Oxford LibGuides: Company law: Policy &amp; reform

Background

Cork Report
Remote access requires Oxford SSO Insolvency law and practice : report of the Review Committee /Chairman: Sir Kenneth Cork( Cmnd 8558, June 1982)
more...less...
Print copy is in Official Papers on Ground Floor of Law at O.Pp. Eng. (Cmnd 8558 1981-82)
Insolvency White Paper (1984)
Remote access requires Oxford SSO. In full A Revised Framework for Insolvency Law, Cmnd 9175 (1984)
more...less...
print copy is in Official Papers on Ground Floor of Law Bod at O.Pp Eng (1983/84 Cmnd.9175)

U.K. Parliamentary Papers (ProQuest)
Alternative names: HCCP ; House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (ProQuest) ; UK Parliamentary Papers ; UKPP

With all collections enabled, HCPP now includes over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. HCPP delivers page images and searchable full text for each paper, along with detailed indexing.
We have access to the following collections:
* 18th century (1688-1834)
* 19th century (1801-1900)
* 20th century (1901-2003/04 session)
* Hansard 1803-2005 the official record of the debates in the House of Lords and Commons.
Both Houses of Parliament, the Commons and the Lords, produce parliamentary papers. Although HCPP is a collection of Commons papers, some from the Lords are also included. This is because the Lords often presented papers to the Commons, such as reports prepared by Lords Select Committees. These reports were then included in the House of Commons Papers, and therefore appear in HCPP.

Physical copies of key material

Cadbury Committee Report in full Report of the Committee on the Financial Aspects of Corporate Governance (1992) KN255.COM 1992 (Includes the Code of Best Practice).

Greenbury Committee in full Report Study Group on Directors' Remuneration Directors' remuneration : report of a study group chaired by
Sir Richard Greenbury17 July 1995 Bookstack M96.E11610 Order via ASR

Hampel Report in full Committee on Corporate Governance : final report. (1998) Bookstack M99.E03004 Order via ASR

Higgs' Review in full Review of the role and effectiveness of non-executive directors (2003) Official Papers on Ground Floor of Law Bod at O.GB/T.3c/2003(5)

CLR Final Report in full Modern company law for a competitive economy : final report of the Company Law Review Steering Group KN261.TRA

Law reform

Company Security Interests (LC296)
Free resource. Report and background papers made available on official website of the Law Commission (England & Wales)
Law Commission (England & Wales)
Official website of the statutory independent body created by the Law Commissions Act 1965 to keep the law under review and to recommend reform where it is needed. Its reports and consultation papers are made freely available.
BIS's Archived Documents: Company Law Review
Maintained by Department for Business Innovation and Skills.Background to the 2006 Companies Act
Take Over Panel's 2010 review of certain aspects of the regulation of takeovers
Free pdf download from official website
The Independent Commission on Banking Final Report (Vickers Report) Summary
Open Access. House of Commons' Library Research briefing with link to full text. On 16 June 2010, the Chancellor of the Exchequer announced the creation of the Independent Commission on Banking, chaired by Sir John Vickers.
The Commission published its Final Report on 12 September 2011.