Oxford LibGuides: Criminal and Judicial Statistics: 1800 to present day: Statistics/research guides: England and Wales 1800-1999

Useful links

Research guides from The National Archives

British crime survey datasets : National Archives
The British Crime Survey (BCS) is one of the most important methods used by the Home Office to gather information on crime in England and Wales; ten surveys dating from 1982 to 2001 are held in this series.
Looking for records of prisons
A brief guide from the National Archives to help you find records of prison administration and policy
Metropolitan Police crime statistics database : National Archives
The datasets derived from the Metropolitan Police's Crime Statistics System (known within the Metropolitan Police by the code 'ME') contain data relating to crimes reported within the Metropolitan Police District which were input to the Crime Statistics System between 1990 and 1997.
National Archives guide to Criminals in the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries
This guide will help you to identify the kinds of records held at The National Archives that you should consult if you are trying to trace criminals from the 18th to 20th centuries
Summary of recorded crime data 1898 to 2001/02
MS Excel spreadsheet - individual offence data from the Home Office

Main Series of Judicial and Criminal Statistics 1800-

'More' gives you the reference to search the Uk Parliamentary Papers database (SSO required for remote access). Please see this guide on how to search with the reference given. University members will need to log in for remote access.

1805-1856
For the years 1805 to 1856 tables of trials at assizes and quarter sessions were printed annually in the Parliamentary Papers.
This link takes you to the UK Parliamentary Papers database . Click on 'more' to get a reference to each annual report.
more...less...
Round brackets signify HC paper
Square brackets signify Command paper
(47) session 1810 (for the years 1805-8)
(23), (71) session 1810/11 (for the years) 1805-9
(84) session 1812 (for years 1805-11)
(98) session 1812 (for the years 1810-11)
(170) session 1814/15 (for the years 1813/14)
(269) session 1816 (for the year 1815)
(59) session 1817 (for the year 1816)
(66) session 1818 (for the year 1817)
(289) session 1818 (for years 1811-1817)
(420) session 1818 (for years 1805-1817)
(59) session 1819 (for years 1805-1818)
(347) session 1922 (for 1811-1821)
(377) session 1823 (for 1816-1822)
(248) session 1824 (for the year 1823)
(466) session 1825 (for session 1824)
(235) session 1826/27 (for the years 1820-26)
(143) session 1928 (for the years 1821-1827)
(48) session 1829 (for the years 1822-1828)
(197) session 1830 (for the years 1823-1829)
(308) session 1831/31 (for the years 1824-1830)
(282) session 1831/32 (for the years 1821-1831)
(141) session 1834 (for the year 1833)
(217) session 1835 (for the years 1828-1834)
(218) session 1835 (for the year 1834)
[61] session 1836 (for the year 1835)
[87] session 1837( for the year 1836)
[115] session 1837/38 (for the year 1837)
[179] session 1839 ( for the year 1838)
[252] session 1840 (for the year 1839)
[318] session 1841 session1 (for the year 1840)
[390] session 1842 (for the year 1841)
[465] session 1843 (for the year 1842)
[554] session 1844 (for the year 1843)
[651] session 1845 (for the year 1844)
[701] session 1846 (for the year 1845)
[807] session 1847 (for the year 1846)
[949] session 1847/48 (for the year 1847)
[1081] session 1849 (for the year 1848)
[1227] session 1850 (for the year 1849)
[1395] session 1851 (for the year 1850)
[1518] session 1852 (for the year 1851)
[1839] session 1854 (for the year 1853)
[2003] session 1854/55 (for the year 1854)
[2143] session 1856 (for the year 1855)
Judicial Statistics (England and Wales)
1856-2005
Statistics include: number and nature of the crimes committed, the number and class of the persons apprehended, the offences with which they were charged, the forms and the results of the proceedings against them. Prison populations statistics and the state of prisons.
This link takes you to the UK Parliamentary Papers database . Click on 'more' to get a reference to each annual report.
more...less...
Year of annual report: Sessional year the report published in: Command paper no.
(N.B. all years are command papers)

1856: 1857 Session 2 [2246]
1857: 1857-58 [2407]
1858: 1859 Session 1 [2508]
1859: 1860 [2692]
1860: 1861 [2860]
1861: 1862 [3025]
1862: 1863 [3181]
1863: 1864 [3370]
1864: 1865 [3534]
1865: 1866 [3726]
1866: 1867 [3919]
1867: 1867-68 [4062]
1868: 1868-69 [4196]
1869: 1870 [C.195]
1870: 1871 [C.442]
1871: 1872 [C.600]
1872: 1873 [C.871]
1873: 1874 [C.1055]
1874: 1875 [C.1315]
1875: 1876 [C.1595]
1876: 1877 [C.1871]
1877: 1878 [C.2154]
1878: 1878-79 [C.2418]
1879: 1880 [C.2726]
1880: 1881 [C.3088]
1881: 1882 [C.3333]
1882: 1883 [C.3763]
1883: 1884 [C.4170]
1884: 1884-85 [C.4518]
1885: 1886 [C.4808]
1886: 1887 [C.5155]
1887: 1888 [C.5553]
1888: 1889 [C.5882]
1889: 1890 [C.6164]
1890: 1890-91 [C.6443]
1891: 1892 [C.6734]
1899: 1901 Cd. 705
1900: 1902 Cd.1115
1901: 1903 Cd.1588
1902: 1904 Cd.2040
1903: 1905 Cd.2403
1904: 1906 Cd.2945
1905: 1907 Cd.3477
1906: 1908 Cd.4029
1907: 1908 Cd.4424
1908: 1910 Cd.5097
1909: 1911 Cd.5501
1910: 1912-13 Cd.6047
1911: 1912-13 Cd.6650
1912: 1914 Cd.7267
1913: 1914-16 Cd.7807
1917: 1919 Cmd.294
1918: 1920 Cmd.831
1919: 1921 Cmd.1362
Reports for 1920 and 1921 were published as non-parliamentary papers. Check SOLO
1922: 1923 Cmd.2001
1923: 1924-25 Cmd. 2277
1924: 1924-25 Cmd.2494
1925: 1926 Cmd.2717
1926: 1927 Cmd.2971
1927: 1928 Cmd.3174
1928: 1929-30 Cmd.3426
1929: 1929-30 Cmd.3649
1930: 1930-31 Cmd.3962
1931: 1931-32 Cmd.4187
1932: 1932-33 Cmd.4450
1933: 1933-34 Cmd.4710
1934: 1934-35 Cmd.4997
1935: 1935-36 Cmd.5277
1936: 1936-37 Cmd.5560
1937: 1937-38 Cmd.5859
1938: 1938-39 Cmd.6135
1949: 1950/51 Cmd.8186
1950: 1951/52 Cmd.8404
1951: 1952/53 Cmd.8567
1952: 1953/54 Cmd.8867
1953: 1954/55 Cmd.9164
1954: 1955/56 Cmd.9505
1955: 1955/56 Cmd.9775
1956: 1956/57 Cmnd.224
1957: 1957/58 Cmnd.434
1958: 1958/59 Cmnd.802
1959: 1959/60 Cmnd.1126
1960: 1960/61 Cmnd.1416
1961: 1961/62 Cmnd.1745
1962: 1962/63 Cmnd.2055
1963: 1963/64 Cmnd.2384
1964: 1964/65 Cmnd.2666
1965: 1965/66 Cmnd.3029
1966: 1966/67 Cmnd.3344
1967: 1967/68 Cmnd.3698
1968: 1967/68 Cmnd.4112
1969: 1968/69 Cmnd.4416
Cmnd.session 1969/70 (for the session 1970)
Cmnd.4982 session 1970/71 (for the year 1971)
Cmnd.5333 session 1971/72 (for the year 1972)
Cmnd.5756 session 1972/73 (for the year 1973)
Cmnd.6361 session 1974/75 (for the year 1974)
Cmnd.6634 session 1975/75 (for the year 1975)
Cmnd.6875 session 1976/77 (for the year 1976)
Cmnd.7254 session 1977/78 (for the year 1977)
Cmnd.7627 session 1978/79 (for the year 1978)
Cmnd 7977 session 1979/80 (for the year 1979)
Cmnd 8436 session 1980/81 (for the year 1980)
Cmnd 8770 session 1981/82 (for the year 1981)
Cmnd 9065 session 1983/83 (for the year 1982)
Cmnd 9370 session 1983/84 (for the year 1983)
Cmnd 9599 session 1984/85 (for the year 1984)
Cmnd 9864 session 1985/86 (for the year 1985)
Cm 173 session 1987/88 (for the year 1986)
Cm 428 session 1987/88 (for the year 1987)
Cm.745 session 1988/89 (for the year 1988)
Cm.154 session 1989/90 (for the year 1989)
Cm.1573 session 1990/91 (for the year 1990)
Cm 1990 session 1991/92 (for the year 1991)
Cm.2268 session 1992/93 (for the year 1992)
Cm.2623 session 1993/94 (for the year 1993)
Cm.2891 session 1994/95 (for the year 1994)
Cm.3290 session 1995/96 (for the year 1995)
Cm.3716 session 1996/97 (for the year 1996)
Cm.3980 session 1997/98 (for the year 1997)
Cm.4371 session 1998/99 (for the year 1998)
Cm.4786 session 1999/00 (for the year 1999)
Cm.5223 session 2000/01 (for the year 2000)
Cm.5551 session 2001/02 (for the year 2001)
Cm.5863 session 2002/03 (for the year 2002)
Cm.6251 session 2003/04 (for the year 2003)
2004-onwards please see 'Judicial statistics England and Wales 2000-' tab
Criminal Statistics England and Wales 1899-1999
Statistics relating to criminal offences recorded by the police forces in England and Wales and known offenders dealt with for offences by formal police cautions or criminal court proceedings.
This link takes you to the UK Parliamentary Papers database . Click on 'more' to get a reference to each annual report.
more...less...
Year of annual report: Sessional year the report published in: Command paper no.

1899: 1901 Cd. 659
1900: 1902 Cd.953
1901: 1903 Cd.1441
1902: 1904 Cd.2010
1903: 1905 Cd.2336
1904: 1906 Cd. 2871
1905: 1907 Cd. 3315
1906: 1908 Cd.3929
1907: 1909 Cd.4544
1908: 1910 Cd.5096
1909: 1911 Cd.5473
1910: 1912-13 Cd.6071
1911: 1912-13 Cd.6602
1912: 1914 Cd.7282
1913: 1914-16 Cd.7767
1914: 1914-16 Cd.8148
1917: 1919 Cmd.215
1918: 1920 Cmd.684
1919: 1921 Cmd.1424
Annual report for 1920 and 1921 published as non parliamentary papers - see SOLO
1922: 1924 Cmd.2265
1923: 1924/25 Cmd.2385
1924: 1926 Cmd.2602
1925: 1927 Cmd.2811
1926: 1928 Cmd.3005
1927: 1928/29 Cmd.3301
1928: 1929/30 Cmd.3581
1929: 1930/31 Cmd.3853
1930: 1931/32 Cmd.4036
1931: 1932/33 Cmd.4360
1932: 1933/34 Cmd.4608
1933: 1934/35 Cmd.4977
1934: 1935/36 Cmd.5185
1935: 1936/37 Cmd.5520
1936: 1937/38 Cmd.5690
1937: 1938/39 Cmd.5878
1938: 1939/40 Cmd.6167
1939-45: 1946/47 Cmd.7227
1946: 1947/48 Cmd.7428
1947: 1948 Cmd. 7528
1948: 1948/49 Cmd.7733
1949: 1950 Cmd. 7993
1950: 1950/51 Cmd.8301
1951: 1951/52 Cmd.8616
1952: 1952/53 Cmd.8941
1953: 1953/54 Cmd.9199
1954: 1955/56 Cmd.9574
1955: 1955/56 Cmd.9884
1956: 1957/58 Cmnd.286
1957: 1957/58 Cmnd.529
1958: 1958/59 Cmnd.803
1959: 1959/60 Cmnd.1100
1960: 1960/61 Cmnd.1437
1961: 1961/62 Cmnd.1779
1962: 1962/63 Cmnd.2120
1963: 1964/65 Cmnd.2525
1964: 1965/66 Cmnd.2815
1965: 1966/67 Cmnd.3037
1966: 1967/68 Cmnd.3332
1967: 1967/68 Cmnd.3689
1968: 1968/69 Cmnd.4098
1969: 1970/71 Cmnd.4398
1970: 1970/71 Cmnd.4708
1971: 1971/72 Cmnd.5020
1972: 1972/73 Cmnd.5402
1973: 1974 Cmnd.5677
1974: 1974/75 Cmnd.6168
1975: 1975/76 Cmnd.6566
1976: 1976/77 Cmnd.6952
1977: 1977/78 Cmnd.7289
1978: 1979/80 Cmnd.7670
1979: 1980/81 Cmnd.8098
1980: 1980/81 Cmnd.8376
1981: 1981/82 Cmnd.8668
1982: 1983/84 Cmnd.9048
1983: 1983/84 Cmnd.9349
1984: 1984/85 Cmnd.9621
1985: 1986/87 Cm.10
1986: 1987/88 Cm.233
1987: 1987/88 Cm.498
1988: 1988/89 Cm.847
1989: 1990/91 Cm.1322
1990: 1992/93 Cm.1935
1991: 1992/93 Cm.2134
1992: 1993/94 Cm.2410
1993: 1993/94 Cm.2680
1995: 1994/95 Cm.3010
1995: 1996/97 Cm.3421
1996: 1997/98 Cm.3764
1997: 1998/99 Cm.4162
1998: 1999/00 Cm.4649
1999: 2000/01 Cm.5001

Prison statistics

'More' gives you the reference to search the UK Parliamentary Papers database (SSO required for remote access). Please see this guide on how to search with the reference given. University members will need to log in for remote access

Report of the work of the Prison Department : statistical tables 1966-1976
This link takes you to the UK Parliamentary Papers database . Click on 'more' to get a reference to each annual report.
more...less...
1966 Cmnd 3494
1967 Cmnd 3788
1968 Cmnd 4266
1969 Cmnd 4539
1970 Cmnd 4806
1971 Cmnd 5156
1972 Cmnd 5489
1973 Cmnd 5814
1974 Cmnd 6152
1975 Cmnd 6542
1976 Cmnd 6884
Prison statistics. England and Wales: 1977-1999/00
This link takes you to the UK Parliamentary Papers database . Click on 'more' to get a reference to each annual report.
more...less...
Sessional year published: Command no.: year of annual report

1977/78 Cmnd.7286 for 1977
1979/80 Cmnd.7626 for 1978
1980/81 Cmnd.7978 for 1979
1981/82 Cmnd.8372 for 1980
1982/83 Cmnd.8654 for 1981
1983/84 Cmnd.9027 for 1982
1983/84 Cmnd.9363 for 1983
1984/85 Cmnd.9622 for 1984
1985/86 Cmnd.9903 for 1985
1987/88 Cm.210 for 1986
1988/89 Cm.547 for 1987
1988/89 Cm.825 for 1988
1989/90 Cm.1221 for 1989
1991/92 Cm.1800 for 1990
1992/93 Cm.2157 for 1991
1993/94 Cm.2581 for 1992
1994/95 Cm.2893 for 1993
1995/96 Cm.3087 for 1994
1995/96 Cm.3355 for 1995
1997/98 Cm.3732 for 1996
1997/98 Cm.4017 for 1997
1998/99 Cm.4430 for 1998
1999/00 Cm.4805 for 1999
Statistics of offences against prison discipline and punishment. England and Wales. 1988-1996
A companion series to 'Prison statistics. England and Wales'.
This link takes you to the UK Parliamentary Papers database . Click on 'more' to get a reference to each annual report.
more...less...
1989/90 Cm.929 for 1988
1989/90 Cm.1236 for 1989
1990/91 Cm.1651 for 1990
1992/93 Cm.2066 for 1991
1993/94 Cm.2411 for 1992
1993/94 Cm.2664 for 1993
1994/95 Cm.2934 for 1994
1995/96 Cm.3316 for 1995
1997/98 Cm.3715 for 1996