Oxford LibGuides: South Africa : legal resources: Cases

South African law reports & sources of judgments

Jutastat E-Publications
Alternative names: Juta Law ; Juta Online ; Jutastat

Contains: Juta’s South African Case Law 1838 to date; The South African Law Reports 1947 to date; Statutes and Regulations of South Africa; Juta’s Electronic Law Journals; Botswana Law Reports 1964 - ; Namibian Law Reports 1990 to date; Case Law of Zimbabwe including access to the Zimbabwe Law Reports 1980 - 2000 (2); Tanzania Law 1983 to 1997; Zambia Law Reports from 1963 to 1997.
Lexis+ UK
For online access from a device outside the University network or via eduroam, please follow https://plus.lexis.com/uk/xhome?federationidp=RXVSX459307
Alternative names:Lexis ; LexisLibrary ; Lexis Library ; Lexis International

Lexis+ includes extensive primary and secondary legal materials from the UK, EU, USA and many other jurisdictions. It is the only online source for the full text of the All England Law Reports and Halsbury’s Laws. International content can be accessed by following the “International” link on the home page. UK legal news and newspapers are also included
LLMC-digital
If your research interests are pre 1960s SA & its provinces, this database has an assortment of legislation, law reports (under Judicial) and treatises
Alternative names: LLMC ; Law Library Microfilm Consortium’s Online Service ; LLMC Digital

LLMC-digital is a collection of English language legal titles and government documents divided into ten major jurisdictional or subject areas:
US Federal Government; US States and Territories; Canada; United Kingdom; Germany federal; Germany state, kingdoms and free cities; Other Countries (Afghanistan to Zimbabwe); International Law and Organizations; Indigenous Law covering materials from various regions of the United States, Canada and Indonesia; and Special Focus Collections which includes British Empire Studies, Canon Law, Islamic Law, Military Law, Native American Collection, Roman law, etc.

ConCourt (Constitutional Court of South Africa
The official repository of the Constitutional Court with library of judgments
Supreme Court of Appeal (South Africa) :Judgements 1999 -
Official website.
South African content of SAFLII
Free resource. Databases of case law from: Competition Appeal Court, Competition Tribunal, Constitutional Court, Court of the Commissioner of Patents, Electoral Court, High Courts, Labour Appeal Court, Labour Court, Land Claims Court, Supreme Court of Appeal, Tax Court.

Printed resources

On Level 1 you will find the Bodleian's holdings of the following

South African Law Reports 1947-	SA
Butterworths Constitutional Law Reports 1994-	BCLR
South African law reports. Appellate Division 1910-1946	AD

Citations

Neutral citation

ZACC Constitutional Court of South Africa

ZASC Supreme Court of Appeal of South Africa

ZACAC South African Competition Appeal Court

ZACOMMC South African Commercial Crimes Court

ZAEQC South African Equality Court

Published report series

BCLR _ [Butterworths] Constitutional Law Reports

SA _ South African Law Reports (though you can sometimes encounter SALR.)

SACR _ South African Criminal Law Reports

All SA _ All South African Law Reports

South African citation practice adds the abbreviated name of the court at the end eg (CC) Constitutional Court, (A) Appellate Division, (SCA) Supreme Court of Appeal.

Duhaime's Legal Citations from South Africa
Free resource. List explaining some key abbreviations.

Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
Free resource. Enter an unknown abbreviation to a law report or law journal from your reading list to find out the full title of the report series or journal. Alternatively, search by title of a report series or law journal to find the abbreviation to use in footnotes.
This web-based service allows you to search for the meaning of abbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law. A wide selection of major foreign language law publications is also included. Publications from over 295 jurisdictions are featured in the Index. The database mainly covers law reports and law periodicals, but some legislative publications and major textbooks are also included. The Index is still under development.