Oxford LibGuides: War, weapons & victims : legal responses: Children &amp; war

Commentary on child soldiers

Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law (MPEIL)
MPEPIL includes entry Children and Armed Conflic by Roberta Arnold (2006)
Alternative names: Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL) ; Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law (MPEiPro)

The Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law combines the fully updated online edition of the Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL) (originally published in print between 1991 and 2001) with the Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law (MPEiPro) which has been published (online only) since September 2019. The peer-reviewed articles in both works are updated and added to monthly.

Suggested subject searches to use in SOLO to find books

Child soldiers - Legal status , laws, etc;
Child soldiers (International law);

War victims -- Legal status, laws, etc;
Children (International law);

International Law and Child Soldiers by C. A. Waschefort; Gus Waschefort
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link.
ISBN: 1849465207
Publication Date: 2015
Print copy is at Internat 570 W312.5a
Reimagining Child Soldiers in International Law and Policy by Mark A. Drumbl
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link
ISBN: 0199592659
Publication Date: 2012
Print copy at Internat 570 D795.5a Another copy in SSL

Children caught in War

UN Convention of the Rights of the Child articles 38 Children in Armed Conflicts & 39 Rehabilitation of Victims

Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court “the conscripting or enlisting children under the age of 15 years or using them to participate actively in hostilities in both international and non-international armed conflicts.”

Optional Protocol to the Convention on the Rights of the Child on the involvement of children in armed conflict
Link to the Status page on the official UN Treaty websitel. As well as full text, provides full details of participants, and text of any reservations
more...less...
Holders of an Oxford SSO can also access 2173 UNTS 222
Rule 137. Children must not be allowed to take part in hostilities.
International Committee of the Red Cross maintains database of International Humanitarian Customary Law which has commentary and links to related treaties.
Practice Relating to Rule 137. Participation of Child Soldiers in Hostilities
International Committee of the Red Cross maintains database of International Humanitarian Customary Law which has commentary and links to related treaties.
UN Special Representative of the Secretary-General for Children and Armed Conflict
Official website After the 1996 report by Ms. Graça Machel, “Impact of Armed Conflict on Children” the General Assembly (A/RES/51/77) established the mandate of the Special Representative of the Secretary-General for Children and Armed Conflict for a period of three years. The Assembly has since extended this mandate five times.
The Children and Armed Conflict Unit
Free Resource. This is a joint project of the Coram Children's legal centre and the Human Rights centre at the University of Essex. The units work is diercted at reforming and establishing child protection systems to ensure that states systems are compliant with international standards. The website provides country specific information on current and past conflicts, international law documentation and links to further sites related to child soldiers and children in armed conflict.
Human Rights Watch
A nonprofit registered in the USA makes its reports and publications available Open Access Use eg Country or Topic filter, or the search function