Oxford LibGuides: Psychodynamic Studies for short courses: Oxford's online resources

Oxford's Online Resources

Oxford subscribes to a wide range of online resources which are available to students with an Oxford Single Sign on (SSO) from home. To browse the full list of these resources use the Databases A-Z

If you do not have an Oxford Single Sign on (SSO) please see the 'Free online resources' tab.

If you are looking for a specific ebook or articles please see the tabs for 'books' or 'journals' instead.

Please find below information about resources including

Online tools for literature searching
Key bibliographical databases
Digital theses

Online resources for literature searching

You can search for books, articles, conference papers, other publications and dissertations using SOLO, Google Scholar or Bibliographical Databases. Below you will find some brief notes about each of these tools followed by a list of bibliographical databases for Psychodynamic Studies. For a more detailed comparison of the pros and cons of SOLO, Google Scholar and Bibliographical Databases as literature searching tools please see the 'Search Tips' tab.

SOLO
A keyword search in SOLO will return a wide range of results nearly all of which will be available in full to Oxford students. Although SOLO is an excellent tool for subject searching for books, it can be a blunt tool for searching for articles sometimes returning items which are less relevant to your topic.
more...less...
This is because SOLO casts a very wide net (searching across nearly all of Oxford's electronic and print resources). Whilst this can be an advantage in surfacing items from a range of disciplines and perspectives, it can also mean that you receive a lot of results some of which may be less relevant to you. The refine options on the left hand side of SOLO can help by narrowing your search
Google Scholar
A keyword search in Google Scholar will return vast numbers of results which nearly always include useful items but which may also include less relevant and in some cases less scholarly materials. Google Scholar will return some results where you will only see brief details (rather than the 'full text'). See 'more' for information on setting up Google Scholar for Oxford e-resources which will help with this.
more...less...
For the best results open Google Scholar 'Settings' and in 'Library Links' search for 'University of Oxford'. This will enable Google Scholar to link to Oxford's subscription eresources. However, Google will still return some results where you can't see the 'full text'.
Bibliographical Databases
Bibliographical Databases search across selected academic publications in a discipline and usually have searchable summaries, advanced search options and refinements. As a result they often return smaller numbers of results which are more focussed and relevant. One disadvantage is that they may include some items which are not available in "full text". Use "Find it @ Oxford" to help with this. You will find a selection of bibliographical databases for your subject below.

Key Bibliographical Databases

Oxford subscribes to many scholarly databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more. You can find some of the key databases for Psychodynamic Studies listed below.

In some cases you will find 'full text' items in bibliographical databases but in others you may just see an abstract or summary. Where this is the case click on the 'Find it @ Oxford' button to find and connect to full text.

Databases A-Z
The 'Databases A-Z' lists all the bibliographical databases and other databases and online resources available to members of University of Oxford. To limit to bibliographical databases only choose 'Abstracts and Indexes' under 'Database type'

Scopus
Scopus is a bibliographic database for science, medicine and some social sciences. It covers over 25,000 journals and over 300,000 books from over 7,000 publishers worldwide, providing access to over 90 million records going back as far as the 18th century.
It includes the content from a number of other major databases: Medline (medicine) 1966 - , Embase (medicine) 1970 - , Compendex (engineering) 1970 - , Geobase (geography) 1980 - .
PsycINFO
PsycINFO provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioural, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists, students, and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, and education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. PsycINFO contains more than 2 million records spanning 1806 to the present. Journal coverage includes material selected from approximately 2,000 periodicals. Chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present; however, there is a substantial number of records covering books published earlier. Dissertations constitute approximately 12% of the database. APA is currently adding approximately 8,100,000 references annually through weekly updates.
APA PsycArticles
APA PsycArticles is a database of full-text articles from over 100 journals published by the following: American Psychological Association (APA) , the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group. The subjects covered are Psychiatry, Psychology and Psychopharmacology. Many of the journals go back to Volume 1 issue 1. The database is updated weekly. The database includes all material from the print journals, but excludes covers and advertisements.

Getting help with bibliographical databases

Bibliographical databases are powerful tools but can take a bit of getting used to, particularly if you want to create advanced searches. Please contact library@conted.ox.ac.uk for help or to book a one-to-one. Alternatively, look at the 'Search Tips' tab or try some of these help tools:

Encyclopaedias & dictionaries

Scope note for Library staff - Only include if relevant for your subject.

Oxford Handbooks A wide range of handbooks including 201 in the field of Psychology. Once connected choose 'Browse by Subject' (left towards the top). Once you've chosen a subject either search for a topic or choose the 'Books' tab (centre screen).
Alternative name: Oxford Handbooks Online ; OHO

Each Oxford handbook brings together the world's leading scholars in the field to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.
Oxford Scholarship Online
Alternative name: OSO. Contains scholarly books, published by Oxford University Press, in the humanities, sciences, medicine and social sciences online. The full texts of over 1,000 key Oxford titles in Biology, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Public Health and Epidemiology, Business and Management, Law, Music, Physics, Religion, Classical Studies, Linguistics, Neuroscience, Political Science, Social Work, Economics and Finance, Literature, Palliative Care, Psychology and Sociology are now available - together with specially-commissioned book and chapter abstracts and keywords. At least 200 new books will be added each year as part of the annual subscription.
Oxford Reference
Alternative names: ORO ; Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online brings together over 450 reference works published by Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource. It includes English and bilingual dictionaries, English grammar and usage guides, quotations and subject-specific reference works.
It is updated regularly with new titles, new editions, new entries, full-colour maps and illustrations, timelines, weblinks, and bibliographies.

Oxford Bibliographies Online

Oxford Bibliographies
Alternative names: OBO ; Oxford Bibliographies Online

Oxford Bibliographies are comprehensive subject bibliographies, which provide an up-to-date overview of the most recent and authoritative scholarship in a given field. Oxford Bibliographies provides faculty and students alike with a seamless pathway to the most accurate and reliable resources for a variety of academic topics. Every article in the database is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, written and reviewed by academic experts, with original commentary and annotations. The modules include:
African American Studies, African Studies, American Literature, Anthropology, Art History, Atlantic History, Biblical Studies, British and Irish Literature, Buddhism, Childhood Studies, Chinese Studies, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Communication, Criminology, Ecology, Education, Environmental Science, Evolutionary Biology, Geography, Hinduism, International Law, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Latin American Studies, Latino Studies, Linguistics, Literary and Critical Theory, Management, Medieval Studies, Military History, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, Renaissance and Reformation, Social Work, Sociology, Victorian Literature.