Oxford LibGuides: Trade law: Cases

International

Handbook of WTO/GATT Dispute Settlement Online
Remote access requires Oxford SSO.
more...less...
"Created by experts with international trade law practitioners in mind, the Handbook of WTO/GATT Dispute Settlement Online offers instant access to a vast legal research database that includes:

Updated summaries of 300+ WTO/GATT panel, Appellate Body, or arbitrator reports.
Nine comprehensive indexes cross-referencing the reports by key word, article, country, subject, panelist, member, and more.
Easy citation lists to track adoption status of reports."
WTO Dispute Settlement: Find the Dispute
Section of official WTO website "This page is designed to help you find and follow disputes meeting criteria that you specify. Use one or more of the drop-down menus below to specify search criteria, then click “search”. You will be presented with a list of disputes matching your criteria.
You can then create email alerts to notify you when new documents are circulated for these disputes.

You can also save your search. It will then appear in myWTO disputes, where you can view the search results, or edit or delete the search"
EU Bilateral Trade Disputes
Official website. "The EU includes a dispute settlement mechanism in all its trade agreements so that the EU and its trading partners can resolve disputes. ... [it] is modeled after the WTO dispute settlement system. It is specifically designed to deal with disputes arising from the rules of the EU's bilateral trade agreements."

Sources of case law: UK

i-Law
Online access to Lloyd's Law Reports
Alternative name: I Law
Access Lloyd’s Law Reports; Lloyd’s Maritime & Commercial Law Quarterly; and Dispute Resolution service including Briggs’ Civil Jurisdiction.

Register for access using your Oxford email address. From the i-Law home page, select "Login" and then "Register here".

Access is restricted to 5 concurrent users so please log off at the end of your session.
ICLR Case Reports
Contains The Law Reports, Weekly Law Reports, Industrial Case Reports and Business Law Reports published by the Incorporated Council of Law Reporting.
Lexis+ UK
For online access from a device outside the University network or via eduroam, please follow https://plus.lexis.com/uk/xhome?federationidp=RXVSX459307
Alternative names:Lexis ; LexisLibrary ; Lexis Library ; Lexis International

Lexis+ includes extensive primary and secondary legal materials from the UK, EU, USA and many other jurisdictions. It is the only online source for the full text of the All England Law Reports and Halsbury’s Laws. International content can be accessed by following the “International” link on the home page. UK legal news and newspapers are also included
Westlaw Edge UK
Alternative name: West Law UK ; Westlaw UK

Westlaw is provided through a generous donation by Weil Gotshal & Manges LLP
Westlaw is a large database of UK, US and international legal materials including cases, legislation and journal articles.
Coverage:
•UK statutes, statutory instruments and law reports
•England and Wales law reports
•US federal and state legislation and law reports
•Australian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Canadian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Hong Kong SAR law reports and laws
•European Union legislation and law reports
•UK and US law journals and texts
•Common Law Library and over 200 books published by Sweet & Maxwell (Thomson Reuters)
Because of licencing restrictions this database is not available to "Walk-in" users of the library.
vLex Justis
Sponsorship: The Bodleian Law Library’s subscription is generously supported by Hogan Lovells. ## This resource requires you to log in with your Oxford SSO again at the homepage.
vLex Justis offers access to a range of law reports, transcripts and legislation from the UK, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, the Caribbean, and the EU. For UK case research it has extensive information relating to where cases have been cited, etc including a precedent map.

In addition it includes the full text of the following: Aspinall's Maritime Law Cases, English Reports, State Trials, CCH Tax Cases, Immigration Appeal Reports, Inquest Law Reports, Mental Health Reports, Session Cases Archive, Irish Reports & Digest, Jersey Law Reports, Bermuda Law Reports, Cayman Islands Law Reports, The Singapore Law Reports, and the International Law Reports. Also included in the service is Justis Human Rights.

To access personalisation features please set up an individual profile on the platform using a unique id and password.

Please note that apart from the titles listed above, vLex Justis includes some abstracted materials for which you will need to refer to other online services or hard copy to obtain the full text.

vLex Justis includes content formerly available via JustisOne.
BAILII
OA source of transcripts (not reports) of the decisions/judgments of courts and tribunals of UK and Irelan
Alternative names: British and Irish Legal Information Institute ; British & Irish Legal Information Institute

Free access to British and Irish judgments. General coverage starts mid 1990s, though earlier key judgments are also included. Bailii also includes a subject arrangement of judgments. The judgments are transcripts and do not include arguments of counsel or headnotes. For a wider selection of Law Reports please see Justis, Lexis or Westlaw.

Case law: online resources for common law countries
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Mar 19, 2024 4449 views this year

Unknown citation? Help to interpret abbreviations

Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
Open access. An online database produced and maintained by Cardiff University. You can search by abbreviation or by title.

Index to legal citations and abbreviations by Raistrick
Call Number: Ref Bibl Cw UK R159c4
ISBN: 0414028511
Publication Date: (4th ed, 2013)

Related guide from Law Bod

Commercial Arbitration
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Apr 11, 2024 656 views this year