Oxford LibGuides: Australia: legal resources: Legislation:federal

Australian legislation: quick start

Westlaw AU (selected content only)
This resource requires you to log in with your Oxford SSO again at the homepage.
Coverage:
Australian Legislation on Westlaw includes all in force principal Acts, Regulations and Rules for all nine Australian jurisdictions:

Federal
Australian Capital Territory
New South Wales
Northern Territory
Queensland
South Australian
Tasmania
Victoria
Western Australia
Selected additional important subordinate legislation, referred to in our secondary sources, is also included.
Once a piece of legislation is repealed, it remains in the collection and a signifier [Repealed] is added to the end of the legislation title.
Alternative names: Westlaw Australia ; Australian Law Resources Online ; Legal Online ; West Law AU

Australian Legal Database containing many law reports, journals, legislation, case digests and citators, encyclopaedias and commentary including the Laws of Australia.
Please note we do not have access to all content in this database.
Lexis+ UK
To find out which Australian resources Lexis has click International link on home page. The OU subscription to Australian (federal and state) materials includes legislation, law reports & judgment transcripts (unreporteds), Halsbury's Laws of Australia, and some journals.
Alternative names:Lexis ; LexisLibrary ; Lexis Library ; Lexis International

Lexis+ includes extensive primary and secondary legal materials from the UK, EU, USA and many other jurisdictions. It is the only online source for the full text of the All England Law Reports and Halsbury’s Laws. International content can be accessed by following the “International” link on the home page. UK legal news and newspapers are also included

Federal legislation of Australia is freely available online from the following sources-

Federal Register of Legislation (Australia)
Open access. The Legislation Register is the authorised whole-of-government website for Commonwealth legislation and related documents. It contains the full text and details of the lifecycle of individual laws and the relationships between them. (Formerly ComLaw)
Parlinfo search (Australia)
Search across parliamentary collections such as current and previous bills, press releases, Hansard etc.
AustLII : Cases & Legislation
Free Access to Law This link takes you to databases by jurisdiction.Search box near top right allows search across all if you don't have this information. Note if you want to find case law discussing/applying legislation, first find the section of the act you are interested in on AUSTLII then, when that section is displayed, click "Cited by Note up references" link in the right hand column
Australian Government Gazettes Online
Official website. Gazettes Online contains Gazettes (Government Notices, Special and Periodic) and Indexes to the Gazettes, published by the Attorney-General's Department since July 2002 and listed under Historic Gazettes. ComLaw has published Gazettes since 1 July, 2013
TimeBase LawOne
Legislation news for all Australian parliaments; sign up for alerts available. Please note: OU does not have a subscription to the rest of the services.

Citations to Australian statutes

Australian Guide to Legal Citation (AGLC)
Free resource. Available from University of Melbourne official website

The Australian Guide to Legal Citation advises using the short title of the act and year in italics, followed (where necessary) by the abbreviation for the jurisdiction in brackets.

Law and Justice Legislation Amendment Act (No 4) 1992 (Cth)

If your work includes citations to acts from various English speaking jurisdictions, OSCOLA advises using (Aus) after the date for federal legislation.

eg Law and Justice Legislation Amendment Act (No 4) 1992 (Aus)

Table of Abbreviations to Australian States and Territories:

Commonwealth	Cth
Australian Capital Territory	ACT
New South Wales	NSW
Northern Territory	NT
Queensland	Qld
South Australia	SA
Tasmania	Tas
Victoria	Vic
Western Australia	WA