Oxford LibGuides: Korean Studies: Home

Finding books for Korean Studies

Oxford has a wide range of ebooks for Korean Studies and printed books, including the main science collection in the Korean Studies Library in the Nizami Ganjavi Library. For more detailed info about our book collections visit our books page of this guide.

SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ebooks at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.
SOLO user guide
If you need help with SOLO, take a look at this guide for tips on searching, managing results and using your SOLO account.

Key journals

A lot of journals, as well as being available in print, are available online and can be searched via SOLO. Below are a few of the top journals for Korean Studies but you can find a longer list on the journals page of this guide.

Dbpia
The integrated database includes 1,996 of Korean scholarly journals with about 2 million articles in full text.Journal titles are divided into eleven topical categories: society, literature, economics and business, medical science, humanities, theology, law and administration, arts, engineering, natural science, and education.
KRpia
The Korean language database covers 600 publications in such fields as literature, economics, business, theology, law, administration, arts, engineering and natural science.It is a primary source reference database divided into ten topics and one hundred forty subcategories and includes special dictionaries, archival and historical resources, biographical sources, and other reference materials related to Korean history, literature, civilization and medicine.

KISS (Korean Studies Information Service System)
Alternative names: 하 Korean Studies Information Service System, KISS ; Knowledge Information Service System kiss 한국학술정보

Full-text Database of Korean Studies Information (KSI) of over 5000 Korean academic journals, covering a wide range of subjects in the arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences, engineering and medicine
Chosun Ilbo Archive (1920- )
One of the major newspapers in South Korea, available in PDF format.
- Coverage: from 1920.02.17 (the first issue) to current issue
- Chosun Ilbo which came out today is also available on the same day (updated after 6 pm)
- Search by keyword, journalist, date, section, etc.
- More than 3.9 million articles

SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ebooks at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.

Key databases

Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more. You can find some of the key databases for Korean Studies below, but take a look at the databases page of this guide for more titles.

NK Pro
NK Pro is an independent news, information and data platform that concentrates uniquely on North Korea. NK Pro features daily news, high level analysis, opinions and interviews from a range of scholars, diplomats, experts and North Korean defectors. NK Pro also contains a suite of unique research tools and proprietary databases that allow users to access information on the DPRK, reduce research time and expand their knowledge of the country's historical and current affairs

Databases A-Z
A full, browsable list of Oxford's online bibliographic databases.
SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ebooks at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.

Free online resources

Take a look at the Free Online Resources page for links to useful websites in the subject Korean Studies.

Librarian

Boya Zhang

Related guides

Chinese Studies

Key libraries

Nizami Ganjavi Library (Bodleian Libraries)
The Korean Studies Library is held in the Nizami Ganjavi Library.

Korean Studies: Home

Purpose of this guide