Skip to main content

Politics and International Relations: Digital Archives

Documents

The Cold War: Global Perspectives on East-West Tensions, 1945-1991

A digital archive of international primary source documents on the Cold War, spanning five decades, of interest to those researching 20th-century global studies.

Secret Files from World Wars to Cold War

Secret Files from World Wars to Cold War

Spanning four key twentieth-century conflicts, with a spotlight on the Second World War the collection provides access to British government secret intelligence and foreign policy files from 1873 to 1953. Sourced from The National Archives, U.K., the range of documents covers the period of Appeasement right through to the early Cold War.

Documents on British Policy Overseas

Offers researchers the opportunity to see beneath the surface of the major events of the twentieth century. Users can access contemporary accounts and follow the detailed exchanges that shaped British foreign policy from the origins of the First World War and beyond.

DNSADigital National Security Archive

Nongovernmental National Security Archive consists of indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present.

U.S. Declassified Documents Online

Provides immediate access to a broad range of previously classified federal records spanning the twentieth and twenty first centuries. The collection brings together the most sensitive documents from all the presidential libraries and numerous executive agencies in a single, easily searchable database.

Ethnic NewsWatch

Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. The current collection, Ethnic NewsWatch™, covers 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, spans 1959-1989.

YourCollection ImagePost War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950

Covers the politics and administration of the refugee crisis in Europe after World War II as well as the day-to-day survival of the refugees themselves.

Archive of Printed Ephemera

John Johnson Collection Thousands of items offer insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Categories include Nineteenth-Century Entertainment, Booktrade, Popular Prints, Crimes, Murders and Executions, and Advertising.

Official Publications Online

Public Information Online

An up-to-date archive of searchable Parliamentary and Official documents.Collections include: House of Commons papers from 1997 and most notably unique access to House of Lords papers from 1901 to present day. The database also has a growing collection of government publications to include the Civil Service Yearbook from 1974 onwards. PIO also contains parliamentary and non-parliamentary publications from the UK’s devolved assemblies and parliaments: the Scottish Parliament, Northern Ireland Assembly and the National Assembly of Wales. The database has excellent search facilities, which include browsing by parliamentary session and publishing body.

National Archives

UKGov PRO Six Monthly Crawl

Six monthly collection of UK government websites.

European Constitution Crawl

Web harvest of political related websites before and after constitution elections.

UKGov PRO Weekly
Crawl

Weekly collection of 11 UK government websites.

Online Archives

Mass Observation Online

Includes the entire File Report sequence 1937-1972, access to all of the Day Surveys, Directives and Diaries, 1937-1942, early Mass Observation Publications and selected Topic Collection.

UK Web Archive

Contains websites that publish research reflecting life throughout the UK, and demonstrate web innovation. This includes "grey literature" sites.

World News Connection Archive, 1995-2013

Newspaper articles, broadcast transcripts and datelines from around the world, translated into English by the US government.

Modern Political Papers

To get more detailed information on how to access resources, including Modern political papers available to the Bodleian Library readers go to the Special Collections & Western Manuscripts guide Finding Aids - Early Modern & Modern Manuscripts at the Bodleian Library.