Skip to Main Content

Manuscripts: Early Modern: General Finding Aids

Oxford college special collections

Special collections in Oxford colleges [175kb]
An alphabetical list of Oxford colleges, with descriptions of their special collections holdings.

General finding aids for (inter)national collections

The links here are to SOLO records of book or journal holdings within Oxford.

British Archives
by Janet Foster and Julia Sheppard (4th ed., 2002).
The Aslib directory of literary and historical collections in the UK
by Keith W. Reynard (London, 1993).
Royal Commission on Historical Manuscripts: Guides to Sources for British History
(12 vols. to date; Historical Manuscripts Commission, London, 1982-2003).
A Guide to Western Manuscripts and Documents in the British Isles relating to South and South-East Asia, with supplements
by J. D. Pearson.and M.D. Wainwright (London, 1965, 1989, 1990).
A Guide to Manuscripts and Documents in the British Isles relating to the Far East
by M.D. Wainwright and J.D. Pearson (Oxford, 1977). Available in the Special Collections Reading Room at X. Cat. Ref. 4b, also R. Cat. 99g and Z. Cat. 357a
A Guide to Manuscripts and Documents in the British Isles relating to the Middle East and North Africa
by N. Matthews and M. D. Wainwright (Oxford, 1980).
A Guide to Manuscripts and Documents in the British Isles relating to Africa
by N. Matthews and M.D. Wainwright (Oxford, 1971).
Manuscripts in the British Isles relating to Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific
by P. Mander-Jones (Canberra, 1972).
Guide to Documents and Manuscripts in the United Kingdom relating to Russia and the Soviet Union
by J. M. Hartley (London, 1987).
A Guide to Manuscripts relating to America in Great Britain and Ireland
by John Raimo (London, 1979).

Subject Guide

Website feedback

Accessibility Statement - https://visit.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/accessibility

Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you). You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout

© Bodleian Libraries 2021. Licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International Licence