Skip to Main Content

Canada : legal resources: Indigenous Peoples

Canadian Indigenous Peoples: Law, Policy, Reform

"‘Indigenous peoples' is a collective name for the original peoples of North America and their descendants.  ‘Aboriginal peoples' is also used.

The Canadian Constitution recognizes three such groups: Indians (more commonly referred to as First Nations), Inuit and Métis. These are three distinct peoples with unique histories, languages, cultural practices and spiritual beliefs.

More than 1.4 million people in Canada identify themselves as an Aboriginal person, according to the 2011 National Household Survey (NHS). "

Official government website Viewed  16 June 2017.

In 2017, Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) was dissolved and replaced by 2 new departments: Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada (CIRNAC) and Indigenous Services Canada (ISC).

Finding commentary

Subject search try using

Indigenous peoples -- Legal status, laws, etc. -- Canada

Indigenous peoples -- Canada

Indians of North America - Legal status, laws, etc - Canada

Indians of North America - Canada - Treaties

The looseleaf service Woodward Native Law is at KL8.C1. WOO

Background to 2008 Act

Related guide from LawBod