Oxford LibGuides: Manuscripts: Early Modern: Literary & Autographs

Online catalogues for literary papers

Online catalogues of archives and manuscripts
Full descriptions of every collection catalogued since 2001 as well as brief descriptions of all the collections catalogued in the Summary and (New) Summary Catalogues and unpublished post-1975 modern catalogues.
Summary Catalogue
This links to digitized copies as well as guidance on using the Falconer Madan Summary Catalogue. This catalogue covers all manuscripts acquired before 1915, except the Ashmole, Canonici, Digby, Greek manuscript, Laud, Rawlinson and Tanner collections (which are listed in the Quarto catalogues).
(New) Summary Catalogue
Provides brief descriptions of all post-medieval Western manuscripts acquired by the Library between 1916-1975. Now digitized and available at the link above.
Accessions card index [link temporarily down]
Card index listing archives and manuscripts acquired 1975-2004 [stored in the Rare Books and Manuscripts Reading Room, digitised version temporarily down].
Quarto Catalogues
Links to digitized copies via guidance on the Quarto Catalogues, which cover the Ashmole, Canonici, Digby, Greek Manuscript, Laud, Rawlinson and Tanner manuscript collections.
Bodleian Libraries Web Archive
The Bodleian Libraries collect web sites in an effort to preserve this material for future generations.

A subject guide to the Bodleian's literary manuscripts
A short online subject guide which includes links to the Bodleian's online catalogues.
The Bodleian Library: a Subject Guide to the Collections
ed. Gregory Walker, Mary Clapinson and Lesley Forbes (Bodleian Library, 2004), esp. 'Principal Special Collections', pp. 198-222.

Early Modern Letters Online
A union catalogue of sixteenth-, seventeenth-, and eighteenth-century correspondence.
Electronic Enlightenment
Online collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century
Index of Printed Books containing Manuscript Material
Find here: Rare Books and Manuscripts Reading Room

First-line Index of English Poetry 1500-1800 in Manuscripts of the Bodleian Library Oxford, 2 vols.
by M.C. Crum, (Oxford, 1969). Searchable online as part of the Union First Line Index hosted by the Folger Shakespeare Library (Washington, D.C.)
Additions to First-Line Index of English Poetry 1500-1800
Find here: A card index available in 2 drawers within the Rare Books and Manuscripts Reading Room (this is a continuation of 'First-Line Index of English Poetry' by M. Crum)

Index of Post-medieval Autographs
Find here : Rare Books and Manuscripts Reading Room.