Oxford LibGuides: International law courts, cases & commentary: ICJ

Case law of ICJ

Case law of the ICJ

The decisions of this court are included in the generalist report series, such as ILR & ORIL, as well as being published in court specific publications and websites.

Printed Resources

ICJ Reports 1946 Internat 121

Online Resources

ICJ cases database
Official website - maintained by Court Full-text reports of Contentious Cases, full-text advisory opinions and lists of cases both pending and concluded.
International Law Reports (ILR) Part of the vLex subscription. Requires Oxford SSO for remote access. International courts, & domestic courts applying international law. (English translations of the latter provided when appropriate)

Oxford Reports on International Law
Alternative name: oril

Decisions from a number of international courts and tribunals including the International Court of Justice and Permanent Court of International Justice, International Criminal Court, International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia, International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda, Nuremberg International Military Tribunal, the Special Court for Sierra Leone, the UN Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination, the UN Committee against Torture, the UN Human Rights Committee, European Court of Human Rights and the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights. In addition the "International Law in Domestic Courts" section includes decisions from domestic courts relating to international law from 60 jurisdictions.
Lexis+ UK
. Includes ICJ Advisory Opinions, ICJ Judgments, & ICJ Filings. Click on Sources tab, then International Content link. Use either the top half of the screen - the search box, using the drop down menu to filter in advance if you don't have eg a citation OR the browse function on the lower half of the screen. To browse select International again then either search for source or work your way through all/any of the letters of the alphabet.
Alternative names:Lexis ; LexisLibrary ; Lexis Library ; Lexis International

Lexis+ includes extensive primary and secondary legal materials from the UK, EU, USA and many other jurisdictions. It is the only online source for the full text of the All England Law Reports and Halsbury’s Laws. International content can be accessed by following the “International” link on the home page. UK legal news and newspapers are also included.
Westlaw Edge UK
Click the link in the central panel of home page to get to Westlaw international
Alternative name: West Law UK ; Westlaw UK

Westlaw is a large database of UK, US and international legal materials including cases, legislation and journal articles.
Coverage:
•UK statutes, statutory instruments and law reports
•England and Wales law reports
•US federal and state legislation and law reports
•Australian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Canadian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Hong Kong SAR law reports and laws
•European Union legislation and law reports
•UK and US law journals and texts
•Common Law Library and over 200 books published by Sweet & Maxwell (Thomson Reuters)
Because of licencing restrictions this database is not available to "Walk-in" users of the library.

ICJ decisions available via HeinOnline Requires Oxford SSO for remote access. Find link to United Nations Law Collection in list of Subscribed Libraries for ICJ decisions 1947 on.
World Court Digest (up to 2000) Free resource from the Max Planck Institute for foreign public law and international law
more...less...
on publisher's website.
The World Court Digest represents a reproduction, in a systematic arrangement, of the views on questions of international law which are expressed in the judgements, advisory opinions and orders of the International Court of Justice as well as in the separate opinions of individual judges. The World Court Digest is a continuation, in a new shape, of the Fontes Juris Gentium, Series A, Sectio I, which, in its first four volumes, cover the decisions of the Permanent Court of International Justice and the Hague Permanent Court of Arbitration and is devoted, in volumes five to seven, to the jurisprudence of the International Court of Justice from its establishment until 1985. The period from 1986 to 2000 has been reproduced in the three volumes of the World Court Digest which will be continued periodically in the future. The aim of the Fontes Juris Gentium as well as of its successor, the World Court Digest, is to provide an aid to the study of the decisions of the International Court of Justice owing to its vast importance for the development of international law. The increasing number of judgements and advisory opinions makes it more and more difficult to gain a detailed picture of the Court's jurisprudence and to make it of practical use to governments and international and national lawyers. The reproduction of excerpts from the original decisions in a systematic way and in their actual context provides thus a helpful overview over the judicial views of the World Court on nearly all relevant questions of international law.

We have implemented the complete volumes 1, 2 and 3 of the World Court Digest. Cases decided since then will be inserted into the site as soon as prepared by the WCD team.

ICJ International Court of Justice

Materials on the free web

International Court of Justice (ICJ)
Official website. Includes access to database of cases and list of pending cases.
Statute of the ICJ
Official website
UN Audio Visual Library of International Law: Lecture Series
Open Access. Growing library of lectures by eminent scholars - grouped by subject area which you can select in the left hand column. The mini-lecture stream is decided to give you an overview of the topic as a whole.
It is worth clicking on Read More for Related Materials
more...less...
Official website maintained by UN's Legal Office.

Some texts on topic

The Statute of the International Court of Justice by Andreas Zimmermann (Editor); Christian J. Tams (Editor); Karin Oellers-Frahm (Editor); Christian Tomuschat (Editor)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this book online via title link
ISBN: 9780198814894
Publication Date: 3rd edn 2019
Print copy is at Internat 725 Z73a3
Rosenne's the World Court: What It Is and How It Works by Daphné Richemond-Barak
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this book online via title link
ISBN: 9789004221550
Publication Date: 7th rev edn 2021
The Role of the International Court of Justice as the Principal Judicial Organ of the United Nations by Mohamed Sameh M. Amr
Call Number: Internat 725 A528a
ISBN: 9041120262
Publication Date: 2003
The Development of International Law by the International Court of Justice by Christian J. Tams (Editor); James Sloan (Editor)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this book online via title link
ISBN: 0199653216
Publication Date: 2013
Print copy is available at Internat 725 T159.5a

For subject searches on SOLO try the following:

International Court of Justice
International Court of Justice -- History
International Court of Justice -- Rules and practice