Skip to main content

History (British & West European) - overview of Oxford collections: Home & Contact

Contact

Isabel Holowaty's picture
Isabel Holowaty
Contact:
Upper Reading Room, Room 2.03 (North / History end)
Bodleian Library, Broad Street
Oxford, OX1 3BG
01865 2-77294
Website / Blog PageSkype Contact

Search for medieval history

Search for British & Irish history

Search for church history

Quick read

What we collect

The history collections aim to cover primary and secondary source material for the late Roman to the modern periods for British, Western European and some world history. Topical coverage includes social, political, economical, ecclesiastical, cultural history, etc. but also historiography, diplomatics and palaeography.

Historians benefit hugely from having access to the Bodleian Library's Legal Deposit collections as they have access to material not widely available. Read more about Legal Deposit and the recently enacted electronic Legal Deposit.

Principal collections

Teaching and research collections for British and Western European history are considerable at Oxford University. They are held primarily by the Bodleian Library and the History Faculty Library.

Through Legal Deposit and extensive purchasing, primary and secondary source materials are acquired as comprehensively as possible.

Research collections for Western European history are actively developed in the Bodleian Library to provide excellent coverage of both national and regional history, especially of France and Germany. For more information see Upper Camera Reading Room and Upper Reading Room. Many monographs are also shelved in the Gladstone Link, which is located underground between the Old Library and the Lower Camera.

The History Faculty Library has good collections of European history for teaching purposes.

Important electronic resources

All Oxford's libraries provide access to a wide range of networked electronic resources which can be access from both SOLO (Oxford's local discovery tool) and OxLIP+ (Oxford e-resources gateway). The key resources are listed below:

Reference & biographical resources

Bibliographic databases

Electronic full-text sources (selections)

Electronic full-text newspapers

A full listing of databases relevant to history is available in the History subject list in OxLIP+.

Electronic journals

Most key history journals are now available electronically. JSTOR, OUP, CUP and Wiley will provide all back issues, while current issues are provided by some of the major publishers, such as Project Muse, Ingenta, etc. A full listing of e-journals is available in Oxford University e-Journals.

Associated collections

History of Art (Sackler Library, History Faculty Library)

History of Science (Radcliffe Science Library, Bodleian Library, History Faculty Library) - Resource guide (pdf)

History of Medicine (Radcliffe Science Library, Wellcome Unit for the History of Medicine, History Faculty Library) - Resources guides

Ancient History and Archaeology (Sackler Library, Bodleian Library) - Resource guides

Celtic Studies (Taylor Institution Library, Bodleian Library, History Faculty Library) - Resources guides

Legal history (Bodleian Law Library) - Resources guides

Archives, early printed books & rare books (Special Collections Bodleian Library) - Resources guides

Enlightenment and 18th century collections (Taylor Institution Library)

British Government Papers (Official Papers) - Resources guides

Military and Naval history collections (Codrington Library, All Souls' College)

Economic and Social History collections (Nuffield College Library)

Other geographical areas

History of Slavonic and Central & East European countries (Bodleian Library, Taylor Institution Slavonic & Modern Greek Library, History Faculty Library, St Antony's College Library)

History of the USA (Vere Harmsworth Library, History Faculty Library)

History of Latin America (Bodleian Library, Latin American Centre Library, History Faculty Library)

History of sub-Saharan Africa, the Commonwealth & former British colonial territories (Weston Library, History Faculty Library)

History of the Middle East & North Africa (Bodleian Library, Oriental Institute Library, Middle East Centre Library, History Faculty Library)

History of the Indian sub-continent (Bodleian Library, History Faculty Library)

History of China (Bodleian Library, Bodleian K B Chen China Centre Library)

History of Japan (Bodleian Japanese Library)