This guide is intended for students studying for the Foundation Certificate in English Literature at the University of Oxford, although any students working in English literature may find it useful.
Use this guide to find out about books and online resources for English literature, including ebooks, ejournals, bibliographic databases.
We're looking forward to meeting you in person at some stage during your studies.
Until then, we hope that this guide will give you an idea of the range of library resources available to you, and how to make the best use of them.
If you have any questions about using any of these resources whilst studying for the Foundation Certificate in English Literature, please do get in touch.
Jocelyn English, Librarian in Charge
English Faculty Library
email: jocelyn.english@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
Angela Carritt, Librarian
Rewley House Continuing Education Library
email: angela.carritt@conted.ox.ac.uk
Bodleian Libraries
Library passwords
Oxford LibGuides (online guides, like this one, to subject resources and library services) See especially:
PCAS (Print, Copy & Scan) the system used across the Bodleian Libraries for printing, scanning and photocopying our materials
The Bodleian Library’s central site is on Broad Street, and it comprises the Bodleian Library, the Weston Library and the Radcliffe Camera.
There are various reading rooms within the central site and, although you are not restricted to using a particular one, the main reading room for undergraduates studying English is the Upper Camera. The Camera's open shelf collections will be useful for your course, and the Camera's library staff know the collections well and will be able to help you with any queries you might have.
From here you will also be able to access the 240,000 items available on the open shelves in the Gladstone Link - this has been created to enable you to access even more titles, without having to call them up from our closed access bookstacks.
The Radcliffe Camera (opened in 1749)
Read more about the History of the Bodleian.
The English Faculty Library was established in 1914 to serve all those reading and teaching English at Oxford. It became part of Oxford University Library Services (OULS) at its formation in 2000 and in March 2010 the EFL became one of the Bodleian Libraries of the University of Oxford.
The Library’s collections are available to all those requiring access for academic purposes.
All registering borrowers must have a valid University card.
You can find out more about the EFL on our website.
Online guides to resources for English
The Gallery, English Faculty Library
The Bodleian Continuing Education Library is one of the Bodleian Libraries. It serves the staff and the mainly part time students of the Oxford University Department for Continuing Education.
The Library's collections cover all subjects with particular strengths in Archaeology, Art, History, Literature and Local History. For more information on the collections, please see the Library website.
For more information on the Literature collections at the Rewley House Library please see the Rewley House resources for Literature page in this guide.