Subject Consultant
Kostas Skordyles
tel: +44 (0)1865 270437
email: kostas.skordyles@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
Important eResources
Access to electronic library resources is through OxLIP+. To access many of these resources when you are not logged on to the university network you will need to register for the Oxford Single Sign-On.
Bibliographic databases
These allow you to find library materials that you cannot find on OLIS, e.g. journal articles and book reviews. The MLA Bibliography is a good example of such resources.
Electronic journals
Some journals relating to Modern Greek language and literature are available electronically (e.g. Journal of Modern Greek Studies etc.) from Oxford University e-Journals.
Online resources
Many Greek libraries and archives are currently digitizing their collections and making them available online. A list of digital projects can be consulted at the website of the Consortium of Hellenic Studies Librarians.
Links to further online resources for Modern Greek studies, for example collections of works of individual authors, can often be found on the websites of Modern Greek departments and other organizations. The websites of the Center for Neo-Hellenic studies and the Portal for the Greek language may be a good starting point.
Other links
WISER workshops (Workshops in Information Skills and Electronic Resources) - These workshops are aimed at researchers, academic staff, research students and librarians from across the University.
Research and Resources Guides - a wide range of research, resource and library guides are available from our LibGuides service.
Principal collections
Language and Literature
Most publications on Modern Greek language and literature are currently held in the Taylor Bodleian Slavonic & Modern Greek library. The collection covers literature in the Greek language from 15th to 21st century, including primary works and literary criticism, as well as studies on the history and structure of Medieval and Modern Greek and its regional varieties. The Taylor Bodleian Slavonic & Modern Greek library also houses the collection of the first Professor of Byzantine and Modern Greek R.M. Dawkins (1871-1955), which is on loan from the Rector and Fellows of the Exeter College. The collection consists of books, periodicals and off-prints on Modern Greek published in 19th-early 20th century and provides almost comprehensive coverage of Modern Greek studies bibliography for this period. The Dawkins collection also includes Greek manuscripts, travel notes, correspondence and some reports from excavations.
History
Books and periodicals on Modern Greek history have been traditionally housed in the Bodleian library. The Bodleian collection also includes descriptions of Greece published by European travelers in the 16th-19th centuries, early printed books and manuscripts of early literary works in Modern Greek.
The Collection Policy for Modern Greek language, literature and Area Studies gives further detail on collection strengths.
Associated collections
Associated collections
The Taylor Institution Modern Languages Faculty Library holds a developing collection of Greek films and books on Greek cinema. Statistical data for Greece can be found in the Social Science Library. Books on the history of the Ottoman Empire in general (including Greece) are held in the Oriental Institute and the Bodleian Library. Works on pre-1453 Greek language and literature are held in the Sackler Library. Rhodes House Library houses a large collection of books on post-1878 history of Cyprus, when it became part of the British Empire. Other publications on special aspects of Modern Greek studies (anthropology, theology, music) are held in the relevant Bodleian Libraries.
Searching the Libraries (via SOLO, Oxlip+ & ORA)
Guides to PCAS: printing, copying & scanning facilities in the Bodleian Libraries
Copying, scanning & printing
Getting started: setting up your account
Linking a card to your account
Managing your account
Printing from Library PCs
Printing from laptops & computers outside the Bodleian Libraries' network
Printing from SunRay terminals
Scanning instructions
PCAS: Tips for photocopying and scanning

Loading...
