If a database or ejournal is not yet on the History wishlist, you can recommend an electronic resource.
Is the content:
Is there good functionality for
Tips:
Is it relevant for other disciplines?
The wealth of digitised materials for United States history means that the current wishlist for US history eresources is very extensive and cannot be reproduced in full here. Please contact the US History Subject Librarian, Jane Rawson, if you wish to enquire about or suggest electronic resources for consideration.
Details of current and recent trials will be added to this page.
Please see the Guide to US History Sources for an overview of the eresources already available for US history.
The American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection provides digital access to the full text of thousands of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912, digitised from the collections of the American Antiquarian Society. Titles cover a broad range of subjects and interests related to every aspect of American life and culture, from politics to religion, science, law, literature and the arts.
>>More information on the AAS periodicals collection
This resource was purchased in March 2018. Access is available via Databases A-Z.
Though it was Northern California’s “newspaper of record,” the San Francisco Chronicle’s influence was so far-reaching that it was known as the Voice of the West. With colorful reporting and commentary on news ranging from the aftermath of the Gold Rush to the effects of World War II to the counterculture boom of the 1960s, the Chronicle offers an unparalleled glimpse into the issues and events that shaped the West Coast for over a century.
Access was available 28 November - 24 December 2017. Please send comments and feedback to jane.rawson@bodleian.ox.ac.uk.
Civil Rights in America: from Reconstruction to the Great Society is a fully searchable archive of congressional documents related to all aspects of civil rights in the United States, from segregation to women’s suffrage to discrimination of all kinds. The material in this collection includes publications and reports from the US Senate and House of Representatives, the executive branch, congressional committees, special investigations and non-governmental organizations. Please note, there is a significant overlap in content with our existing congressional resources such as the Serial Set.
Access was available from 24th March - 22nd April 2016.
ProQuest History Vault provides access to a number of thematic collections of digitised primary sources covering a range of topics in American history. The majority of the collections focus on the 20th century but some cover earlier periods. The collections are particularly strong for African American history and military history.
Trial access was available 19th September - 31st October 2014. Please send feedback to jane.rawson@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
