Oxford LibGuides: International law courts, cases & commentary: PCIJ

PCIJ Permanent Court of International Justice

The Permanent Court of International Justice was the predecessor of the ICJ. It was established under the Covenant of the League of Nations. It functioned from 1922 to 1946.

PCIJ's cases (Series A - F , incomplete) Internat 120
World court reports: a collection [of PCIJ cases] Internat 123 H886

PCIJ's publications
Free resource. The website of the ICJ makes available the PCIJ's publications as pdfs. The Series A, B and A/B (from 1931) contain all PCIJ's the decisions (Judgments, Advisory Opinions and Orders); Series C the written pleadings etc.

Commentary in print

Books on the practice and impact of the PCIJ are shelved at Internat 725. See box to right for some examples.

Online commentary

Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law (MPEIL)
Alternative names: Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL) ; Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law (MPEiPro)

The Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law combines the fully updated online edition of the Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL) (originally published in print between 1991 and 2001) with the Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law (MPEiPro) which has been published (online only) since September 2019. The peer-reviewed articles in both works are updated and added to monthly.

The Permanent Court of International Justice : its constitution, procedure and work Requires Oxford SSO for remote access. Available via Making of Modern Law Database. 1925 work by Alexander Fachiri.
The Permanent Court of International Justice 1922-2012
Free resource. Trilingual book (English, Spanish, French), first published in 1939, republished in 2012 Download pdf from ICJ website.

Texts on topic

International Legal Argument in the Permanent Court of International Justice by Ole Spiermann; James Crawford (Contribution by); John Bell (Contribution by)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link
ISBN: 0521836859
Publication Date: 2005
Print copy is at Internat 725 S755a
Peace Through Law : Britain and the International Court in the 1920s by Lorna Lloyd
Call Number: Internat 725 L793a
ISBN: 0861932358
Publication Date: 1997
Economic Conflicts and Disputes Before the World Court (1922-1995) by Karel C. Wellens
Call Number: Internat 725 W447a
ISBN: 9041101950
Publication Date: 1996