Oxford LibGuides: Intellectual Property Law: WIPO/WTO Dispute Resolution

WIPO, WTO and mechanisms for dispute resolution

WIPO is a United Nations agency which was founded in 1967. Its headquarters are in Geneva, Switzerland.

WIPO Intellectual Property Handbook: Policy, Law and Use (2004)
Free download from official website. "This general reference work, published in 2004, covers all aspects of intellectual property (IP), including international treaties and conventions, the administration and enforcement of IP rights and WIPO's work in its Member States. Issues such as electronic commerce, biotechnology, traditional knowledge and management of copyright and related rights are also covered."
WIPO Lex database (formerly CLEA: Collection of laws for electronic access)
Open Access. "The WIPO Lex Database is organized into three collections, consisting of intellectual property (IP) laws and regulations, WIPO-administered treaties and IP‑related treaties, and IP judgments."

more... less...

WIPO Lex resources include

WIPO Treaties: Preparatory Documents and Guides
An online resource comprising the written records generated during the negotiations for the WIPO-administered treaties including the

WIPO Convention
Judicial Administration Structure by Jurisdiction
Overview of civil, criminal and administrative court structures and competences for IP disputes

WIPO Lex supported collections
WIPO Lex SEP Case Law Collection
Litigation surrounding standard essential patents (SEPs) has gradually increased over time and expanded into new jurisdictions. The WIPO Lex SEP Case Law Collection provides access to noteworthy SEP rulings from around the world, enhancing global understanding of judicial approaches to the latest and most complex SEP legal issues.
Hague System legal texts
Access all Hague legal texts, including related Regulations and Administrative Instructions, complete with historical versions.
Madrid System legal texts
Access all Madrid legal instruments, including related regulations and administrative instructions, complete with historical versions.
Traditional knowledge legal texts
Find laws, treaties and regulations on the protection of traditional knowledge (TK), traditional cultural expressions (TCEs) and genetic resources (GRs).
UPOV Lex
UPOV Lex contains the legislation of members of the Union that has been notified in accordance with the UPOV Convention, the UPOV Convention notifications concerning individual members of the Union (e.g. accessions, ratifications) and the text of the UPOV Convention and its Acts
WIPO publications collection: search screen
Open Access. "The WIPO publications collection features a wide range of knowledge products – from annual reports, economic research and statistical analysis to general guides, introductory overviews and practical manuals.
All our publications are open access, free to download, and offered in multiple languages. Search our collection of current titles here.

Research handbook on the World Intellectual Property Organization by edited by Sam Ricketson
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link

ISBN: 9781788977678

Publication Date: 2020

WIPO: Alternative Dispute Resolution
Part of official website "The WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center is a neutral, international and non-profit dispute resolution provider that offers time- and cost-efficient alternative dispute resolution (ADR) options. WIPO mediation, arbitration, expedited arbitration, and expert determination enable private parties to efficiently settle their domestic or cross-border IP and technology disputes out of court. The WIPO Center is also the global leader in the provision of domain name dispute resolution services under the WIPO-designed UDRP."
WIPO: Domain Name Dispute Resolution
Section of official website
WIPO Mediation, Arbitration, Expedited Arbitration and Expert Determination Rules and Clauses
Brochure available as free pdf download from official website.

Guide to WIPO Arbitration. by Staff, WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center
Call Number: Open access title available to download via title link

ISBN: 9789280531992

Publication Date: 2020
WIPO Mediation, Arbitration and Expedited Arbitration Rules and Clauses. by WIPO Staff
Call Number: Open access title available to download via title link

ISBN: 9789280534016

Publication Date: 2021

The World Trade Organization: a Very Short Introduction by Amrita Narlikar
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this book online via title link

ISBN: 9780192806086

Publication Date: 2005

Print copy in the Bodleian Social Science Library HF1385.NAR 2005 if preferred.

WTO's official website
"The World Trade Organization (WTO) is the only global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations. At its heart are the WTO agreements, negotiated and signed by the bulk of the world’s trading nations and ratified in their parliaments. The goal is to ensure that trade flows as smoothly, predictably and freely as possible."
WTO's Legal Texts
"the body of WTO agreements that collectively form the legal framework of the WTO."
WTO's Documents and Resources
Section of official WTO website which provides "access to the official documents of the WTO's councils and committees as well as to a range of other resources, such as trade statistics, economic research, WTO publications, videos, audio and photos. ..."

WTO Dispute Settlement: Find the Dispute
Section of official WTO website "This page is designed to help you find and follow disputes meeting criteria that you specify. Use one or more of the drop-down menus below to specify search criteria, then click “search”. You will be presented with a list of disputes matching your criteria.
You can then create email alerts to notify you when new documents are circulated for these disputes.

You can also save your search. It will then appear in myWTO disputes, where you can view the search results, or edit or delete the search"
WTO Negotiations to improve dispute settlement procedures
Official website.
WTO: Chronological list of disputes cases
Official website.

WTO dispute settlement system : one-page case summaries are on the Ground Floor in Official Papers at O.WTO/+year published eg O.WTO/2012(2)

The WTO Dispute Settlement Procedures : a collection of the relevant legal texts by WTO Secretariat Staff
Call Number: Internat 590 W927.3e3

ISBN: 1107027993

Publication Date: 3rd edn 2012
Dispute Settlement in the World Trade Organization by N. David Palmeter; Petros C. Mavroidis; Niall Meagher
Call Number: Internat 590 P178.5a3

ISBN: 9781108820912

Publication Date: 3rd edn, 2022
WTO Dispute Settlement and the TRIPS Agreement by Matthew Kennedy
Call Number: Internat 590 K36.2a

ISBN: 9781107144682

Publication Date: 2016

Related Bodleian guide

Arbitration
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Jun 6, 2025 678 views this year
Trade law
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Jun 6, 2025 199 views this year