Skip to main content

Biological Sciences: Home

Subjects: Biology, Zoology

Covid-19 Update

Due to the Covid-19 outbreak, the Bodleian Libraries has closed all of its library sites as of 5pm on Tuesday 17th March 2020 until further notice. While our physical services are suspended, we are continuing to provide, and expanding, our digital services.

Please find information on the RSL Services and on our increased digital services here: http://blogs.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/science/2020/03/19/bodleian-libraries-closure/.

Subject Librarians and library enquiries are still available. If you have questions or require 1 to 1 support with using library services, please E-mail me - oliver.bridle@bodleian.ox.ac.uk 

Library Assistant

Library Assistant Logo

Are you an Oxford Fresher?

Library Assistant is our online guide to library services for new undergraduate students. It is adapted to work on smartphones and tablets so you can access it anywhere.  You can use Library Assistant to -

  • Find libraries around Oxford
  • Get help finding books on your reading lists
  • Get information about library WiFi, passwords and photocopying
  • ...and much more

Visit Library Assistant at -

www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/assistant

Library Assistant QR Code

Scan the QR code below using your smartphone or tablet to get directly to Library Assistant

Library Assistant QR code

Welcome

This guide aims to list useful resources (print or online) and tools for all biologists and to encourage you to seek help concerning finding information, making best use of libraries and online resources.

Libraries

Principal collections:

  • Radcliffe Science Library. Its website has details of opening hours, location and staff. From 23rd December 2019 the Radcliffe Science Library building will close for refurbishment for approximately 18 months. Library services for science will be relocated to a temporary home at the Vere Harmsworth Library. More information is available here - https://www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/science/rsl-refurbishment

Associated collections:

  • The Sherardian Library of Plant Taxonomy is based in the Department of Plant Sciences. It is managed in association with the Oxford University Herbaria, which contain specimens to which many of the printed and manuscript works in the library collections relate. They contain both modern floras and species monographs, mainly housed in the Herbaria but available to all library users, and historic works, many of which are grouped in the Sherard Collection.
  • The Alexander Library is a specialist collection of ornithological literature from all over the world. Most of the Alexander Library collection is held in off-site storage but can be recalled to library reading rooms.

 

Other Libraries

Other libraries in Oxford and further afield also hold information of interest to biologists -

Oxford University Museum of Natural History - The Hope Library contains a specialist entomology collection.

Natural History Museum, London - Extensive library collections in many branches of Zoology.

British Library - Extensive collections in all branches of science and medicine.

Subject Guide

Karine Barker's picture
Karine Barker
Contact:
Radcliffe Science Library
Parks Road
Oxford
OX1 3QP
01865272802
Website Skype Contact: LibrarianRSL

Other guides