Oxford LibGuides: Pusey House Library and Archive: Collections and Resources

Explore our collections

SOLO
Details of thousands of Pusey House's modern books can be found here, and more are being added regularly. You can narrow your search to Pusey House in the drop-down menu next to the search bar.
Pusey House Printed Book Catalogue Scan
A scan of our original physical catalogue. It covers every book Pusey House acquired before 2015, including those that aren't yet on SOLO.
ABTAPL Journals List
The journals we currently purchase are listed on SOLO, but for details of our full journal collection (including older/non-current publications), this is the best place to search. Use the search bar or the alphabetical links at the bottom of the homepage to find a journal title, then check for the letters 'PHL' (Pusey House Library) next to that title.
Pusey House Archive Catalogue
A growing online catalogue of the collections in Pusey House Archive. Cataloguing is an ongoing process, so please don't hesitate to contact the Librarian if you'd like to find out what else we have.
Pusey House Archive Collection Overviews
A document providing further historical context to some of the collections in the Archive Catalogue.
Nineteenth-Century Pamphlets at Pusey House
An introduction to our rare and controversial pamphlets. At the moment, the main catalogue for our pamphlet collection is a physical card catalogue in the reading room.
Pusey House Theses and Dissertations
A list of the theses and dissertations held in Pusey House Archive.

Find out more

Pusey House Library Catalogue Blog
This blog, which ran from 2018 to 2019, showcases some collection highlights discovered by Library Assistant Isobel Galek during her time here. The cataloguing project which Isobel helped to begin is still ongoing, and we hope to complete it within the next couple of years.

Free online resources

There are a number of useful resources on the Oxford Movement that are freely available online.

If you're looking for more general theological resources, we would recommend the very helpful list in the Theology and Religion Subject Guide.

Pusey House History Pages
Introductory webpages written by the clergy of Pusey House.
In Our Time: the Oxford Movement
Introductory programme from BBC Radio 4.
St John Henry Newman Canonisation Resource
Introductory website about St John Henry Newman’s life and his path to Roman Catholic sainthood.
Project Canterbury
Extensive digital library of Anglican and Anglo-Catholic texts, including the works of Liddon and Pusey.
Newman Studies Digital Collections
Digitised archival materials relating to St John Henry Newman, including letters and photographs. We're delighted that relevant items from Pusey House Archive are now available on this site.
Keble College Heritage
Website devoted to this Oxford College's history, including articles and videos on John Keble and his role in the Oxford Movement.
Oxford Re-Formed
Digital exhibition exploring the religious history of Oxford since the Reformation. Includes sections on the Oxford Movement and Pusey House.
Opening Oxford 1871-
Website created to mark the 150th anniversary of the Universities Tests Act, which brought many changes to Oxford including the founding of Pusey House.
Directory of Attendees at the First Anglo-Catholic Priests’ Convention
Huge directory of early Anglo-Catholic priests and their families, kindly provided to Pusey House by compilers Christine M Hickton and Michael W Blain.
The Holy Rule of the Institute of the Sisters of Charity of S. Thomas the Martyr
Rule of life of an Anglo-Catholic order of nuns, kindly provided to Pusey House by Fr Paul Williamson and uploaded here with the permission of St Thomas the Martyr Church.
Nicholas Ferrar and the Community of Little Gidding: a Bibliography
Comprehensive list of resources on the seventeenth-century High Church community of Little Gidding, kindly provided to Pusey House by author George Woodman. The Little Gidding community was an important source of inspiration to the Oxford Movement theologians.

Pusey House Library and Archive: Collections and Resources

Welcome

Explore our collections

Find out more

Free online resources