Early English Books Online (EEBO) features page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700. Over 200 libraries worldwide have contributed to EEBO. From the first book printed in English through to the ages of Spenser, Shakespeare and of the English Civil War, EEBO's content draws on authoritative and respected short-title catalogues of the period.
Beginning with the very first book published in English, EEBO draws from four authoritative bibliographical resources – both Pollard & Redgrave’s Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing’s Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) in their revised versions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) and the Early English Books Tract Supplement – to present more than 146,000 titles and over 17 million scanned pages of content.
Past Masters is a collection of full-text humanities works in scholarly editions. It contains the works and/or correspondence of many major literary authors, philosophers and other intellectuals as well as collections of correspondence by period.
Empire Online is a collection of original documents relating to Empire Studies, sourced from libraries and archives around the world. The documents are grouped into five sections: Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; the Visible Empire; Religion & Empire; Race, Class, Imperialism and Colonialism, 1607-2007.
LION provides access to the full text of more than 350,000 British and American original works (as well as links to useful background material) and critical works such as journal articles and citations.
If you have not used this resource before, you may find the online LibGuide to Lion helpful. This includes search tips, sample searches and links to online training sessions.
(N.B. If you are not connected to the Oxford network you will need to login with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password to gain full access to the above online resource)
LION provides access to primary and secondary sources, for example, the following are available on LION:
| Year 1 | Year 2 |
| David Copperfield - Charles Dickens (Penguin Classics) | Collected Poems 1909-62 - T.S. Eliot (Faber & Faber, 1974 edition) |
| Jane Eyre- Charlotte Bronte (Penguin Classics) | |
| Tess of the d'Urbervilles - Thomas Hardy (Penguin Classics) | |
|
Idylls of the King - Tennyson; Gray, J. M. (ed.). (Penguin Classics) |
|
| Dickens Quarterly Vol. 15:1 (March 1998) onwards | |
| Victorian Poetry Vol. 43:3 (Fall 2005) onwards | |
| Victorian Studies: an interdisciplinary journal of social, political, and cultural studies Vol. 37:2 (Winter 1994) onwards | |
(N.B. If you are not connected to the Oxford network you will need to login with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password to gain full access to the above online resources)
ECCO provides fully searchable full text access to nearly 180,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800. There are also links from the bibliographic records on SOLO.
If you have not used this resource before, you may wish to click the Help link for more information
(N.B. If you are not connected to the Oxford network you will need to login with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password to gain full access to the above online resource)