History collections on open-shelves in the Old Bodleian, Radcliffe Camera and Weston Library: Overview & Contact

Some key sources:
Calendar of Border Papers (1560 – 1603)
Calendar of Home Office Papers of the Reign of George III (1760 – 1775)
Calendar of State Papers relating to Scotland and Mary Queen of Scots (1547 - 1597)
Calendar of Treasury Papers (1696 - 1728) & Books (1729-1745)
Pitcairn's Criminal Trials in Scotland (1488 - 1624)
Register of the Privy Council of Scotland
Register of the Privy Seal of Scotland (1488 - 1574)

EEBO draws from four authoritative bibliographical resources – both Pollard & Redgrave’s Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing’s Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) in their revised versions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) and the Early English Books Tract Supplement – to present more than 146,000 titles and over 17 million scanned pages of content.
Transcriptions are added to approximately 50% of the texts featured. EEBO covers more than 30 languages, ranging from Algonquin to Welsh, and incorporates variant editions and multiple copies.

The university has access to collections 1-4.
Collection 1 offers access to over 2,600 largely pre-1601 works held in Det Kongelige Bibliotek (Royal Library, Copenhagen). Selection of works is based on L. Nielsen's Dansk Bibliografi 1482–1600 and its supplement (1919–1996). All of the Royal Library's Danish and Icelandic imprints produced in the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries fall within its scope.
Collection 2 contains early printed volumes from the Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di Firenze (BNCF) (Florence, Italy), and covers specifically Nencini Aldine Collection, Marginalia, Incunabula and Sacred Representations (sacre rappresentazioni, popular verse plays depicting Biblical scenes).
Collection 3 and 4 contains works from 5 different libraries: BNCF, Koninklijke Bibliotheek (Den Haag, Netherlands), The Wellcome Library (London, UK), Det Kongelige Bibliotek (Copenhagen, Denmark), Bibliothèque nationale de France (Paris, France).

The papers are digitised images and are accompanied by the Calendars. The Calendars State Papers are fully searchable, and each Calendar entry has been linked directly to its related State Paper. Among the Calendars included are the HMC Calendars and the Haynes/Murdin transcriptions of the Cecil Papers in Hatfield House.

ECCO is a digitization of the eighteenth-century section of the works catalogued in the English Short-title Catalogue (ESTC). The ESTC project has been recording all works published or printed in Britain, Ireland, territories under British colonial rule, and the United States. It also catalogues material printed elsewhere which contains significant text in English, Welsh, Irish or Gaelic, as well as any book falsely claiming to have been printed in Britain or its territories.
The works themselves include multi-volume encyclopaedias, dictionaries, law books, histories, poetry, novels, plays, biographies, works of science, philosophy, theology, religious books, tracts and sermons, royal, government or local proclamations, letters, journals and diaries, almanacks, acts of parliament, works on art and architecture, auction catalogues, music, petitions and schoolbooks.

Part I includes, amongst other things, early tabloids like the Illustrated Police News, radical papers like the Chartist Northern Star, the Morning Chronicle newspaper, the Graphic, publishing both illustrations and news as well as illustrated fiction, and the Examiner, the radical reformist and leading intellectual journal. Part II covers regional papers for a number of significant towns and regions, including Nottingham, Bradford, Leicester, Sheffield, and York, as well as North Wales. The addition of two major London newspapers, The Standard and the Morning Post, helps capture conservative opinion in the nineteenth century.

We have access to the following collections:
* 18th century (1688-1834)
* 19th century (1801-1900)
* 20th century (1901-2003/04 session)
* Hansard 1803-2005 the official record of the debates in the House of Lords and Commons.

Both Houses of Parliament, the Commons and the Lords, produce parliamentary papers. Although HCPP is a collection of Commons papers, some from the Lords are also included. This is because the Lords often presented papers to the Commons, such as reports prepared by Lords Select Committees. These reports were then included in the House of Commons Papers, and therefore appear in HCPP.

In order to access ODNB, please follow the link above. If you are accessing remotely, you may be prompted to enter your SSO credentials. You will then be taken to the ODNB homepage, and you should see a message “University of Oxford” displayed above the login box. At this point you will have gained access to full text articles, and there is no need to log in on the ODNB homepage. In order to access the articles from the search results, you will need to click on their titles. If you still have experienced problems with ODNB, please clear your cache and cookies, as previous unsuccessful login attempts may be interfering with the current session, and then follow the above instructions again. The recent issues with ODNB's new interface have been flagged with the OUP.