The majority of books held by the Bodleian Libraries, in both physical and electronic formats, can be searched via SOLO. On this page you will find recommended books, guidance on how to search for and access print and ebooks, and libraries in the University that might be relevant for your studies and research.
Use the tabs above to explore the key texts and libraries for students of education and applied linguistics. Access to collections and borrowing privileges are subject to conditions; please check the Bodleian Libraries website for further information.
For those wishing to learn more about searching for physical collections in Oxford, we recommend the guide below.
SOLO searches can be limited to the Education Library (choose Education Library from the dropdown menu next to the search box). However, only do this if you only want to know what is physically on the shelves in our library. Otherwise, it is best to see all the books available to you and to ensure you see all the ebooks too.
Although the Bodleian Education Library is likely to be your first choice for books on Education, you may also find some of Oxford's other library collections useful.
You can also request books from the Offsite Storage to be delivered to the Education Library for you to read. Usually these books are for use in library only (not to take home).
Below you will find just a couple of the key texts for education. The links will take you through to SOLO where you can find out how to access the books.
Introduction to Research Methods in Education (2nd edition) by 
International Handbook of Philosophy of Education by
This handbook presents a comprehensive introduction to the core areas of philosophy of education combined with an up-to-date selection of the central themes. It includes 95 newly commissioned articles that focus on and advance key arguments; each essay incorporates essential background material serving to clarify the history and logic of the relevant topic, examining the status quo of the discipline with respect to the topic, and discussing the possible futures of the field. The book provides a state-of-the-art overview of philosophy of education, covering a range of topics: Voices from the present and the past deals with 36 major figures that philosophers of education rely on; Schools of thought addresses 14 stances including Eastern, Indigenous, and African philosophies of education as well as religiously inspired philosophies of education such as Jewish and Islamic; Revisiting enduring educational debates scrutinizes 25 issues heavily debated in the past andthe present, for example care and justice, democracy, and the curriculum; New areas and developments addresses 17 emerging issues that have garnered considerable attention like neuroscience, videogames, and radicalization. The collection is relevant for lecturers teaching undergraduate and graduate courses in philosophy of education as well as for colleagues in teacher training. Moreover, it helps junior researchers in philosophy of education to situate the problems they are addressing within the wider field of philosophy of education and offers a valuable update for experienced scholars dealing with issues in the sub-discipline. Combined with different conceptions of the purpose of philosophy, it discusses various aspects, using diverse perspectives to do so. Contributing Editors:Section 1: Voices from the Present and the Past: Nuraan DavidsSection 2: Schools of Thought: Christiane Thompson and Joris VliegheSection 3: RevisitingEnduring Debates: Ann Chinnery, Naomi Hodgson, and Viktor JohanssonSection 4: New Areas and Developments: Kai Horsthemke, Dirk Willem Postma, and Claudia Ruitenberg
Browsing the library's print collections can help you find relevant resources as the books are shelved in subject order, so you'll find related books shelved together.
[Optional space to insert info about shelfmarks if needed]
A number of other libraries may be of relevance to those studying education or applied linguistics.
Ebooks are digital versions of written works. Broadly speaking they come in two forms: they are either 'born digital' or are digital reproductions of printed books. See the tabs above for details of different ebook resources relevant to those studying education or applied linguistics.
Many ebooks have enhanced functionality, such as connectivity with reference management software, the ability to annotate and accessibility features.
Members of Oxford University can use ebooks that the Bodleian Libraries have purchased for free. Search for them on SOLO. They can be read on a desktop computer, laptop, tablet, e-reader or mobile phone; you just need your Oxford Single Sign On to access them. Individually purchased ebooks are all searchable on SOLO, but not all purchased ebook collections are, so it is important to visit the websites of ebook collections too. Look at the 'ebook collections' tab above.
Note, some ebooks have restrictive access and usage terms, for example they can only be read by one person at a time.
Some books are acquired via 'electronic Legal Deposit'. These must be read on a library desktop computer in one of the Bodleian Libraries. Further information on how to identify and access electronic Legal Deposit items on SOLO is at the link below.
The links below are provided for those wishing to learn more about ebooks.
The following is a list of ebook collections applicable to those studying education or applied linguistics at Oxford. Not all ebook collections are available on SOLO, so it is important to visit ebook collection websites to expand your search. You can browse and search across all ebooks on the provider's website and encounter titles of interest you may not have otherwise found.
The ebook collections have been selected by the Bodleian Libraries and you are able to access them for free because of institutional subscriptions to the content. You will need your Oxford Single Sign On to access the collections if you are not on the University network.
A number of eresources, including ebook collections, are freely available online and listed below.
Some of these resources are listed on SOLO but not all, so it is important to visit the websites to expand your search. You do not need your Oxford Single Sign On to access them. These are different to the ebooks purchased by the Bodleian Libraries for which you need your Single Sign On for access.
Below you will find key texts available as ebooks for [insert subject]. [Repeat journals on guide landing page].
You will need your Oxford Single Sign On to access the ebooks if you are not on the University network.
[Staff: insert books using the add 'book from the catalog' function as detailed on Springshare's website.]
Thinking Philosophically about Education by International Handbook of Philosophy of Education by You will find study skills resources compiled by Bodleian Libraries staff available on Oxford Reading List Online (ORLO).
You will need your Oxford Single Sign On credentials to access the list.
If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the print or ebook you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).
If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the book you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library request service.
There are a number of reasons why the Bodleian Libraries may be unable to provide electronic access to a resource. The ebooks guide explains some of these reasons: