Oxford LibGuides: Psychodynamic Studies: Home

Finding books for Psychodynamic Studies

Oxford has a wide range of books (including ebooks and print books) for Psychodynamic Studies. For more detailed info about finding books visit the books page on this guide.

SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ebooks at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.
SOLO user guide
If you need help with SOLO, take a look at this guide for tips on searching, managing results and using your SOLO account.

Key journals

You can search for individual journal articles in SOLO by searching for the author and/or article title and/or subject keywords.

In addition, you can search for a particular journal or newspaper (e.g. Nature, English Historical Review, The Guardian) by entering the title in SOLO or via the 'Journals A-Z'.

SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ebooks at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.
e-Journals A-Z
A full, browsable list of ejournals available at Oxford.

Below are a few key journals for Psychodynamic Studies below. See the journals page for of this guide for more information and guidance.

Key databases

Oxford subscribes to many scholarly databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more. You can find some of the key databases for Psychodynamic Studies listed below. Take a look at the databases page of this guide for more information.

Databases A-Z
A full, browsable list of Oxford's online databases.

Scopus
Scopus is a bibliographic database for science, medicine and some social sciences. It covers over 25,000 journals and over 300,000 books from over 7,000 publishers worldwide, providing access to over 90 million records going back as far as the 18th century.
It includes the content from a number of other major databases: Medline (medicine) 1966 - , Embase (medicine) 1970 - , Compendex (engineering) 1970 - , Geobase (geography) 1980 - .
PsycINFO
PsycINFO provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioural, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists, students, and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, and education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. PsycINFO contains more than 2 million records spanning 1806 to the present. Journal coverage includes material selected from approximately 2,000 periodicals. Chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present; however, there is a substantial number of records covering books published earlier. Dissertations constitute approximately 12% of the database. APA is currently adding approximately 8,100,000 references annually through weekly updates.
APA PsycArticles
APA PsycArticles is a database of full-text articles from over 100 journals published by the following: American Psychological Association (APA) , the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group. The subjects covered are Psychiatry, Psychology and Psychopharmacology. Many of the journals go back to Volume 1 issue 1. The database is updated weekly. The database includes all material from the print journals, but excludes covers and advertisements.

Free Online Resources

There are many scholarly resources which are freely available on the web. Key free web resources are listed below and on the free online resources page.

Events listings at the The Institute of Psychoanalysis
Also includes some free recordings
Karnac Books Specialist Psychoanalyis, Psychotherapy and related books. The site also provides access to short essays, events listings, and useful links.
Karnacology Launched by Karnac Books Ltd, Karnacology aims to facilitate contact and discussion amongst mental health professionals and provides a forum on a wide range of topics.

Dissertations and Theses

Theses submitted by students for the Masters in Psychodynamic Practice are available for consultation, subject to the author's consent. These are held in the office of the programme administrator. If you would like to consult these, please contact the administrator directly. More information can be found at the theses page of this guide.

SOLO As well as books, journals and other materials, SOLO also covers Oxford theses and dissertations in print and where available online.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Alternative names: PQDT; PQDTGlobal; ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes content from PQDT UK & Ireland (aka Index to Theses) with abstracts going back to 1716.

More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.

Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.

Rewley House Continuing Education Library

The Library

Contact info

Rewley House Continuing Education Library
Rewley House
1 Wellington Square
Oxford
OX1 2JA

Tel.01865 270454

Email library@conted.ox.ac.uk

LIbrary news

Related guides

Psychology

Key Libraries

Here are some of the key libraries for Psychodynamic Studies, a full list of libraries is on the Bodleian Libraries website:

Continuing Education Library
The Rewley House Library is your home library and buys many of the books for your course.

Radcliffe Science Library
The Radcliffe Science Library covers medical sciences, psychology, life and physical sciences .

Psychodynamic Studies: Home

Purpose of this guide