Oxford LibGuides: Company law: Finance

Corporate Finance

Finding commentary in the Bod
Useful online sites

Looking for a Reading List title?

When you search SOLO for books on your Oxford Law Faculty Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. Books in this collection must be asked for at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2. Please remember to bring your Oxford University Card or your Bodleian Reader's Card when you come to the Desk.
Note. The books in the Reserve Collection are available to all categories of readers, not just those on the particular course.

Corporate Finance Law by Louise Gullifer; Jennifer Payne
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this via title link
ISBN: 1509929177
Publication Date: 3rd edn 2020
Print copy is in Law Reserve Collection at KN250.GUL 2020

Subject search strings to try in SOLO:

Asset-backed financing -- Law and legislation -- + jurisdiction
Commercial loans -- Law and legislation --  + jurisdiction
Corporations -- Finance -- Law and legislation -- + jurisdiction
Corporate debt -- Law and legislation + jurisdiction
Corporations -- Investor relations
Mortgage-backed securities --  + jurisdiction
Securities --  + jurisdiction
Securities industry -- Law and legislation -- + jurisdiction
Stockholders -- Legal status, laws, etc -- + jurisdiction

Westlaw books
Requires Oxford SSO. Titles include Palmer's Company Law; Insolvency Litigation: A Practical Guide; Pilkington on Creditor Schemes of Arrangement and Restructuring Plans;
A searchable database of over 300 books published by Sweet & Maxwell (Thomson Reuters).

Principles of Corporate Finance Law by Eilís Ferran; Elizabeth Howell; Felix Steffek
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this via title link
ISBN: 9780198854074
Publication Date: 2023
Print copy KN250.FER 2023
Restructuring Plans, Creditor Schemes, and Other Restructuring Tools by Geoff O'Dea (Editor)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this via title link
ISBN: 9780198844747
Publication Date: 2022-06-22
Print copy is at KN312.7.ODE 2022

Secured Transactions Law Reform Project
Official website of Project "established under the Executive Directorship of Professor Sir Roy Goode in order to involve interested parties from the professions and the relevant sectors of finance, commerce and industry as participants in the work of considering the effectiveness of the current law, and the ways in which it can be improved. It is guided by a Steering Committee originally chaired by the late Lord Bingham of Cornhill, and now by Lord Saville of Newdigate. Professor Goode has now retired as Executive Director and has been succeeded by Professor Louise Gullifer."
The Independent Commission on Banking Final Report (Vickers Report)
Open Access. Quick link to download the pdf of the Final Report from official government website.
The Independent Commission on Banking Final Report (Vickers Report) Summary
Open Access. House of Commons' Library Research briefing with link to full text. On 16 June 2010, the Chancellor of the Exchequer announced the creation of the Independent Commission on Banking, chaired by Sir John Vickers.
The Commission published its Final Report on 12 September 2011.
Bank of England: Prudential Regulation Authority (PRA)
Official website The PRA is a part of the Bank of England and responsible for the prudential regulation and supervision of banks, building societies, credit unions, insurers and major investment firms. It sets standards and supervises financial institutions at the level of the individual firm.
Financial Reporting Council
Official website. UK’s independent regulator responsible for promoting high quality corporate governance and reporting Website includes library of Publications available to download.
Financial Conduct Authority (FCA)
Official website. Work and purpose is defined by Financial Services and Markets Act 2000 (FSMA) The FCA regulate the financial services industry in the UK. Their aim is to protect consumers, ensure the industry remains stable and promote healthy competition between financial services providers.
Financial Services Authority
The National Archives have archived sections of the website http://www.fsa.gov.uk/

Topics

Finance
Insolvency
Policy & Reform in England
History of Company Law
This is a page on the Legal History online guide

Inter-library loans

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the book you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library loan service.

Inter-library Loans Service Online Form
Use this form to request material not held by the Bodleian Libraries. Please check Oxford collections on SOLO and ensure that the item is not in stock, either in print or electronically.

Recommend a book

If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the print or ebook you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).

Recommend a purchase