Intellectual Property Law: Books

When you are studying English intellectual property law, most of the books of interest to you will be shelved on Level 2, the entrance level to the Law Bod.

Looking for a Reading List title?

When you search SOLO for books on your Oxford Law Faculty Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. Books in the Law Reserve collection must be asked for at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2. Please remember to bring your Oxford University Card or your Bodleian Reader's Card when you come to the Desk, as these titles are issued to you for use in the Library. You can keep reading them for the rest of day if you like - but we do ask that you return them to the Enquiry Desk as soon as possible after you have finished consulting them.

Note.  The books in the Reserve Collection are available to all categories of readers, not just those on the particular course.

An example of a Reading List title held in the Reserve collection is:

Halsbury's Laws is an authoritative encyclopaedia of law in the England and Wales. The main subject volumes will give you a concise overview of the law, while the footnotes will direct you to the most important cases, legislation and commentary in that area. The print volumes are at KZ1 in the main Reading Room. Use the Cumulative Supplement to check for any new developments in the law since the volume was printed. Holders of an Oxford SSO can access Halsbury's Laws electronically via Lexis + UK.

The open shelf collection, also on Level 2, is arranged by subject matter. The broadest categories are as follows:

KN 111 Intellectual Property: comprehensive, chapters on all related rights
KN 112 Copyright
KN 113 Moral Rights
KN 114 Industrial Property
KN 115 Exclusive Rights
KN 116 Infringement
KN 117 Remedies
KN 118 Permitted Acts

The Law Library divides its current collections for jurisdictions across 3 levels. Each of these floors is connected by both stairs and a lift. There is also reader spaces on each floor, but we are happy for you to take books from one floor to another.

Level 2
This is the entrance level to the library. KN has the books relating to the law of our home jurisdiction (UK/England and Wales), other parts of the British Isles and Australia, Canada, Ireland, NZ and the USA. The broad subject division is as follows:

KN 111 Intellectual Property: comprehensive, chapters on all related rights
KN 112 Copyright
KN 113 Moral Rights
KN 114 Industrial Property
KN 115 Exclusive Rights
KN 116 Infringement
KN 117 Remedies
KN 118 Permitted Acts

In the Law Bod, books on the law of England & Wales/UK are shelved first - with shelf marks made up of a subject indicator, followed by author/editor and publication date elements.

The titles on the law in certain other Anglo-American legal tradition jurisdictions are shelved next (country by country). In the majority of cases, their shelf marks have a distinguishing feature: the third line is either a familiar abbreviation of the country name (eg AUS), or a combination of Capital Letter Number (eg A8) - as shown in table below. 

A8 or AUS    Australia
C1 or CAN    Canada
G8 or GUE    Guernsey
I5 or IRL    Ireland
I7 or IOM    Isle of Man
J2 or JER    Jersey
N4 or NZL    New Zealand
N8 or NIR    Northern Ireland
S3 or SCT    Scotland
U4 or USA    United States
W1 or WLS    Wales

Level 3

This is one floor above the entrance level to the library. Here you willl find the collection for the individual European jurisdictions as well as Euroepean Union law. There is no subject division within these collections.

Level 1 
This is one floor below the entrance level to the library. Here the remaining jurisdictions are arranged, alphabetically by the English name of the nation. This is where to find, for example, China, India, South Africa etc. There is no subject division within the books for each jurisdiction.

On Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library, an area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning General. 
This is where you will find comparative studies, and works surveying the response to legal problems in two or more jurisdictions. 

If all the countries being compared are (or were) members of the Commonwealth, the book should have a shelf mark beginning Cw Gen. This collection is also on Level 2, but separate from General.

Please ask at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2 if you are having difficulty finding your way round our collection.

Looking for a Reading List title?

When you search SOLO for books on your Oxford Law Faculty Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. Books in the Law Reserve collection must be asked for at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2. Please remember to bring your Oxford University Card or your Bodleian Reader's Card when you come to the Desk.
European law books in the Reserve Collection have shelf marks beginning KW.
Note.  The books in the Reserve Collection are available to all categories of readers, not just those on the particular course. 

The current collection of books on European Union law is shelved on Level 3, one floor above the level at which you enter the library. The floor is accessible via either stairs or the lift.

The books have shelf marks beginning Euro Comm. There is is no subject classification within the collection, the books being arranged alphabetically by the first names author/editor/

The principal collection of legal philosophy/jurisprudence books are also shelved on  Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library.  An area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning Jurisp.  Within this section the books are arranged by the last name of author or editor.

Looking for a Reading List title?

When you search SOLO for books on your Oxford Law Faculty Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. Books in the Law Reserve collection must be asked for at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2. Please remember to bring your Oxford University Card or your Bodleian Reader's Card when you come to the Desk.
International law books in the Reserve Collection have shelf marks beginning KC.
Note.  The books in the Reserve Collection are available to all categories of readers, not just those on the particular course.

The main collection of public  & private international law books are on Level 3 one floor above the entrance level to the library.This floor is accessed by both stairs and a public lift.  There is reader seating on this floor, and a PCAS machine. 

Public international law books have shelf marks beginning Internat
Private international law/conflict of law books have sbelf marks beginning Private Int

The OIPRC (Oxford Intellectual Property Research Centre) was established at St Peter's College in 1990 by Professor Peter Hayward, Emeritus Fellow at St Peter's College and first Director of the Centre. In 1998, he retired and was succeeded by Professor David Vaver. It became a Centre of the Faculty of Law in 2008.

For current information about it, please use the link below

The OIPRC IP Library (formerly in St Pater's College)

The OIPRC IP library, a collection of journals, monographs and offprints on intellectual property law, came to the Law Library in 2008 from St Peter's College. Selected titles have been moved into the Law Library's rolling cases on the Ground Floor, next to the Official Papers collection.

 As it is separate from the rest of the Law Library collections, it has a different type of shelfmark. If you come across a record on SOLO that looks like this:

LawLib LAW OIPRC    100 AGR   In place

...this is an IP collection shelfmark. The OIPRC periodicals do not have shelfmarks, but you can identify them by the phrase 'LAW OIPRC' in the location field. They are arranged in alphabetical order by title in the rolling cases.