooks and some journals.

Version of Record (VoR) :
The fully published version, the most authoritative source of the text.

Working (research, discussion) papers:
Pre-publication not peer-reviewed versions of academic articles, book chapters, or reviews which are are in progress, under submission, or in press and forthcoming elsewhere.

Abbreviations in legal citations

SOLO does not understand the abbreviations of either law reports or journals: you need to use the full title to search SOLO successfully. For example, use Modern Law Review (not MLR), Lloyds Maritime and Commercial Law Quarterly (not LMCLQ).
The online tool below, the Cardiff Index will help you find out what that abbreviation means!
Alternatively, ask a law librarian!

Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
Open access. An online database produced and maintained by Cardiff University. You can search by abbreviation or by title.

Inter-library requests

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the journal you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library request service.

Inter-library Requests Online Form
Request on SOLO via the 'Need more?' link at the top of the page. You'll need to log in with your Single Sign-On (SSO) or Bodleian Libraries account details. Please check SOLO thoroughly to make sure an Oxford library does not hold the material you need.

Recommend a journal

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the journal or article you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).

Recommend a purchase