The majority of our collections are available to search through the online catalogue for the University of Oxford SOLO (Search Oxford Libraries Online). To search for books in Campion Hall, enter you search and limit by selecting "Campion Hall Library" from the drop down menu to the right of the search box. You can further filter the results by selecting "Physical Resources" on the left-hand menu. This ensures that only those resources physically held at Campion Hall display. The catalogue will display the room location and shelfmark of the item at Campion Hall. Use the plan below to locate the book in the Library.
Please note that the entries for rare books will ask you to contact the library to arrange an appointment to view the books.
Books that have not yet been added to SOLO can be searched using the card catalogue in the main library. Names and some locations and topics have index headings. There is a card for each book. The top corner of each card usually states the shelfmark of the book. Use the plan and classification guide below to locate the book in the Library. Please search SOLO first before using the card catalogue. The card catalogue only contains records for books that have not yet been added to SOLO.
If you have any difficulties finding or locating books, please contact the Librarian who is always happy to help.
This plan shows the location of study desks and book displays, as well as where the different sections of the Library are shelved. Please click on the link below to see a pdf version of the plan. More information about the Library classification system and location of different sections within the library is available in the box below. Find out more about the Library spaces.
Campion Hall uses an in-house classification system to arrange its books. The main categories are listed below. Click on the tabbed headings above, to see more detail on each section. You can see where each section is shelved on the above plan. This guide also provides photographs of the Library spaces.
located in Narrow Library
A.1.1 General histories
A.1.2 Other general works
A.2.1 General works
A.2.2 Periods of time
A.2.2.1 Archaic Greece
A.2.2.2 4th & 5th centuries
A.2.2.3 Hellenistic period
A.2.3 Language
A.2.4 Literature
A.2.5 Philosophy and religion
A.2.8 Authors: Collections
A.2.9 Authors: Individuals (in alphabetical order)
A.3.1 General
A.3.1.1 General histories
A.3.1.2 Other general works
A.3.2 Periods of time
A.3.2.1 Republic
A.3.2.2 Empire
A.3.2.3 Gibbon
A.3.3 Language
A.3.4 Literature
A.3.5 Religion
A.3.6 Law
A.3.7 Provinces
A.3.7.1 Various
A.3.7.2 Britain
A.3.8 Authors: Collections
A.3.9 Authors: Individuals (in alphabetical order)
A.4 Medieval Latin
A.4.5 Other civilizations
A.5 Art
located in Narrow Library
C. Aug Augustine
C. Bar Karl Barth
C. Bou Henri Bouillard
C. Che Marie-Dominique Chenu
C. Chr Jean-Louis Chrétien
C. Con Yves Congar
C. Cou Jean-François Courtine
C. DeL Henri de Lubac
C. Duq Christian Duquoc
C. Fal Emmanuel Falque
C. Gil Étienne Gilson
C. Gir René Girard
C. Har Bernhard Häring
C. Kas Walter Kasper
C. Kun Hans Küng
C. Lac Jean-Yves Lacoste
C. Lon Bernard Lonergan
C. Mar Jean-Luc Marion
C. Met Johann Baptist Metz
C. Moh Johann Adam Möhler
C. Mol Jürgen Moltmann
C. New John Newman
C. Prz Erich Przywara
C. Rah Karl Rahner
C. Rahn Hugo Rahner
C. Rat Pope Benedict XVI
C. Rou Pierre Rousselot
C. Sch Edward Schillebeeckx
C. Sche Matthias Joseph Scheeben
C. Ste Edith Stein
C. Sua Francisco Suárez
C. Tei Pierre Teilhard de Chardin
C. The Christoph Theobald
C. Til Xavier Tilliette
C. Tyr George Tyrrell
C. VonB Hans Urs von Balthasar
C. VonH Friedrich von Hügel
C. Yvo Claude Yvon
located in Main Library
E.1.1 Bibliography
E.1.2 Dictionaries etc.
E.1.3 Language
E.1.4 Literature: companions and anthologies
E.1.5 Literature: history
E.2.1 Dictionaries and Language
E.2.2 Literature: collections
E.2.3 Literature: authors / works (in alphabetical order)
E.2.4 Literature: general secondary works
E.3.1 Dictionaries and Language
E.3.2 Literature: collections
E.3.3 Literature: authors / works (in alphabetical order)
E.3.4 Literature: general secondary works
E.3.5 Drama
E.4.1 General
E.4.1.1 Prose
E.4.1.2 Verse
E.4.1.3 Drama
E.4.1.4 Periods of time
E.4.1.4.1 16th century
E.4.1.4.2 17th century
E.4.1.4.3 18th century
E.4.1.4.4 19th century
E.4.1.4.5 20th century
E.4.1.4.6 21st century
E.4.2 Authors (in alphabetical order)
The Bednarowska Collection located in the basement corridor may also have relevant collections.
located in Clarke Room
Ec.1 Authors (in alphabetical order)
located in Clarke Room
Ed.1 Catechisms
Ed.2 Works on Catholic/Christian education
Ed.3 Individual schools / colleges
Ed.4 General education
located in Michael Ivens SJ / Art Room
G.1.1 Geography
G.1.2 Anthropology
G.2 Asia and Australasia
G.3 Africa
G.4 America
G.5 Europe
G.6 British Isles
located in Main Library
H.1.1 Writing of history
H.1.2 Multi-volume works
H.1.3 World history
H.1.4 Collections of essays
H.1.5 Other works
H.2.1 General
H.2.1.1 Constitutional, legal & economic histories
H.2.1.2 Other works
H.2.2 Before 1066
H.2.3 1066-1499
H.2.3.1 General
H.2.3.2 1066-1199
H.2.3.3 1200-1299
H.2.3.4 1300-1399
H.2.3.5 1400-1499
H.2.4 1500-1599
H.2.4.1 General
H.2.4.2 1500-1558
H.2.4.3 1559-1599
H.2.5 1600-1699
H.2.5.1 General
H.2.5.2 1600-1659
H.2.5.3 1660-1699
H.2.6 1700-1799
H.2.6.1 General
H.2.6.2 1700-1759
H.2.6.3 1760-1799
H.2.7 1800-1899
H.2.7.1 General
H.2.7.2 1800-1849
H.2.7.3 1850-1899
H.2.8 1900-1959
H.2.9 1960-
H.3.1 General
H.3.1.1 General
H.3.1.2 Before 1500
H.3.1.3 1500-1788
H.3.1.4 1789-1913
H.3.1.5 1914-
H.3.2 France
H.3.2.1 General
H.3.2.2 Before 1500
H.3.2.3 1500-1788
H.3.2.4 1789-1899
H.3.2.5 1900-
H.3.3 Germany
H.3.4 Italy
H.3.4.1 Renaissance to 1799
H.3.4.2 Other times
H.3.5 Spain and Portugal
H.3.6 Netherlands and Belgium
H.3.7 Russia
H.3.8 Eastern Europe
H.3.9 Other countries
H.4.1 North America
H.4.2 Central and South America
H.5 Africa
H.6.1 Near and Middle East
H.6.2 Far East
H.7 Australasia
H.8.1 General
H.8.2 Councils
H.8.3 Papacy
H.8.3.1 General
H.8.3.2 0-699
H.8.3.3 700-1450
H.8.3.4 1450-1899
H.8.3.5 1900-
H.8.4 Religious orders
H.8.5 Chronological
H.8.5.1 Before 500
H.8.5.2 500-1499
H.8.5.3 1500-1799
H.8.5.4 1800-
H.8.6.1 General
H.8.6.2 Before 1066
H.8.6.3 1066-1499
H.8.6.3.1 General
H.8.6.3.2 1066-1299
H.8.6.3.3 1300-1499
H.8.6.4 1500-1799
H.8.6.4.1 General
H.8.6.4.2 1500-1599
H.8.6.4.3 1600-1799
H.8.6.5 1800-1899
H.8.6.6 1900-
H.8.6.7 Church in Ireland
For Byzantine Church see section A.6
located in Narrow Library
J.1.1 Works by
J.1.2 Works about (authors in alphabetical order)
J.2.1 Texts
J.2.2 Commentaries etc. (authors in alphabetical order)
J.3.1 Constitutions
J.3.2 General and provincial congregations
J.3.3 Letters etc. of Father Generals
J.3.4 Other official documents
J.4.1 General histories
J.4.2 Spirituality
J.4.3 Other general works
J.5.1 Asia and Australasia
J.5.2 Africa
J.5.3 America
J.5.4 Europe
J.6 Britain
located in Narrow Library
L.1.1 Linguistics
L.1.2 Other general works
L.2.1 Dictionaries and Language
L.2.2 Literature: general works
L.2.3 Authors before 1500 (in alphabetical order)
L.2.4 Authors after 1500 (in alphabetical order)
L.3.1 Dictionaries and Language
L.3.2 Literature: general works
L.3.3 Authors before 1500 (in alphabetical order)
L.3.4 Authors after 1500 (in alphabetical order)
L.4.1 Language and general works
L.4.2 Authors (in alphabetical order)
L.5.1 Language and general works
L.5.2 Authors (in alphabetical order)
L.6.1 Language and general works
L.6.2 Authors (in alphabetical order)
For classical Latin and Greek see section A
For English see section E
For Biblical languages, see section S
located in Narrow Library
Lg.1 Breviaries
Lg.2 Other prayer books
Lg.3 Studies on the Liturgy (authors in alphabetical order)
Lg.4 Music
located in Main Library
P.2.1 General works
P.2.2 Philosophers (in alphabetical order)
P.3.1 General works
P.3.2 General works on British philosophy
P.3.3 Collections of essays and Festschrifts
P.3.5 Philosophers (in alphabetical order)
Also see Philosophers in Extra Collections.
Before 1500: see section Extra Collections Theologians for William of Ockham, John Duns Scotus and Thomas Aquinas
After 1500: see section Extra Collections Philosophers for Francis Bacon, Immanuel Kant and Tilmann Pesch
located in Clarke Room
Po.1.1 General surveys
Po.1.2 Before 1500
Po.1.3 After 1500
Po.2.1 U.K.
Po.2.2 Europe
Po.2.3 North America
Po.2.4 Other countries
located in Main Library
Ps.1 General works
Ps.2 Psychologists (in alphabetical order)
located in Narrow Library
R.1 General history / biography
R.1.2 By region
R.2 General history / biography
R.2.1 By region
R.2.2 Popes / Papal history
R.2.3 Vatican
R.2.4 Jesuits: dictionaries / encyclopedias / bibliography
R.2.5 Jesuits: other Jesuitica
R.2.6 Benedictines
R.3 Reference works to Classical world / Byzantium / Syriac Studies / Jewish Studies
R.4.1 Literature
R.4.2 History
R.4.3 Archives, libraries, catalogues
R.4.4 Other
R.6 By language
R.8 General studies / dictionaries / concordances
R.8.1 Old Testament
R.8.2 New Testament
R.8.3 Liturgy and worship (rites, orders, prayers etc.)
R.8.4 Saints
R.8.5 Spirituality
R.9.1 Canon law
R.9.2 Theology / Christian thought / doctrines
R.9.3 Philosophy / social thought / ethics
R.9.4 Baptism / Baptists
R.9.5 Ecumenism
R.9.6 Documents, catechisms, sacred texts
R.9.9 Religious encyclopedias / dictionaries
R.10 Mythology
located in Narrow Library
S.1.1 Original and early languages
S.1.2 English translations
S.1.3 Other translations
S.3.1 General studies
S.3.2 Particular books
S.3.2.1 Genesis
S.3.2.2 Ecclesiastes, Proverbs
S.3.2.3 Job
S.3.2.4 Psalms
S.3.2.5 Isaiah
S.4.1 General studies
S.4.2 Gospels, general
S.4.3 Matthew
S.4.4 Mark
S.4.5 Luke
S.4.6 John
S.4.7 Acts of the Apostles
S.4.8 Paul (including Hebrews)
S.4.9 Other letters
S.4.10 Revelation
(including biblical languages)
located in Clarke Room
So.1 Religious studies (writers in alphabetical order)
So.2 Other studies (writers in alphabetical order)
located in Narrow Library
Sp.1.1 General works
Sp.1.1.1 Early Church
Sp.1.1.2 Middle Ages
Sp.1.1.3 Modern period
Sp.1.2 Bollandists
Sp.1.3 Preaching
Sp.1.4 Religious life
Sp.1.5 Mysticism
Sp.1.6 Britain and Ireland
Sp.2 Saints and writers (in alphabetical order)
located in Main Library
T.2.1 General works
T.2.2 Before 325
T.2.3 325 onwards
T.2.5 Theologians (in alphabetical order)
T.3.1 General works
T.3.5 Theologians (in alphabetical order)
T.4 General works
T.4.5 Theologians (in alphabetical order)
Relevant works may be in the following sections:
C - Theologians
H.8 - Church History
J - Jesuitica
Lg - Liturgy
R - Reference works
S - Scripture
So.1 Social studies: Religious studies
Sp - Spirituality
Also see theologians in Extra collections
located in Michael Ivens SJ Room / Art Room
A.1 & A.2 Art: General
A.3 Art: Great Britain
B.1 British artists: General
B.4 British artists: Individual
C.1 Europe: Italy
C.2 Europe: General
C.3 Europe: France
C.4.1 North America
C.4.2 Ireland
C.4.3 Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Scandinavia
C.4.4 Holland, Belgium
C.4.5 Central & Eastern Europe
C.4.6 Spain, Portugal
C.4.7 Greece and Byzantium
C.5 Africa
C.6 Asia
C.7 South America
C.8 Australasia
Some books are shelved as Extra collections. They can be found in the following locations.
Extra Collections Early English Text Society (EETS) Basement (Room H)
Extra Collections Fun Basement (Room H)
Extra Collections Geography and Anthropology Basement (Room H)
Extra Collections History Basement (Room H)
Extra Collections Languages Basement (Room H)
Extra Collections Law Basement (Room H)
Extra Collections Literature Basement (Room H)
Extra Collections Liturgy Basement (Room H)
Extra Collections Mathematics Basement (Room H)
Extra Collections Music Basement (Room H)
Extra Collections Natural Sciences Basement (Room H)
Extra Collections Other religions Basement (Room H)
Extra Collections Oxford Basement (Room H)
Extra Collections Philosophy Basement (Room H)
Extra Collections Scripture Basement (Room H)
Extra Collections Spirituality Basement (Room H) and Lecture Room
Extra collections Theologians SFX Room
Members of Campion Hall can use this online request form to:
Please check if the resource is already available online before making a request and consider using the Bodleian's Scan and Deliver service.
Requests for new books can also be made by emailing library@campion.ox.ac.uk
Laura Johnson, Fellow Librarian
Please contact Laura for anything Library or resource related
By email: library@campion.ox.ac.uk
By phone: +44 (0)1865 279318
In person: Campion Hall Library, Brewer Street, Oxford OX1 1QS