Oxford LibGuides: Criminal law &amp; justice: Corruption Prevention

International agreements and commentary

United Nations Convention against Corruption (UNCAC)
EIF 14 December 2005, in accordance with article 68(1) The Convention covers five main areas: preventive measures, criminalization and law enforcement, international cooperation, asset recovery, and technical assistance and information exchange. The Convention covers many different forms of corruption, such as bribery, trading in influence, abuse of functions, and various acts of corruption in the private sector. Source of full text and links to related materials see More info
more...less...
Travaux Préparatoires
Legislative Guide for the Implementation of UNCAC
Technical Guide to the UNCAC
State of implementation of the UNCAC - Criminalization, Law Enforcement and International Cooperation
UNDP/UNODC guidance note - UNCAC self-assessments: Going beyond the minimum
Mechanism for the Review of Implementation of the UNCAC
Basic documents on the Mechanism for the Review of Implementation of the UNCAC
Global Action Against Corruption: The Mérida Papers
Partnering in Anti-Corruption Knowledge (PACK): A Guidance Note for Development Partners
The Institutional Integrity Initiative: The relevance of the UNCaC to the UN System
Travaux Préparatoires of the negotiations for the elaboration of the United Nations Convention against Corruption
Open access
UN Global Compact: Anti-Corruption

The United Nations Convention Against Corruption by Cecily Rose (Editor); Michael Kubiciel (Editor); Oliver Landwehr (Editor)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link.
ISBN: 9780198803959
Publication Date: 2019
Print copy is at Internat 590 R795.3b

African Union Convention on Preventing and Combating Corruption
EIF: 05 August 05, 2006
African Union Advisory Board on Corruption (AUABC)
Official website
Inter-American Convention Against Corruption
Group of States against Corruption (GRECO)
Criminal Law Convention on Corruption (ETS No. 173)
Civil Law Convention on Corruption (ETS No. 174)
Additional Protocol to the Criminal Law Convention on Corruption (ETS No. 191)
Corruption undermines human rights and the rule of law
Statement by Council of Europe's Commissioner of HR January 2021
Corruption
Entry by Suemas Miller (2018) in The Standord Encyclopedia of Philosophy
more...less...
Miller, Seumas, "Corruption", The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (Winter 2018 Edition), Edward N. Zalta (ed.), URL = .
Institutional Corruption Defined (Lessing)
Remote access requires Oxford SSO Article in (2013) 41 Journal of Law, Medicine & Ethics 553
International Anti-Corruption Conference (IACC)
"Established in 1983, the IACC takes place usually every two years in a different region of the world, and hosts from 800 to 2000 participants from over 135 countries worldwide."
more...less...
"The IACC advances the anti-corruption agenda by raising awareness and stimulating debate. It fosters networking, cross-fertilisation and the global exchange of experience that are indispensable for effective advocacy and action, on a global and national level. "

OECD iLibrary
Alternative names: SourceOECD ; Source OECD

OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics. It is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data with online access provided for all publications and statistics released since 1998.
The iLibrary covers 17 key themes including development, economics, governance, trade and social issues, migration and health. As of March 2013 content includes 5 billion data points across 42 databases; 44,630 tables and graphs; 8,330 ebook titles; 30,280 chapters; and 1,920 key tables.
Please note, IEA statistics are not included in our subscription.

Transparency International: the global colation against corruption
Global Corruption Barometer
Produced by Transparency International "Since its debut in 2003, the Global Corruption Barometer has surveyed the experiences of everyday people confronting corruption around the world.
... making it the only worldwide public opinion survey on corruption."
World Bank's Open Knowledge Repository (ORK)
OA repository This link takes you to browse by topic. A search box is also available near top right of screen
Journal of White Collar Crime
Remote access requires Oxford SSO

A Research Agenda for Studies of Corruption by Alina Mungiu-Pippidi (Editor); Paul M. Heywood (Editor)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link.
ISBN: 9781789904994
Publication Date: 2020
From Baksheesh to Bribery: Understanding the Global Fight Against Corruption and Graft by T. Markus Funk (Editor); Andrew S. Boutros (Editor)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link.
ISBN: 9780190232399
Publication Date: 2019
Print copy is at Internat 580 F982b
Making Sense of Corruption by Bo Rothstein; Aiysha Varraich
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link
ISBN: 9781107163706
Publication Date: 2017
Print copy at General 510 R847.5a. Bodleian Social Science Library has lending copy at JF1081.ROT 2017
The Hidden Order of Corruption by Alberto Vannucci; Donatella Della Porta
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link
ISBN: 9780754678991
Publication Date: 2011
Print copy is in Bodleian Social Science Library at JF1081.DEL 2012 if preferred
Corruption from a regulatory perspective by Maria De Benedetto.
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link
ISBN: 9781509929245
Publication Date: 2021
Systemic Corruption: constitutional ideas for an anti-oligarchic republic by Camila Vergara
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link
ISBN: 9780691207537
Publication Date: 2020-09-22
Institutional Corruption : a study in applied philosophy by Seumas Miller
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link
ISBN: 9780521869461
Publication Date: 2017
A print copy could be requested from Closed Stacks if preferred.

National Legislation

United Kingdom

Bribery Act 2010
Text of act from legislation.gov.uk. Holders of an Oxford SSO should go Westlaw and Lexislibrary which may also provide related case law and commentary
Bribery Act 2010: Guidance to help commercial organisations prevent bribery
Guidance from the Ministry of Justice
A memorandum on the implementation of the Bribery Act 2010 and the government response to the House of Lords Select Committee’s post-legislative scrutiny of the Act.
Ministry of Justice (2018)
Public Interest Disclosure Act 1998 (PIDA)
Protection for whistleblowers
Committee on Standards of Public Life (UK)
The independent Committee on Standards in Public Life advises the Prime Minister on arrangements for upholding ethical standards of conduct across public life in England. We are not a regulator and cannot investigate individual complaints.

United States of America

Foreign Corrupt Practices Act of 1977, as amended 15 U.S.C. §§ 78dd-1 ff
Foreign Corrupt Practices Act Guidance (USA)
Section of official website of The United States Department of Justice

Search terms to try in SOLO.

Anti-corruption measures in particular

Corruption -- Law and legislation
Corruption -- Prevention
Bribery -- Law and legislation
International criminal law
Transnational crime -- Law and legislation
Commercial crimes
White collar crimes

Wider terms to use in searches (books may include chapters practical steps against corruption)

Corruption

Administrative corruption
Administrative agencies - corrupt practices

Judicial corruption

Police corruption
Police ethics
Police -- Professional ethics

Political corruption
Elections -- Corrupt practices
Democracy -- Moral and ethical aspects

For corruption in world of finance try:

Banks and banking -- Corrupt practices
International finance -- Corrupt practices

Pharmaceutical industry -- Corrupt practices
Pharmaceutical industry -- Moral and ethical aspects

Related Bodleian guides

Criminal law & justice
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Apr 22, 2024 421 views this year
Criminology
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Apr 4, 2024 169 views this year