The majority of books held by the Bodleian Libraries, in both physical and electronic formats, can be searched via SOLO. On this page you will find recommended books, guidance on how to search for and access print and ebooks, and libraries in the University that might be relevant for your studies and research.
Use the tabs above to understand how the Law Bod's collection is arranged. There is an Enquiry Desk on Level 2, just as you enter the main Reading Room: please do come and have a word if you are having any difficulty in using the library..
The Law Library's collection is fully catalogued on SOLO, Oxford University's online resource discovery tool.
For those wishing to learn more about using searches, we recommend the following:
The Law Bod's print collection is shelved over four floors. An interest in African law may well see you visiting at least three! All the floors are connected by both stairs and a lift. Please feel free to ask a member of staff for directions when you visit the Law Bod, but the following is designed to give you a basic understanding.
Looking for a Reading List title?
If the SOLO result indicates that it is in the Law Reserve Collection it will be on Level 2, the level at which you enter the library. In this collection South African books have a shelf mark beginning KR
Socio-economic rights : adjudication under a transformative constitution by The Law Bod shelves its collection of books on South African law on Level One, one floor below the entrance level.
The shelf mark begins South Africa. There is no further subject arrangement within the collection - the books are arranged by the last name of the author or editor.
The Law of Contract in South Africa by 
Public Interest Litigation in South Africa by On Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library, an area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning General.
This is where you will find comparative studies, and works surveying the response to legal problems in two or more jurisdictions.
Please ask at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2 if you are having difficulty finding your way round our collection.
Constitutionalism of the Global South : the activist tribunals of India, South Africa, and Colombia by 
Copyright Africa : how intellectual property, media and markets transform immaterial cultural goods by On Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library, an area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning Jurisp (short for jurisprudence) where we shelve books on legal philosophy and theory. Within this section the books are arranged by the last name of author or editor.
Please ask at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2 if you are having difficulty finding your way round our collection.
Jurisprudence in an African context by 
A discourse on African philosophy : a new perspective on ubuntu and transitional justice in South Africa by On Level 3, one floor above the entrance level to the Law Library, an area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning Internat (short for public international law). These books are further arranged by topic as described below.
Also on Level 3 is an area of the open shelf collection with books with shelf marks beginning Private Int. (This is short for private international law or conflict of laws as it is sometimes called.) In this section books are simply arranged by the last name of the author or editor, not by topic.
Dugard's International Law : a South African perspective by 
BRICS and International Tax Law by 
Private International Law in South Africa by 
African Perspectives in International Investment Law by 
Making Markets Work for Africa : markets, development, and competition law in Sub-Saharan Africa by The public international law collection on Level 3 is subdivided by broad areas of law. The divisions used are listed alphabetically below, with the corresponding shelf mark alongside. Within each shelf mark the books are next arranged by author/editor.
Air law Internat 640
Atomic energy Internat 600
Dependent states and special regimes Internat 535
Economic law Internat 590
European Court of Human Rights: literature Internat 575
General and theory Internat 500
History Internat 510
Human rights Internat 570
International crimes Internat 580
International relations Internat 660
Jurisdiction of states Internat 560
Law of the sea and waterways Internat 630
Nationality Internat 565
Recognition Internat 545
Servitudes Internat 550
Social legislation and organisation Internat 610
Space law Internat 650
State responsibility Internat 555
State succession Internat 540
The state (as a legal entity) Internat 530
Title to territory Internat 520
Transport and communications (except sea, air and space) Internat 620
Treaties (theory etc.) Internat 670
International organisations History and general Internat 680
General and regional political organisations Internat 681
League of Nations: general Internat 685
League of Nations: publications (series) Internat 686
United Nations: general Internat 687
United Nations: publications (series) Internat 688
Peace and disarmament Internat 700
International disputes and arbitration General and theory Internat 710
Individual arbitration tribunals: literature Internat 740
International courts and tribunals: general Internat 720
Permanent Court of Arbitration: literature Internat 730
Permanent Court of International Justice and the International Court of Justice: literature Internat 725
Termination of war (including specific peace treaties) Internat 760
Print copies of South African Law Reform Commission documents are at S. Africa 510 L415.3a-3c
If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the print or ebook you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).
If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the book you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library loan service.