Oxford LibGuides: Company law: Legislation &amp; cases

Finding related legislation and case law

For holders of an Oxford SSO

Lexis+ UK
For online access from a device outside the University network or via eduroam, please follow https://plus.lexis.com/uk/xhome?federationidp=RXVSX459307
Alternative names:Lexis ; LexisLibrary ; Lexis Library ; Lexis International

Lexis+ includes extensive primary and secondary legal materials from the UK, EU, USA and many other jurisdictions. It is the only online source for the full text of the All England Law Reports and Halsbury’s Laws. International content can be accessed by following the “International” link on the home page. UK legal news and newspapers are also included
Westlaw Edge UK
Alternative name: West Law UK ; Westlaw UK

Westlaw is a large database of UK, US and international legal materials including cases, legislation and journal articles.
Coverage:
•UK statutes, statutory instruments and law reports
•England and Wales law reports
•US federal and state legislation and law reports
•Australian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Canadian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Hong Kong SAR law reports and laws
•European Union legislation and law reports
•UK and US law journals and texts
•Common Law Library and over 200 books published by Sweet & Maxwell (Thomson Reuters)
Because of licencing restrictions this database is not available to "Walk-in" users of the library.

Online source available to all with access to the internet

Legislation.gov.uk
Open access. Official site Use the drop down menu TYPE to limit search to public general acts or statutory instruments or browse by year etc. Excellent for original, historic version (text of act as originally promulgated) and Explanatory Notes for more recent legislation. Pay attention to the current status which is given for each act. More has further details of coverage
more...less...
All primary legislation from 1988
All secondary legislation from 1987, including UK Statutory Instruments, Scottish Statutory Instruments and Northern Ireland Statutory Rules. In addition we hold a selection of secondary legislation from 1948-1986, and selected pre-1948 Statutory Rules and Orders
Legislation originating from the EU as set out in Schedule 5 to the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018 (c. 16) along with corrigenda (correction slips for EU legislation) and EU Directives published up to the end of the EU Exit Implementation Period at 11:00 p.m. on 31 December 2020 ("IP completion day").
Most types of primary legislation (e.g. Acts, Measures, N.I. Orders in Council) are held in 'revised' form, as well as selected secondary legislation, and legislation originating from the EU:

Public General Acts of the United Kingdom Parliament (1801 to date)
Acts of the Parliament of Great Britain (1707 – 1800)
Acts of the English Parliament (1267 – 1706)
Acts of the Old Scottish Parliament (1424 – 1707)
Acts of the Scottish Parliament (1999 to date)
Acts of Senedd Cyrmu (2020 to date)
Acts of the National Assembly for Wales (2012 to 2020)
Measures of the National Assembly for Wales (2008 – 2011)
Acts of the Irish Parliament (1495 – 1800)
Acts of the Parliament of Northern Ireland (1921 – 1972)
Measures of the Northern Ireland Assembly (1974)
Orders in Council made under the Northern Ireland Acts (1972 to date) (effectively the primary legislation for Northern Ireland under direct rule, though in the form of Statutory Instruments)
Acts of the Northern Ireland Assembly (2000 – 2002 and 2007 to date)
Church of England Measures (1920 to date)
UK Statutory Instruments (2018 to date)
Scottish Statutory Instruments (2018 to date)
Welsh Statutory Instruments (2018 to date)
Statutory Rules of Northern Ireland (2018 to date)
European Regulations (1958 to 31 December 2020)
European Decisions (1953 to 31 December 2020)
European Directives (1959 to 31 December 2020)

How to find UK legislation in print

Need to find key legislation?

Consult the relevant volumes Halsbury’s Statutes service shelved on Level 2 at KZ 2. (It uses the same subject headings as Halsbury’s Laws)
If you need to know the subsequent history of the act - eg if, when and how it may have had sections amended or repealed, turn to Halsbury's Statutes Citator which provides a comprehensive list of amendments to all statutes which have been considered in Halsbury's Statutes since 1929. Amendments are noted to provision level, with any general notes relating to the Act as a whole appearing as the first note.
This service also has an Is it in force? volume - a quick and easy-to-use reference tool providing the information you need to establish the exact commencement dates of Acts of general application in England, Wales and Scotland and General Synod Measures passed since 1960.

Current Law Statutes Annotated is at KZ 5. The related CL Legislation Citator is at KZ 6.

For holders of an Oxford SSO

Lexis+ UK
For online access from a device outside the University network or via eduroam, please follow https://plus.lexis.com/uk/xhome?federationidp=RXVSX459307
Alternative names:Lexis ; LexisLibrary ; Lexis Library ; Lexis International

Lexis+ includes extensive primary and secondary legal materials from the UK, EU, USA and many other jurisdictions. It is the only online source for the full text of the All England Law Reports and Halsbury’s Laws. International content can be accessed by following the “International” link on the home page. UK legal news and newspapers are also included
Westlaw Edge UK
Alternative name: West Law UK ; Westlaw UK

Westlaw is a large database of UK, US and international legal materials including cases, legislation and journal articles.
Coverage:
•UK statutes, statutory instruments and law reports
•England and Wales law reports
•US federal and state legislation and law reports
•Australian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Canadian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Hong Kong SAR law reports and laws
•European Union legislation and law reports
•UK and US law journals and texts
•Common Law Library and over 200 books published by Sweet & Maxwell (Thomson Reuters)
Because of licencing restrictions this database is not available to "Walk-in" users of the library.
i-Law
This resource requires you to register before use. The only way to read Lloyd's Law Reports and Lloyds Maritime and Commercial Law Quarterly online
Alternative name: I Law
Access Lloyd’s Law Reports; Lloyd’s Maritime & Commercial Law Quarterly; and Dispute Resolution service including Briggs’ Civil Jurisdiction.

Register for access using your Oxford email address. From the i-Law home page, select "Login" and then "Register here".

Access is restricted to 5 concurrent users so please log off at the end of your session.

Reliable online sources for transcripts of judgments available to all with access to the internet

Find Case Law - Judgments and decisions from 2003 onwards
Free access to judgments and decisions of United Kingdom courts and tribunals. As of June 2023 coverage is of decisions from the superior courts of record – the Supreme Court, the Court of Appeal, the High Court, and the Upper Tribunals – and from 2003 onwards. The decisions are provided in the form of transcripts of judgments only: they do not include arguments of counsel nor headnotes. Holders of an Oxford SSO are reminded that Westlaw Edge UK, Lexis + UK and i-law are the subscription databases which provide them with published reports of UK judgments.
BAILII
Alternative names: British and Irish Legal Information Institute ; British & Irish Legal Information Institute

Free access to British and Irish judgments. General coverage starts mid 1990s, though earlier key judgments are also included. Bailii also includes a subject arrangement of judgments. The judgments are transcripts and do not include arguments of counsel or headnotes. For a wider selection of Law Reports please see Justis, Lexis or Westlaw.

UK Supreme Court: Latest Judgments
You can set up an RSS feed from this site

The LawBod's Search our Law Reports & Journals tool will direct you to the LawBod's print holdings by report title and -when this exists- a link to where holders of an Oxford SSO have online access.

Looking for leading cases? In addition to searches within subscription database don't forget the old print service called
The Digest : annotated British, Commonwealth and European cases
It is shelved on Floor 2 at KZ 4. This service uses the same subject headings as Halsbury’s Laws

All ER Comm	Cw UK 120 A11c
British Company Law Cases/British Company Cases	Cw UK 120 B42
Business law reports	Cw UK 120 L135
Note the similarly named Business law reports (Canada)	Cw Can 100 B70 on level 1
Butterworths Company law cases	Cw UK 120 B58
Commercial law cases.	Cw UK 120 C15
Lloyds law reports	Cw UK 120 L185
Reports of commercial cases	Cw UK 120 C30
The Times law reports and commercial cases	Cw UK 120 T30
The Times law reports	Cw UK 120 T35

Legislation
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Oct 7, 2024 2767 views this year

Codes
ECGI makes available "the full texts of corporate governance codes, principles of corporate governance and corporate governance reforms both in Europe and elsewhere. All contributions are acknowledged and credited. It should be noted that the ECGI does not hold the copyright, nor can we guarantee the accuracy or completeness of this information."
Business Enabling Environment (BEE) (World Bank)
Open Access The website of the internded successor project to Doing Business (World Bank 2002-2021)
Doing Business Legacy (World Bank)
In September 2021, World Bank Group management decided to discontinue the Doing Business report. However, the Doing Business website continues to be publicly available as an archive of knowledge and data from 2002 to 2021
more...less...
"Launched in 2002, the Doing Business project provided objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement. The project looked at domestic small and medium-size companies and measured the rules affecting them throughout their lifecycles."

Bodleian Law Library guides to jurisdictions
The Law Bod's guides to both online and print resources for national constitutions, legislation, and case law as well as commentary on the legal systems and their law in books and journals

Institute of Directors (IoD)

IoD proposed new Code of Conduct for Directors (2024)
The proposed Code of Conduct was developed for the IoD by a Commission chaired by Lord McNicol of West Kilbride, and was published with the support of BDO.
IoD: Resources
Open access.
"The knowledge hub for Directors, Founders and business leaders
Whether you’re an experienced director or business leader or starting out, we can help. Browse our business resources for the information, advice and support you need to lead your organisation. Membership of the Institute of Directors gives you unlimited access to our extensive collection of factsheets blogs, podcasts, webinars and more."