Skip to main content

Education: guide to libraries and resources: Top tips & advice

Subjects: Education

Top tips & advice

On this page we'll collect some answers to interesting questions we've been asked recently.

If there is anything you would like us to include, get in touch! education.library@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Buying books for yourself

Some books you just want to have for your very own! Borrowing them from a library isn't enough. Maybe you want to re-read and re-read, maybe you want to scribble and highlight all over!

Amazon is usually a good option, but you could also compare prices with our local bookshop Blackwell’s.

A good source of second-hand books is AbeBooks

Have you found a good place to buy books offering a student discount? Let us know! education.library@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

 

The Economist

Times Higher Education

The Times Higher Education THE (formerly the Times Higher Education Supplement THES) is a weekly specialist journal with news, comment, features and some lighter coverage about HE in the UK and globally, useful for keeping up with current debates and issues. 

You'll find this week's THE on the coffee table in the Education Library.

If you want to browse through older print issues, the Continuing Education Library keeps the last 2 years.

Most of the back issues (unfortunately some are missing) are available to request from the Closed Stack.

The TimesHigherEducation website is searchable and you can read quite a lot on the website (even more if you register (free)).

We subscribe to online access via Nexis but this can be a bit tricky to search. Not everything from the THE is included - certain freelance articles and other features may not be available. Try searching the TimesHigherEducation website first and then look up specific articles either in our online access  or by requesting the specific print issue from the Closed Stack.

If Higher Education is your main area of research you may wish to pay for an individual subscription (less than £100 per year) so that you can get full online access and the app. If you are not sure if it will cover your particular focus, browse the library copy for a few weeks to help you decide.

Searching Chinese journals for articles in English

The main sources of Chinese journals with relevant articles in English are:

China Academic Journals Full-text Database

Using the tickboxes and pluses on the left-hand side, you can select just Education & Social Sciences journals to search, or select just a particular level of education, e.g. secondary.

There is no explicit way to restrict searches to English-language articles, but using the Basic Search and unticking the 'Cross-Language Search' box does quite well. Use the plus to add more search criteria.

All results should be available to download as PDFs directly from this database.

Airiti Library

This is a collection of over 700 Taiwan journals. The advanced search does not behave well when searching in English, so it is better to use the 'more options' drop down in the simple search bar, and when you have the results, you can filter them by language using the left-hand options.

Note: Although this database also includes ebooks and theses, our subscription is just for journal articles - you may be able to find other kinds of results using SOLO or other databases, for example the Chinese Doctoral Dissertations Full-text Database, or the National Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations in Taiwan.

Hong Kong Journals Online

This is a small collection of Hong Kong journals in Chinese and English, including Education Journal and Journal of Basic EducationThere is only a very basic search, but all results should be available to download as PDFs directly from this database.

If you are looking for sources of information other than journal articles, or statistical data, it is worth looking at the Chinese Studies LibGuide, emailing a Chinese subject librarian (joshua.seufert@bodleian.ox.ac.uk or minh.chung@bodleian.ox.ac.uk), or trying other databases from the OxLIP+ list of sources.

Electronic Legal Deposit material

eLD items can easily be identified by the flag 'Online access is restricted to library computers in any of the Bodleian Libraries'.

Electronic legal deposit items are materials which Oxford has received under Legal Deposit legislation which entitles the Bodleian Libraries to a copy of every item published in the UK. These materials are subject to a number of restrictions under UK Law including:

  • You can only access electronic Legal Deposit on public computers in any of the Bodleian Libraries
  • Only one person at a time can view each item, and there is no time limit set (within a day) for how long an item can be consulted. However, you will be timed out after 5 minutes of inactivity. Once an item has been closed down (or has timed out) it will become available to another reader. 
  • There is no restrictions to the number of electronic Legal Deposit items you can view in a day.
  • Digital copying is not permitted under current legislation. You cannot copy and paste,  take a screenshot, download or scan material. 

​More information

 

 

 

Education Library

Education Library's picture
Education Library
Contact:
15 Norham Gardens
Oxford
OX2 6PY
01865 274028
Website