History, American: Colonial/Revolutionary

A major digital collection of full-text early printed American imprints (1639-1800), compiled originally in the American Bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Charles Evans' American Bibliography.

The collection of 37,000+ imprints embraces every aspect of life in 17th and 18th century America (history, literary, religion, witchcraft, agriculture, foreign affairs, temperance, etc.). Genre of material is very wide-ranging. In addition to printed books, pamphlets and broadsides, the collection also covers anything from advertisements to chapbooks, diaries to gazetteers, and hymnals to wills.

The collection has been compiled by consulting a number of bibliographies, including:

* A Biobibliography of Native American Writers, 1772-1924 by Daniel F. Littlefield, Jr. and James W. Parins

* Sources for the ethnography of northeastern North America to 1611, by David B. Quinn.

* The French image of America: a chronological and subject bibliography of French books printed before 1816 relating to the British North American colonies and the United States by Durand Echeverria and Everett C. Wilkie, Jr.

* Wagner & Camp's The Plains and the Rockies, a critical bibliography of exploration, adventure and travel in the American West, 1800-1865

* Robert Rogers Hubach's Early Midwestern Travel Narratives, An Annotated Bibliography, 1634-1850.

* Candiana.org, (www.canadiana.org), a full-text online collection that contains documents about CanadaÆs history from the first European contact to the nineteenth century.

* Bibliography of Native North Americans, Human Relations Area Files, 1976

When complete it will include more than 1,000 published and unpublished items from a variety of sources, including online resources and microform. Subscribers to the collection are encouraged to participate in the maintenance of this bibliography by calling our attention to omissions, suggesting additions, and notifying us of newly discovered materials.

This resource is a comprehensive guide to printed works about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. The authoritative bibliography is based on European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750 and includes more than 32,000 records covering early printed works on a wide range of topics, from the British/French/Dutch in America to natural disasters, religious orders, pirates, slavery and more.

The United Society Partners in Gospel (USPG) is a UK-based Anglican missionary organisation that operates around the world. During the eighteenth, nineteenth, and early twentieth centuries, the USPG went by the name of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts (SPG).

This collection was curated in association with the Bodleian Library and contains letters and supplementary material compiled by its North American branch during the period 1635–1928. The papers therefore provide students and historians with a unique insight into the evolution of Christianity in the American colonies, the United States, and Canada but additionally includes activities in the Gold Coast and Australia. This collection is accompanied by an online guide written by Isobel Pridmore, formerly the archivist at the USPG, whose archives are now held in the Bodleian Libraries Special Collections.

The Associates of Dr. Bray was a group comprised of English clergymen and philanthropists who created and funded schools for Black, and to a lesser extent, Indigenous North American, children in the American Colonies between 1758 and 1776. Their aim was not only to educate, but also to Christianise their pupils. This collection contains correspondence files, minute books, and financial reports compiled by the Associates during the period 1724-1900. It also includes some relevant documents that pre-date the organisation itself. The impact that Bray's schools had cannot be overstated. His were some of the first schools tasked with eradicating indigenous cultures and replacing them with Christian doctrines. They were founded on the principles of fearing for the souls of their pupils, but seemingly cared little for their freedom from enslavement, nor for their religious or cultural autonomy.

This collection is part of the archive of the United Society Partners in Gospel (USPG), formerly the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts (SPG). It was curated in association with the Bodleian Library.

The United Society Partners in Gospel (USPG) is a UK-based Anglican missionary organisation that operates around the world. During the 18th, 19th, and early-20th centuries, the USPG went by the name of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts (SPG). This collection covers the period 1701-1870 and contains the organisation’s founding documents, in-house journal, annual sermons, and reports. These documents provide a fascinating insight into the relationship between colonisers and the colonised. This collection was curated in association with the Bodleian Library.

The collection has been compiled by consulting a number of bibliographies, including:

* A Biobibliography of Native American Writers, 1772-1924 by Daniel F. Littlefield, Jr. and James W. Parins

* Sources for the ethnography of northeastern North America to 1611, by David B. Quinn.

* The French image of America: a chronological and subject bibliography of French books printed before 1816 relating to the British North American colonies and the United States by Durand Echeverria and Everett C. Wilkie, Jr.

* Wagner & Camp's The Plains and the Rockies, a critical bibliography of exploration, adventure and travel in the American West, 1800-1865

* Robert Rogers Hubach's Early Midwestern Travel Narratives, An Annotated Bibliography, 1634-1850.

* Candiana.org, (www.canadiana.org), a full-text online collection that contains documents about CanadaÆs history from the first European contact to the nineteenth century.

* Bibliography of Native North Americans, Human Relations Area Files, 1976

When complete it will include more than 1,000 published and unpublished items from a variety of sources, including online resources and microform. Subscribers to the collection are encouraged to participate in the maintenance of this bibliography by calling our attention to omissions, suggesting additions, and notifying us of newly discovered materials.

This resource is a comprehensive guide to printed works about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. The authoritative bibliography is based on European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750 and includes more than 32,000 records covering early printed works on a wide range of topics, from the British/French/Dutch in America to natural disasters, religious orders, pirates, slavery and more.

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada. Included are more than 100,000 pages of personal narratives including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories. Much of the material is previously unpublished. Several thousand pages of Ellis Island Oral History interviews, indexed and searchable for the first time, are included.

The materials begin around 1840 and extend to the present, focusing heavily on the period from 1920 to 1980. People from many countries are represented, including more recent waves of immigrants from Latin America and Asia. In selected cases, users can to hear the actual audio voices of the immigrants or view images of their scrapbooks.

No other single resource presents such a broad, detailed, and immediate record of the experience of immigration, supporting research in history, sociology, ethnic and diversity studies, womenÆs studies, labour studies, and literature. Labour historians will benefit from details describing work in restaurants, meat packing plants, mines, railroads, and factories. Sociologists will find lengthy passages describing immigrant schooling, social life, domestic life, and community rituals. Students of literature will find descriptions of the events that inspired Upton Sinclair and Theodore Dreiser.

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories provides perspectives both on North America and on the immigrantsÆ countries of origin. Users will find vivid descriptions of life under the Czar and the various revolutionary governments in Russia; tales of famine and poverty in Ireland; accounts of anti-Jewish pogroms in Eastern Europe; stories of persecution and fascism; and detailed descriptions of life in rural communities and towns as well as in major cities such as London, Berlin, and Moscow. Descriptions of initial encounters with soda pop, chewing gum, and bananas a

Colonial times to 1950.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries is the largest collection of women's diaries and correspondence ever assembled. Spanning more than 300 years, brings the personal experiences of some 1,325 women to researchers, students, and general readers.

The collection includes some 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries from individuals writing from Colonial times to 1950, including more than 6,000 pages of previously unpublished materials. Drawn from more than 600 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings, much of the material is in copyright. Represented are all age groups and life stages, all ethnicities, many geographical regions, the famous and the not so famous. It includes some 300 biographies to enhance the use of the database.

The Oxford African American Studies Center combines the authority of carefully edited reference works with sophisticated technology to create the most comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.

The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 10,000 articles by top scholars in the field. The core content includes:

- Africana

- Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895

- Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present

- Black Women in America, Second Edition

- African American National Biography

- Dictionary of African Biography

- The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought

Colonial State Papers provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries. Also included is a digitised version of The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739, which contains bibliographic records and extracts for thousands of additional documents. Specifically, CSP contains the TNA’s CO1 Collection (Privy Council and related bodies: America and West Indies, Colonial Papers) which provides access to thousands of papers that were presented to the Privy Council and the Board of Trade between 1574-1757, and which relate to England's governance of, and activities in, the American, Canadian and West Indian colonies.

Calendar of State Papers, Colonial

*Contains indexed transcripts and abstracts of accumulated papers relating to North America and the West Indies issued between 1574 and 1739. They include largely correspondence between governors and the secretaries of state, but also memoranda, etc.

Calendar of State Papers, Domestic

*Contains indexed transcripts and abstracts of the accumulated papers of the secretaries of state issues between 1547 and 1704. They contain information on almost every facet of early modern history in the form of letters, petitions, returns, memoranda, orders in council, warrants and newsletters. In progress.

Calendar of State Papers, Foreign

*Contains indexed transcripts and abstracts of the accumulated papers of the secretaries of state relating to foreign affairs. These may be documents produced by the secretaries of state or received by them as a result of their responsibilities in the conduct of British diplomacy abroad. They include correspondence with representatives (English diplomats abroad and foreign diplomats in England), original and draft treaties, letters between heads of state, intercepted despatches and other intelligence, working papers of the secretaries and material relating to military, naval and colonial policy.

Calendars of State Papers for Scotland and Ireland

*Contains indexed transcripts and abstracts of the accumulated papers of the secretaries of state relating to Scotland and Ireland issued between 1547-1588 and 1586-1601 respectively. In progress.

State Papers Online I-IV 1509-1714

State Papers Online contains the Tudor and Stuart governments “domestic” and “foreign” papers – the equivalent of today’s documents from the Home and Foreign Offices and the Royal Archives. These everyday working papers of the British royal government reveal Tudor and Stuart society and government, religion and politics in all its drama allowing scholars to trace the remarkable – and frequently violent – transformations of the 16th & 17th centuries. This major resource re-unites the Domestic, Foreign, Borders, Scotland, and Ireland State Papers of Britain with the Registers of the Privy Council and other State Papers now housed in the Cotton, Harley and Lansdowne collections in the British Library. The papers are digitised images and are accompanied by the Calendars. The Calendars State Papers are fully searchable, and each Calendar entry has been linked directly to its related State Paper. Among the Calendars included are the HMC Calendars and the Haynes/Murdin transcriptions of the Cecil Papers in Hatfield House.

SPO is relevant to those studying Early Modern British and European history: diplomatic, political, social, cultural, local, legal, religious, kingship and queenship, exploration, travel and trade and early empire; Early Modern literature; Renaissance and Reformation Studies; Tudor & Stuart history.