This guide is intended for students and researchers studying Jewish law at the University of Oxford, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.
Use this guide to find out about sources and commentary for Jewish law, including ebooks, ejournals, and databases.
An Introduction to Jewish Law by 
An Introduction to the History and Sources of Jewish Law by 
The Cambridge Companion to Judaism and Law by 
The Oxford Handbook of Jewish Law by
This handbook is currently [Feb 2024] in development, with individual articles publishing online in advance of print publication. At this time, we cannot add information about unpublished articles in this handbook, however the table of contents will continue to grow as additional articles pass through the review process and are added to the site. Please note that the online publication date for this handbook is the date that the first article in the title was published online. For more information, please read the site FAQs.
Online resources freely available to all with access to the internet
The Law Bod has two distinct collections which could be pertinent for your research.
First there is the collection which has shelf marks beginning Jewish on Floor 3
Then there is the collection with shelf marks beginning Israel. This is in the alphabetical run of national jurisdictions on Floor 1.
The Bodleian Law Library's collection is principally in English (and other Western European languages).
For more guidance on finding books, please see the Books page in this guide.
If you are new to this topic, the following may be useful starting points:
Introduction to the History and Sources of Jewish Law by An Introduction to Jewish Law by Jewish law is one of those subjects for which other Oxford reading rooms may also have useful collections, principally the Leopold Muller Memorial Library (of the Oxford Centre for Hebrew and Jewish Studies) - but perhaps also the library in the Oriental Institute, the Bodleian Nizami Ganjavi Library, the Philosophy and Theology Faculties Library, and the Bodleian Art, Archaeology and Ancient World Library. SOLO searches will reveal their holdings too - so please pay attention to the holding locations in the results, and plan your visits!
Bodleian Closed Stacks
If your SOLO search uncovers works in the Bodleian Closed Stacks which would be useful, please use the Hold & Request function in SOLO to have them delivered to a Bodleian Reading Room.
