Film Studies for Continuing Education short courses: Home

Short course students

(including WOW, Weekly Class and short online courses)

Students enrolled on a Continuing Education short course which includes a written assignment can:

• register to borrow books and films from the Continuing Education Library.
• access electronic resources such as e-books, journal articles and databases from within the university network, for example in the Library or in the resources room at Ewert House. Weekly class students cannot access subscription e-resources from home, but there are many free online resources available.  (See the tabs below for information about subscription and free resources).

Undergraduate and postgraduate students

(including students enrolled on Certificate, Diploma and Masters courses)

Students enrolled on an undergraduate or postgraduate Continuing Education course can:

• register to borrow books and films from the Continuing Education Library.
• become a member of other Libraries within the Bodleian Group of Libraries (for example the Taylor Institution Library and the Bodleian Library). See a full list of Bodleian Libraries
• access electronic resources such as e-books, journal articles and databases from any internet connection using your Single Sign On.

Oxford has a wide range of books (including ebooks and print books) for Film Studies.  For more detailed info about finding books visit the books tab on this guide.

You can search for individual journal articles in SOLO by searching for the author and/or article title and/or subject keywords. 

To check whether Bodleian Libraries provides access to a particular journal, use advanced search in SOLO, then sort & filter results by Material Type > Journals.

You can also use BrowZine (coverage from 2005 onwards).

Below are a few key journals for Film Studies below. See the journals tab of this guide for more information.

Oxford subscribes to many scholarly databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more. You can find some of the key databases for Film Studies below.  Take a look at the 'Oxford's online resources' tab of this guide for more information.

There are many scholarly resources which are freely available on the web.   Key free web resources are listed below and on the 'Free Online Resources' tab.

Oxford has a wide range films available on DVD format for Film Studies.  For more detailed info about finding DVDs visit the DVD film collection tab on this guide.

The Library

Contact info

Rewley House Continuing Education Library
Rewley House
1 Wellington Square
Oxford
OX1 2JA

Tel.01865 270454

Email library@conted.ox.ac.uk

Here are some of the key libraries for Film Studies, a full list of libraries is on the Bodleian Libraries website: