History, American: Home

America: History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises over 490,000 bibliographic entries for periodicals dating back to 1954, providing an incomparable research tool for students and researchers of US and Canadian history.

This extensive database covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, America: History and Life coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Over 90% of the articles included are published in English-language journals.

Being the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography online, BBIH is a comprehensive guide to historical writing about the history of Britain, Ireland, and relations with the empire and Commonwealth from 55BC to the present. The database consists of more than 470,000 records giving as comprehensive a guide as possible to books, articles in journals, and articles in books published since 1901, and to a considered selection of those published before 1901. The database consolidates a number of existing bibliographies (primarily series published by the Royal Historical Society and the Institute of Historical Research) together with some additional material. It is not intended to be a guide to the raw material of history - the manuscripts, printed books, buildings, artefacts and so on which constitute the historical record. However, published guides to these sources are included, as are modern editions of primary material and a selection of printed primary material published up to 1900.

BBIH also includes the ability to find out more about people covered using the integrated links with the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, the National Register of Archives, and Who Was Who; and includes links to British History Online, Reviews in History, H-Albion Reviews, BLArticles Direct and Google books.

A major digital collection of full-text early printed American imprints (1639-1800), compiled originally in the American Bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Charles Evans' American Bibliography.

The collection of 37,000+ imprints embraces every aspect of life in 17th and 18th century America (history, literary, religion, witchcraft, agriculture, foreign affairs, temperance, etc.). Genre of material is very wide-ranging. In addition to printed books, pamphlets and broadsides, the collection also covers anything from advertisements to chapbooks, diaries to gazetteers, and hymnals to wills.

This resource is a comprehensive guide to printed works about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. The authoritative bibliography is based on European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750 and includes more than 32,000 records covering early printed works on a wide range of topics, from the British/French/Dutch in America to natural disasters, religious orders, pirates, slavery and more.

Oxford Bibliographies are comprehensive subject bibliographies, which provide an up-to-date overview of the most recent and authoritative scholarship in a given field. Oxford Bibliographies provides faculty and students alike with a seamless pathway to the most accurate and reliable resources for a variety of academic topics. Every article in the database is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, written and reviewed by academic experts, with original commentary and annotations. The modules include:

African American Studies, African Studies, American Literature, Anthropology, Art History, Atlantic History, Biblical Studies, British and Irish Literature, Buddhism, Childhood Studies, Chinese Studies, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Communication, Criminology, Ecology, Education, Environmental Science, Evolutionary Biology, Geography, Hinduism, International Law, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Latin American Studies, Latino Studies, Linguistics, Literary and Critical Theory, Management, Medieval Studies, Military History, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, Renaissance and Reformation, Social Work, Sociology, Victorian Literature.