A journal is a regular publication (monthly, yearly, etc.) in which you will find academic and research articles. The articles present current research and quick (but thoughtful) responses to legal developments, such as Case Comments..
Journals which are peer-reviewed submit potential articles to evaluation by other experts before publication, so you can be confident of the quality of those finally included in the volume.
The majority of journals held by the Bodleian Libraries in both physical and electronic formats can be searched via SOLO, however you may find the Law Library's own database easier to use.
NOTE : In 2022/23 some of the Australian journals previously avaiable via Lexis+UK moved to Nexis UK. We have not been kept informed of the exact changes - but if the journal's publisher is LexisNexis, and it is not on Lexis+ UK trying search in Nexis UK next may be best strategy.
Printed resources
Issues & volumes from 2000 onwards are on Level 1. Earlier parts are on the Ground Floor. Both areas are freely accessible to readers.
Australian journal of competition and consumer law
(formerly Trade Practices Law Journal) Cw Austral 300 T50 v.19:no.1(2011:Mar.)-v.28:no.4(2020);incomplete
Australian Law Journal Cw Austral 300 A30
Australian Property Law Journal Cw Austral 300 A60
Adelaide Law Review (Adel L Rev) Cw Austral 300 A1 v.1:no.1(1960:Apr.)-v.20/21(1998/1999)
Melbourne University Law Review Cw Austral 300 M20 v.1:no.1(1957:July)-v.43:no.3(2020)
Monash University Law Review Cw Austral 300 M30 v.1:no.1(1974:Aug.)-v.39:no.3(2013)
Sydney Law Review Cw Austral 300 S20 v.1:no.1(1953:Apr.)-v.42:no.4(2020:Dec.)
Tort Law Review Cw Austral 300 T20
University of New South Wales Law Journal Cw Austral 300 U7 v.1(1975/1976)-v.37:no.1(2014
University of Western Australian Law Review Cw Austral 300 W20 v.5:no.1(1960:Dec.)-v.37:no.2(2014:Mar.)
Legal databases and ejournal platforms offer ways for you to set up customised alerts and/or an RSS feed. Look out for "Current Awareness," "Stay up to Date," "Create Alert" or the bell icon: instructions are usually clear. If you do encounter difficulties please contact us.
Note that Westlaw Edge UK also includes the formerly separate LawTel service
An ETOC or TOC option provides the entire table of contents of each new journal issue.
If you come to the Law Library, check out the Just In Corner on Level 2 (the entrance level) which has a display of the most recent issues of those law journals still received in print. (This display is updated weekiy.)
In addition (especially if you have inter disciplinary interests)
Some researchers may remember ZETOC. In its place we recommend the open access service JournalsTOCs - "the largest, free collection of scholarly journal Tables of Contents (TOCs): 32,312 journals including 15,741 selected Open Access journals and 11,834 Hybrid journals, from 3333 publishers."
Please note this requires you to register as an individual - it is not an Oxford SSO related eresource.
Abstracting (service):
Used to refer to a bibliographic database, the service provides abstracts of publications.
(Academic) Journal:
A regular publication of academic and research articles.
Bibliographic database:
A searchable platform that contains descriptive records of articles, books, conference proceedings, audio-visual material, maps, newspapers, and more.
Conference proceedings:
The published record of a conference.
Citation:
A quotation from or reference to a book, paper, or author, especially in a scholarly work.
Full-text:
This means you can read the item in full from beginning to end, not just the abstract or summary.
Indexing (service):
Used to refer to a bibliographic database, the service provides descriptors to help organise and navigate publications.
Periodical:
A regular publication that includes articles, stories and other text. Magazines and newspapers are examples of these.
Platform:
This refers to the site on which you can find and access the journal.
Preprints:
Pre-publication version of articles. cf Version of Record.
Serial:
A broad term that refers to items published in a series but the items are separate and standalone. Examples include indexes, yearbooks and some journals.
Version of Record (VoR) :
The fully published version, the most authoritative source of the text.
Working (research, discussion) papers:
Pre-publication not peer-reviewed versions of academic articles, book chapters, or reviews which are are in progress, under submission, or in press and forthcoming elsewhere.
SOLO does not understand the abbreviations of either law reports or journals: you need to use the full title to search SOLO successfully. For example, use Modern Law Review (not MLR), Lloyds Maritime and Commercial Law Quarterly (not LMCLQ).
The online tool below, the Cardiff Index will help you find out what that abbreviation means!
Alternatively, ask a law librarian!
If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the journal you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library loan service.
If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the journal or article you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).