If a database or ejournal is not yet on the History wishlist, you can recommend an electronic resource.
Is the content:
Is there good functionality for
Tips:
Is it relevant for other disciplines?
The historical archive of Le Monde – one of the newspapers of record for France – is now available in full-page digital image format from Proquest. The period covered is from the foundation of Le Monde in 1944 up to 2000. It should be noted that only 25% of the content of this database is currently available. It is cross-searchable with Global Newsstream (also a ProQuest product) which covers Le Monde from 2011 up to the present (and also includes a range of other key UK, US and other international newspapers).
The Bodleian Libraries trial will end on 19 May. Another trial of both databases will be held in September 2021 when the Le Monde historical archive will be complete.
Please send any feedback to nick.hearn@bodleian.ox.ac.uk. Available in the British Library.
Global Newsstream contains full text articles from over 3,000 news sources, providing current coverage from many sources as well as archives extending back to the 1980s. Included are a number of key UK, US and international titles such as the Guardian, The New York Times, El Mundo and Le Monde.
Global Newsstream’s coverage of Le Monde from 2011 to the present complements ProQuest’s historical archive of Le Monde from 1944 to 2000. As both databases are on the ProQuest platform the two databases are cross-searchable. The trial of Global Newsstream will run for the same time as the trial of Le Monde (Historical archive) until 19 May 2021.
Please note that as only 25% of the historical archive of Le Monde is available for the current trial; there will be another trial of both databases in September 2021 (when the Le Monde historical archive database will be complete).
Please send any feedback to nick.hearn@bodleian.ox.ac.uk.
Hispanic views on nearly every major theme in American life
Hundreds of searchable newspapers published in the United States by Hispanics.
Please send feedback on the trial to Bethan Davies.
Retronews is a new archive offered by the Bibliothèque Nationale de Franceand provides access to 600 French news titles published between 1631 and 1950. Some of these newspapers used to be freely available on Gallicabut can now only be accessed through Retronews.
Just over half of the titles are published in Paris with the rest being regional French titles and 5 from Algeria. Titles include: Le Matin(1884-1944), Le Petit Parisien(1876-1944), Le Temps(1861-1942), Gazette nationale ou le Monitor universel(1789-1901).
Different kinds of keyword search are offered. Extra features include filtering by theme, historical period and place of publication. The database comes with three introductory tutorials.
We don't yet know when the trial expires, but please send feedback to Isabel Holowaty (isabel.holowaty@bodleian.ox.ac.uk)and Nick Hearn (nick.hearn@bodleian.ox.ac.uk).
The trial ends 25 Marh 2020.
An important German newspaper, of a liberal stance, which was published in Berlin 1721-1934 and by considered a national newspaper.