A journal is a regular publication (monthly, yearly, etc.) in which you will find academic and research articles. The articles present current research and are critiqued by experts before publication, so you can be confident of their quality. The majority of journals held by the Bodleian Libraries in both physical and electronic formats can be searched via SOLO, as can the individual articles within ejournals: refine the search by specifying 'Journals' rather than 'All items'.
On this page you will find recommended journals and guidance on how to search for and access print and ejournals.
Journal:
A regular publication of academic and research articles.
Serial:
A broad term that refers to items published in a series but the items are separate and standalone. Examples include indexes, yearbooks and some journals.
Periodical:
A regular publication that includes articles, stories and other text. Magazines and newspapers are examples of these.
Conference proceedings:
The published record of a conference.
Full-text:
This means you can read the item in full from beginning to end, not just the abstract or summary.
Platform:
This refers to the site on which you can find and access the journal.
The Media History Digital Library provides free online access to digitized collections of classic media periodicals.
The Taylor Institution Library has a selection of Film Studies print journals on the open shelves on the first floor of the Teaching Collection. Many print journals are kept in the off-site store, and individual issues and volumes can be called over to a reading room for consultation, using the request option in SOLO.
Below is a selection of some key Film Studies journals.
Many scholarly film journals include film reviews, for example Film Quarterly and Positif. Online newspaper film reviews are also available via resources on the A-Z Databases page - use the Subject menu to find online resources in the Newspapers category. The FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals (see the Bibliographic databases & journal articles box) will also allow you to search for film reviews.
There are many websites that include film reviews, such as Guardian Film, Reverse Shot (publication of the Museum of the Moving Image) and Kamera (UK-based website with reviews and features).
If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the journal or article you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).
If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the journal you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library loan service.
BrowZine is an alternative way to browse many of the ejournals subscribed to by the Bodleian Libraries. Coverage is from 2005 onwards. For those wishing to learn more, we recommend the following guide: