Oxford LibGuides: Canada : legal resources: Legal History

Sources & commentary

Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History
Alternative name: OIELH

The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History is the online version of the Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History (edited by S.N. Katz et al) published by OUP in 2009.
LLMC-digital
For both primary and secondary sources published in nineteenth and early twentieth centuries
Alternative names: LLMC ; Law Library Microfilm Consortium’s Online Service ; LLMC Digital

LLMC-digital is a collection of English language legal titles and government documents divided into ten major jurisdictional or subject areas:
US Federal Government; US States and Territories; Canada; United Kingdom; Germany federal; Germany state, kingdoms and free cities; Other Countries (Afghanistan to Zimbabwe); International Law and Organizations; Indigenous Law covering materials from various regions of the United States, Canada and Indonesia; and Special Focus Collections which includes British Empire Studies, Canon Law, Islamic Law, Military Law, Native American Collection, Roman law, etc.

A history of law in Canada. Volume One, Beginnings to 1866 by Philip Girard, Jim Phillips, and R. Blake Brown.
Call Number: KL400.C1.GIR 2019
ISBN: 9781487547462
Publication Date: 2018
A history of law in Canada. Volume two, Law for a new dominion, 1867-1914 by Jim Phillips, Philip Girard, R. Blake Brown
Call Number: KL400.C1.GIR 2022
ISBN: 9781487545673
Publication Date: 2022
Canada’s Legal Pasts: Looking Forward, Looking Back by Mélanie Méthot ; Ted McCoy ; Lyndsay Campbell
Call Number: Open access title available to all online via title link
ISBN: 1773851179
Publication Date: 2020
Open Access online Scroll down and click Free PDF link near foot of U Calgary's bookshop webage

Osgoode Society for Canadian Legal History: Podcast: Time Immemorial
OA a series of podcasts which explore episodes of Canadian legal history. The podcasts are researched and written by two of Osgoode Society members, Preston Lim and Gregory Ringkamp
Osgoode Society For Legal History Oral History Program
Since 1979, the Society has conducted more than 600 interviews and deposited over 90,000 pages of transcripts in the Archives of Ontario. Interview subjects include lawyers, judges, politicians, and members of the police services. Interview documentation consists of transcripts.
Canadiana
OA site. In 2018, CRKN merged with Canadiana.org, an organization dedicated to the preservation and access of Canada’s documentary heritage since 1978. As a merged organization, CRKN continues its core licensing activities for scholarly journal content, while expanding support for the digitization and preservation of, and access to, Canadian heritage content.

Related Law Bod Guide

Legal history: England & common law tradition
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Oct 13, 2024 10731 views this year

Inter-library requests

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the book you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library request service.

Inter-library Requests Online Form
Request on SOLO via the 'Need more?' link at the top of the page. You'll need to log in with your Single Sign-On (SSO) or Bodleian Libraries account details. Please check SOLO thoroughly to make sure an Oxford library does not hold the material you need.

Recommend a book

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the print or ebook you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).

Recommend a purchase